We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Variable Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Royal Oak at Wootton Rivers
Ranked #25 of 30 Marlborough B&B and Inns
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Variable Service”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

My first contact with the Royal Oak was when I booked accommodation with them for July through an agency and then had to cancel. I gave them plenty of notice (I would have to pay the full amount of £150 for two rooms if there was less than 48 hours) but they failed to do the requisite notification to the agency until the time was nearly up and only then after two calls from me and one from the agency. The landlord was quite irate with me for "bothering" him and said "We do have a pub to run here you know".
Nevertheless, because it was in a convenient place (we were on a cycling tour where every mile counts) I booked again for early September. I said we would arrive between 5 and 6pm and made it at 5.30pm. The pub was locked, no-one answered the B&B bell, or the phone, or the shouting I eventually resorted to. After 15 mins we were joined by half a dozen elderly ladies who were also booked for B&B. Finally at 5.55pm a harassed girl appeared, apparently made a cursory apology (I didn't hear it) but gave no explanation for the delay. She was then very helpful and indeed gave excellent service.
The B&B rooms are in a separate house which appears to have been "purpose-built" with no sound insulation whatsoever. Our room gave access to a bathroom, beyond which was another room; the door to this room was bolted on the bathroom side to give us the en-suite we had booked. However, there was a finger-wide gap under the doors and we could hear every word of the adjoining guests and they could hear all our bathroom, and presumably our bedroom sounds too. Not conducive to a relaxing night for any of us.
The dinner was good but the breakfast was poor: hard bacon, overdone eggs and coffee which was either very stewed, or instant.
Go here for an evening meal but sleep somewhere else

Room Tip: Somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    23
    23
    16
    9
See reviews for
20
36
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Took the advice of the sign on the main road, it was a good decision! Welcome, food was very good, excellent fish and chips, the ploughmans was great value! Well-cooked and served, and the whole atmosphere and setting were excellent. Such an interesting place, we will definitely be back! Perhaps on our next trip from Australia

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Magnums2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

W love it here the menu is huge and it isnt because everything is average quite the opposite actually. The pub is gorgeous there is ample parking and the approach simply stunning. Been here lots and always take visiting friends who are never disappointed. Portions huge so never finish a plate but also come away full and happy

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank p3nnyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

A wonderful drive through beautiful countryside to a lovely village, and country inn with a thatched roof, sunshine,excellent beer, excellent service, and superb rare roast beef-how much more English do you want to get?
Superb!

Richard and Ruth

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richsim-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Bed and breakfast in a great location just a short walk from the canal and in the rear of a lovely pub and surrounded by beautifully gardens too. Had a nice breakfast in the pub the next morning a freshly cooked full English also a lovely meal here the night before lovely local meat and fresh vegetables. All in all a g

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PBartlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

My daughter booked me in for two nights. A very inhospitable owner who made me feel very unwelcome. The room I was given was very small, very badly furnished and 'tatty' (my belongings had to go on the floor!) The cleanliness left much to be desired, if fact it was dirty. I asked for a small towel as only one large bath towel provided - I was given a withering look at this request. Very bad creaking floorboards above me was not conducive to a good nights sleep. B & B in a 40's/50's house at the rear, not in the old pub/restaurant. Tea/coffee making facilities are in the main kitchen of the house, not the rooms! Average breakfast. Very overpriced rooms, Would never stay again. It pays to CHECK FIRST.

Room Tip: Go to another B & B to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marlborough hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Surrey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night recently. Upon arrival The Royal Oak pub looks idyllic, Wootton Rivers is beautiful. When we checked in, we were lead to a modern house at the back of the pub. We were allocated Room 2 which is not en-suite. We did not realise that it when we booked it, and for £65 we were surprised and disappointed. Room 2 is also very small, the double bed takes up much of the space. Only 1 pillow per person too, with no other redeaming features other than a small flat screen TV.

The walls are thin and I could hear someone snoring next door. The bathroom was across the hall which was wierd if you needed to use the toilet in the night. The electric shower in here was frankly rubbish and barely came out as a trickle.

There was a shared kitchen downstairs and apparently you could help yourself to tea and cereals but we did not use.

On the positive side, The Royal Oak's restaurant is marvellous. It has a very extensive menu, there is almost too much choice. I wonder how they managed to cater for it all! It is clearly a very popular place as the restaurant was packed. It's a snug fit, so if you wanted a romantic or private conversation this probably isn't the place.

The breakfast the next morning was good, a cooked breakfast with tea and coffee.

I accidenly left my earrings behind and telephoned the helpful owner who very kindly returned them to me. I am very grateful to him for doing this.

I hope he will not mind me pointing out that the B&B could do with a bit of a refresh. Perhaps add a bit more luxury and charm to the rooms as it all seemed very perfunctory and functional.

I would come again for the food as it was excellent, but not for the B&B.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K0636706Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marlborough hotels
0.0 mi away
The Castle & Ball Hotel
The Castle & Ball Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marlborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Barleycorn Inn
The Barleycorn Inn
#1 of 4 in Collingbourne Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Inn with the Well
The Inn with the Well
#1 of 30 in Marlborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Old Forge
The Old Forge
#1 of 1 in East Kennett
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bear
The Bear
#15 of 30 in Marlborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#7 of 30 in Marlborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak at Wootton Rivers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak at Wootton Rivers

Property: The Royal Oak at Wootton Rivers
Address: Wootton Rivers, Marlborough SN8 4NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Marlborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Marlborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Royal Oak at Wootton Rivers 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Royal Oak at Wootton Rivers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak At Wootton Rivers Marlborough, UK - Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing