We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more could you want?”
Review of The Crown Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marlborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #28 of 30 Marlborough B&B and Inns
Marlborough
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“What more could you want?”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This small Hotel in Marlborough offers excellent service, good food and a friendly atmosphere whether you are two or twelve, there are substantial burgers, fish and other delicious meals. I am never disappointed and never rushed. I shall be going again tomorrow!

Room Tip: Sorry I live in Marlborough & stay at home BUT I know many who have stayed including some who li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sallee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    6
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
4
6
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pewsey, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is the second year The Pewsey Belles Ladies Choir have held their Christmas Dinner at The Crown Hotel in Marlborough. The quality of food is excellent, very reasonable and the one to one service from the time of booking through to the evening was excellent. Many thanks to Gary, Jill and Paul for making our evening a special one again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAHornbogen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This B&B is well located right next to the main street in Marlborough.

It is fairly basic and the rooms are quite small and sparsely furnished but it is ok for somewhere to sleep while you are staying in the area.

The main problem is that breakfast is not available before 9:00am. In fact it is not really even available then as the owners live off-site and only unlock at 9:00 when they come to work so the earliest you can actually get breakfast is about quarter past.

They did tell us about this when we arrived but by then we had no choice. Several other guests left before breakfast and I imagine this would be quite common. We waited and the food was fine but such a late breakfast would make the place unusable for many.

The impression given is that the B&B operation is not the main focus of the business. It is the restaurant which is at the main street frontage that is clearly the focus of the owners. I gather that this is well regarded locally.

It was ok but we would not stay again.

Great pub (The Lamb) next door.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freecall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

If entering Marlborough on the A4 from he west, turn left past the "redundant" church into the High Street (see pix), drive northeast to the far end where this exceptionally wide, market-friendly, High Street narrows abruptly on the right into Oxford Street, then take the first right downhill and into The Parade. The Crown Inn—that's its real name—is about half way down on the left. You may be lucky enough to park outside the door, but If not, proceed a little further and parking spaces can normally be found in the "square" at the bottom of the street.
You'll be greeted by the delightful Gilly who, with her partner Gary—the genius in the kitchen—jointly runs this fine establishment. As intimated, the food is exceptional. Gary is not only the Master Chef, but personally shops for all the ingredients he deploys in his Menu—which changes daily.
I've dined here twice—once al fresco, before the Marlborough Jazz Festival, a boisterous weekend—and more recently in the cooler air of early September. On both occasions the food was delicious, and they sport a local ale, also well worth a try. In addition, the "Crown" has six rooms, so should you be over the limit to drive safely away from such feasting as they surely provide you might be lucky enough to "crash out" on location. An altogether great hostelry!

Room Tip: There are only 6 rooms, so you may have to take pot luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PHiLMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My partner and i stayed at the hotel for 2 nights, Gary and Jill were extremely hospitable, the rooms were lovely and clean and comfortable, The food was Mega !! and we loved Archie, my parents have just moved to Marlborough and we intend to use the crown for all are visits, many thanks,
Lucy Hatton and John Matthew

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2012

A large group had pre-ordered in advanced. We arrived at 7:45 and the food didn't arrived until 9:00. It took them atleast 10 minutes to get everyones food out. For what you got the food was terribly over priced, £20 for two course, or roughly £15 for one, depending on what you ordered.
Once finished the table clearing was very disorganised.
To top it all off they had the cheak to add a 10% service charge.
On the plus side we enjoyed the beer from Ramsbury Brewery which was inkeeping with prices of other pubs in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harpoonharry62, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Joe B,
Thank you for your review of the Crown, however you failed to mention there were 36 of you & only 17 ordered starters, which arrived by 8.30 you did not order a starter, what would you like, for us to send the mains at the same time as the starters ? as for your comment on the cost, I am not sure what establishments you currently eat at, if you even go out at all, these prices include 20% vat which you failed to mention, also you would be very lucky to get two course meal for this amount & quality anywhere in Marlborough. for your comment on the service charge it states on the menu that it is totally at your discretion, you also failed to mention that everyone else said on leaving what a wonderful time they had !! If you had mentioned any of this at the time maybe we could of done something about it. But once again you failed to mention !!
Regards Gary Lee Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

My son and I booked a table for Sunday lunch. I phoned on the Friday to make the reservation and was told there were two sittings 12 and 2pm. We went for the 2pm sitting. We arrived about 10 mins early only to be told that there were people still at our table from the 12pm sitting. There were lots of people standing in front of the restaurant and arround reception (other diners wait ing for their tables to be ready), a dog lying on the floor and children running about. I had to wait for 10mins to get a drink as the lady behind the bar was busy doing other things. We eventually got seated 35mins later to be presented with a rather lack lustre menu with food to match. For £13.95 for 2 courses, wont be going there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pampurrrrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marlborough hotels
0.2 mi away
The Castle & Ball Hotel
The Castle & Ball Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marlborough
625 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#14 of 30 in Marlborough
86 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Marlborough
The Marlborough
#19 of 30 in Marlborough
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bear
The Bear
#15 of 30 in Marlborough
62 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Old Forge
The Old Forge
#1 of 1 in East Kennett
122 reviews
0.6 mi away
Poulton Grange
Poulton Grange
#10 of 30 in Marlborough
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Property: The Crown Hotel
Address: 6-7 The Parade, Marlborough SN8 1NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Marlborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Marlborough
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Marlborough, UK - Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing