We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Fantastic Fantastic”
Review of The Lamb Inn

The Lamb Inn
Ranked #31 of 67 Restaurants in Marlborough
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The Lamb Inn is a friendly country pub in the heart of Marlborough Wiltshire We also offer accommodation in the form of bed and breakfast. We have seven rooms available including twin, double and a family room, all with en-suits. There is a lunch menu available everyday of the week from 12.30pm to 14.30pm, which is changed on a regular basis depending on what is in season at the time. Sunday lunch usually consists of three different meats. All of the meat served is sourced from local butchers from local farms. We also offer vegetarian options, and children's meals. Dinner service runs from Monday to Thursday from 6.30pm to 9pm. There is a courtyard at the back of the pub to relax and enjoy the sunshine, plus a stable room for small functions or meetings. The Lamb Inn is a dog friendly pub, mans best friend will always be made welcome with treats and a bowl of water.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Fantastic Fantastic”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Lovely traditional pub with hops all around. Room was clean and lovely decor. Courtyard garden where we had food - which was delicious. Fantastic price and friendly staff - will be back! Many thanks

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lucy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    40
    4
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice wines good local”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

They have nice wines and it is a nice cosy local had one meal here last year which I wasn't too impressed with and haven't eaten there since

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank psychicempress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Clean, well furnished and comfortable: vegans and veggies catered for.”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed at The Lamb Inn in one of their Stable rooms. The room was light and bright, tastefully furnished and very comfortable. The ensuite shower room was small but well appointed. Everything was clean and as one would wish to find it.

Breakfast was big and very good. I am vegan and my husband is vegetarian. We were both well catered for.

We both enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to return.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss_Elspeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overnight stay at The Lamb”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Very cosy old English pub (but ditch the slot machines). Room was very comfortable, well decorated and clean - yes, the bathroom was small but more than adequate, with a good, powerful and consistent temperature shower. Good full English for breakfast. Very good value for money.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goodersp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing and overpriced. Much better is immediately available.”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

First - the positives. A warm welcome from Sam ; a very traditional pub (if you appreciate real ales drawn from the keg and a relaxed ambience) ; excellent white bedding ; good TV ; fresh eggs, good sausage and bacon for breakfast (otherwise uninspired - the "continental" option was a particular joke)

Second - the negatives. £90 per night for a small double room with limited storage space for clothing ; the tiniest "en suite facilities" we've ever come across ; probably the dirtiest stair carpet imaginable ; the pub dog lying sprawled along the banquette seating in what was later the breakfast area ; noise from the Bar until almost midnight ; a bed with wooden slats - which gave my wife a painful back for several days afterwards ; a general air of tackiness and lack of good housekeeping attention ; the morose and taciturn man who worked out the Bill and took our money.

We'd booked for three nights but could only manage two before we abandoned (with hindsight, one night would have been enough). We moved to comparative luxury and impeccably comfortable standards for exactly the same price ; absolutely no comparison !

We enjoyed an eight night visit to Wiltshire and found some very acceptable places to stay (see other reports) but, sadly, The Lamb is well below par. It needs a thoroughly good shake and a serious cleraning effort if it is to be worth anywhere near the asking price. The standard of service, experience and hospitality it offers obviously appeals to some - but sadly not to us.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The-Troubadour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lamb Inn also viewed

Marlborough, Wiltshire
Marlborough, Wiltshire
 
Marlborough, Wiltshire
Marlborough, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Lamb Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing