We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Modern Bed and Breakfast”
Review of The Sanctuary

The Sanctuary
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marlborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sanctuary
Ranked #9 of 30 Marlborough B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Minnesota
Level Contributor
311 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Wonderful Modern Bed and Breakfast”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We had a very nice stay at The Sanctuary. Keith and Rebecca were great hosts. Very accomodating. Room was quiet and very nicely decorated. Breakfasts were delicious and served out on the enclosed porch. Only wish they took credit cards. Would certainly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Domer90mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
21
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here and would certainly come back if we were in the area. The room was large and well maintained with a modern bathroom and double ended bath. The owner Rebecca was very friendly and offered a delicious breakfast which included eggs from the free range hens which roamed the back garden. We stayed two nights and slept well, the bed was comfortable. Rebecca was also very helpful in finding taxis and directing us to nearby walks. Be warned, if you have a Three mobile there is no signal inside the house, but there is from the garden! A wonderful relaxing place to escape the city and explore the local countryside.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MuseumDesigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed in the very comfortable modern double bedded room with comfortable ensuite and plenty of space. Rebecca, Keith and their family were wonderful hosts - providing a wonderful cup of tea on arrival, a superb breakfast with fresh fruit and delicious cooked breakfast. The best thing was that Keith acted as Taxi so that we stayed 2 nights there - he took us to the White Horse and Uffingham to walk back one day and Avebury to walk back another day. They will willingly take your luggage onto your next destination for a very reasonable price. There was plenty of room to dry our walking boots out and the house is just off the Ridgeway so very convenient. Also there is a great pub in the village within walking distance or very good ones a short drive away. A very relaxing weekend and great value!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhillyG69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Lovely and airy room in small farm house. Great breakfast, lovely space

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Stayed with Rebecca and Keith at The Sanctuary for the 2nd time in early March. My mother and I had previously had the twin room which was ideal for us. As we booked last minute, this room was already booked. No problem. Rebecca offered to put a single bed into the large double room at no extra cost. Great hospitality, wonderful breakfast - lots of nice little touches which make a difference. Look forward to the next time.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ros058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pointe-Claire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at "The Sanctuary" at the end of our first day of walking along "The Ridgeway." We would gladly have stayed longer, as the place was truly excellent. Lovely, modern, large en-suite room. Rebecca and Keith were very welcoming hosts. Fantastic solarium breakfast room and great breakfast. If we were ever in the area again, this would be the place we would book for accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

It's the little touches that make a stay at a B&B a pleasant experience, and this B&B ticked all the boxes for me. Among these, in no particular order, there were 1) Friendly hosts, but not in any way intrusive 2) very spacious clean room and comfortable bed 3) lovely breakfast, especially the marmalade and the perfectly cooked egg (I'm normally hard to please with that one) 4) fresh milk on the tea tray, and little jars with enough tea and coffee and hot chocolate that I didn't feel I'd have to be rationing. 5) good location for all the sites. Plus, you can't beat the sight of chickens wandering past your window in the morning. If these are the sorts of things you like too, I'd definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annika56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marlborough
0.2 mi away
The Castle & Ball Hotel
The Castle & Ball Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marlborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
6.8 mi away
Chiseldon House
Chiseldon House
#12 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
3.5 mi away
Parklands Hotel
Parklands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ogbourne Saint George
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Inn with the Well
The Inn with the Well
#1 of 30 in Marlborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Old Forge
The Old Forge
#1 of 1 in East Kennett
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
7.1 mi away
Mayfield Bed & Breakfast
Mayfield Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 30 in Marlborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sanctuary

Property: The Sanctuary
Address: Ogbourne St.George, Marlborough SN8 1SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Marlborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Marlborough
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sanctuary is a family-run B&B near Marlborough with a four-star rating from the English Tourist Board. We're praised for the spacious rooms and the quality of our meals, using local produce whenever possible, either from our own garden or local suppliers, all served at attractive prices. We have three spacious and flexible rooms available for our guests, with a good range of facilities for personal or business use. As we provide relaxed and friendly accommodation within a family surrounding, children and dogs are very welcome as well. There is plenty of space for all, and a large garden to sit or play in (especially useful for children if you've been stuck in a car for a while). Ogbourne St.George is in a lovely location in the Og River valley between the Marlborough Downs and Aldbourne Downs, and equidistant from Aldbourne, Chisldeon and Marlborough. It's a favourite stop-over for people walking, cycling or running stages of the Ridgeway Trail that passes through on its way from Ivinghoe Beacon in Buckinghamshire to Overton Hill near Marlborough. You might be staying here to enjoy one of the many activities available, or while you're exploring the rich and varied history of the area. Nearby are many ancient monuments; the most famous of course are Stonehenge and Avebury (which is only 15 minutes away by car) and there are plenty more lesser-known megaliths around as well. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Sanctuary Marlborough, UK - Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing