We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Sanctuary
Nearby Hotels
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Alexandra House(Wroughton)
$93
$68
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$37
$34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
$74
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Harrow Inn(Wanborough)
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Three Swans Hotel(Hungerford)
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parklands Hotel(Ogbourne Saint George)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveler rating
49
12
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
12
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswalking the ridgewaydressing gowns were providedchickens wanderingon arrivalexcellent breakfastcakepacked lunchlocation is idealsun roommarmaladefresh fruitlarge gardeneating placesprivate bathroombiscuitsfriendly hostsnight stay
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 62 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed in the very comfortable modern double bedded room with comfortable ensuite and plenty of space. Rebecca, Keith and their family were wonderful hosts - providing a wonderful cup of tea on arrival, a superb breakfast with fresh fruit and delicious cooked breakfast. The best thing was that Keith acted as Taxi so that we stayed 2 nights there - he took us to the White Horse and Uffingham to walk back one day and Avebury to walk back another day. They will willingly take your luggage onto your next destination for a very reasonable price. There was plenty of room to dry our walking boots out and the house is just off the Ridgeway so very convenient. Also there is a great pub in the village within walking distance or very good ones a short drive away. A very relaxing weekend and great value!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhillyG69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Lovely and airy room in small farm house. Great breakfast, lovely space

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Stayed with Rebecca and Keith at The Sanctuary for the 2nd time in early March. My mother and I had previously had the twin room which was ideal for us. As we booked last minute, this room was already booked. No problem. Rebecca offered to put a single bed into the large double room at no extra cost. Great hospitality, wonderful breakfast - lots of nice little touches which make a difference. Look forward to the next time.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Ros058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at "The Sanctuary" at the end of our first day of walking along "The Ridgeway." We would gladly have stayed longer, as the place was truly excellent. Lovely, modern, large en-suite room. Rebecca and Keith were very welcoming hosts. Fantastic solarium breakfast room and great breakfast. If we were ever in the area again, this would be the place we would book for accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

It's the little touches that make a stay at a B&B a pleasant experience, and this B&B ticked all the boxes for me. Among these, in no particular order, there were 1) Friendly hosts, but not in any way intrusive 2) very spacious clean room and comfortable bed 3) lovely breakfast, especially the marmalade and the perfectly cooked egg (I'm normally hard to please with that one) 4) fresh milk on the tea tray, and little jars with enough tea and coffee and hot chocolate that I didn't feel I'd have to be rationing. 5) good location for all the sites. Plus, you can't beat the sight of chickens wandering past your window in the morning. If these are the sorts of things you like too, I'd definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annika56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews