We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight stay at The Lamb”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lamb Inn

The Lamb Inn
Ranked #31 of 67 Restaurants in Marlborough
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The Lamb Inn is a friendly country pub in the heart of Marlborough Wiltshire We also offer accommodation in the form of bed and breakfast. We have seven rooms available including twin, double and a family room, all with en-suits. There is a lunch menu available everyday of the week from 12.30pm to 14.30pm, which is changed on a regular basis depending on what is in season at the time. Sunday lunch usually consists of three different meats. All of the meat served is sourced from local butchers from local farms. We also offer vegetarian options, and children's meals. Dinner service runs from Monday to Thursday from 6.30pm to 9pm. There is a courtyard at the back of the pub to relax and enjoy the sunshine, plus a stable room for small functions or meetings. The Lamb Inn is a dog friendly pub, mans best friend will always be made welcome with treats and a bowl of water.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overnight stay at The Lamb”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Very cosy old English pub (but ditch the slot machines). Room was very comfortable, well decorated and clean - yes, the bathroom was small but more than adequate, with a good, powerful and consistent temperature shower. Good full English for breakfast. Very good value for money.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goodersp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    40
    4
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing and overpriced. Much better is immediately available.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

First - the positives. A warm welcome from Sam ; a very traditional pub (if you appreciate real ales drawn from the keg and a relaxed ambience) ; excellent white bedding ; good TV ; fresh eggs, good sausage and bacon for breakfast (otherwise uninspired - the "continental" option was a particular joke)

Second - the negatives. £90 per night for a small double room with limited storage space for clothing ; the tiniest "en suite facilities" we've ever come across ; probably the dirtiest stair carpet imaginable ; the pub dog lying sprawled along the banquette seating in what was later the breakfast area ; noise from the Bar until almost midnight ; a bed with wooden slats - which gave my wife a painful back for several days afterwards ; a general air of tackiness and lack of good housekeeping attention ; the morose and taciturn man who worked out the Bill and took our money.

We'd booked for three nights but could only manage two before we abandoned (with hindsight, one night would have been enough). We moved to comparative luxury and impeccably comfortable standards for exactly the same price ; absolutely no comparison !

We enjoyed an eight night visit to Wiltshire and found some very acceptable places to stay (see other reports) but, sadly, The Lamb is well below par. It needs a thoroughly good shake and a serious cleraning effort if it is to be worth anywhere near the asking price. The standard of service, experience and hospitality it offers obviously appeals to some - but sadly not to us.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The-Troubadour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Warm, friendly typical English pub restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

Gleaming brass fittings, nooks and crannies, background social chit chat and a wide range of choice on the menu, make this place worth a visit if you are in Marlborough for an evening.
And the food and service were good too: around £10 a dish, piping hot and a cheery smile.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeinmalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Last minute stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Booked into The Lamb at short notice. Very cosy pub with very friendly staff. Lots of charm and character.

Stayed in a small but comfortable room at a great price.

Had a lovely beer before bed but left very early and did not have breakfast although they offered me rolls etc as they knew I would be leaving early.

Hope to return one day

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greatholsDevonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Warm welcome from a traditional inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

This pub looked a little unprepossessing from the outside, but what we would have missed if we had not gone in!

We were treated to a delicious home-cooked pub lunch, sitting in an atmospheric historic pub, complete with pub dog by the name of Ludo, who had a friendly but dignified manner as is becoming a fine English Bulldog.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotsmum7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lamb Inn also viewed

Marlborough, Wiltshire
Marlborough, Wiltshire
 
Marlborough, Wiltshire
Marlborough, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Lamb Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing