We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, great cider, great service excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bell at West Overton

The Bell at West Overton
Ranked #8 of 67 Restaurants in Marlborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Excellent gastropub about 5 minutes drive west of Marlborough. Large outside terrace with river views. Very good food and friendly servicePhone number is 01672 861099
Marlborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great cider, great service excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Went on a thursday evening for a meal with my girlfriend, service was excellent the 3 staff on were friendly, there when you needed them but in no way obtrustive, I loved the way they didnt come over constantly asking if everything ok like many other restuarants, food was sublime and the cider I had was delicious.

3 course meal with a couple of drinks for two came to £65, will certainly be going again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    65
    18
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The lovely Bell”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We have been eating here as a family regularly since it was reopened under new management. The staff are excellent and Hannah and her team always make us feel very welcome. The food is excellent, never had a bad meal there. We have celebrated a number of family occasions here and they have always been very helpful and accommodating. Highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb restaurant and bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Visited recently with a friend and found everything to be excellent. Good selection of local ales and premium lagers on tap in a beautifully decorated bar. We chose to sit in the dining area, where the lighting was slightly lower and the atmosphere reflected a stately country house. The staff were friendly and attentive without being intrusive and knew each dish back to front, readily able to answer my friends' questions. The food itself was stunning, the starter of salmon offered beautifully balanced flavours and the steak that followed was cooked to perfection - it's several hours later and I can still taste it! Service times reflected the obvious care with which the food was prepared and portion sizes were spot on, left full but not stuffed!

Highly enjoyable evening, thoroughly recommend if you enjoy fine dining in a familiar setting.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidwright912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic all rounder”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

I've been to The Bell at West Overton on many occasions and am always very impressed. From the moment you walk through the door the welcome is always a pleasant one. A good selection of ales, wines and fantastic food to delight anyone's taste buds.
Located just off the A4 parking is easy and so is the choice of coming to The Bell. Simply the best in the area!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Drevhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I love this place.... even more since they served me a ricotta stuffed courgette flower!!! The risotto was just stunning. The non-vegies in the family enjoyed their roasts immensely and i, as a vegetarian for over 30 years, was so tempted by the roast potatoes (guessing they weren't vegetarian) decided to steal one from my toddler's plate. I later discovered they were cooked in duck fat but didn't care! We came for sunday lunch and found the staff to be friendly and welcoming of families. An extremely relaxed and delicious few hours. Thank you.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Custardface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bell at West Overton also viewed

Marlborough, Wiltshire
Marlborough, Wiltshire
 
 
Marlborough, Wiltshire
Collingbourne Ducis, Marlborough
 

Been to The Bell at West Overton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing