We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very nice flat”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Marlborough, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris P
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice flat”
Reviewed November 15, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Very nice, very warm,( we had to turn the heating down!). Great welcome and lovely bread, butter, eggs and wine. Plenty of room for two people. Nice garden and good watching the birds from the garden room. The kitchen was pretty well equipped apart from a lack of casserole dishes or such like for the oven. The wet room was great although the perimeter of the shower meant little dry area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 15, 2016
Hope you enjoyed the walking in the Wiltshire countryside, even f the weather was mixed. Thank you for the constructive comment regarding casserole dishes, you should have asked us and we would have supplied one. We will get some for future guests. Hope to see you again.
Sonia and Terence.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sezamebun
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Rural Idyll”
Reviewed July 20, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed at one of the upstairs apartments at Buckerfields. Sonia and Terry were there to greet us and were happy to chat and recommend local shops, pubs, attractions etc. We were delighted to have eggs from their hens on site, fresh bread and butter and a bottle of claret waiting for us in the kitchen. We had a view of the Ridgeway from our upstairs conservatory, a lovely spot for both breakfast and evening meal. Sonia has a small nursery in the grounds and it was a nice touch to be able to buy some of her lovely plants to take home for our own garden. The decor is tasteful and the apartment spotlessly clean. It had such a homely feel. So many self- catering apartments have bare walls. Sonia has a lot of art on the walls giving the rooms character and colour. I was sorry I was not staying for another week, I felt at home here from day one. The location is excellent if you want to do some walking on the Ridgeway. Avebury, Silbury hill and other ancient sites are just down the road. Nearby Marlborough is also a very attractive town to visit. I would heartily recommend this self-catering. One of the best places I have ever stayed. Sonia and Terry are excellent hosts, they have thought of the traveller's every need!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor was lovely, personal pictures on walls, a real homely feel.
Liked least: I could not fault this accomodation. It had everything a visitor would need and more.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveDMand...
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation at a good price”
Reviewed August 2, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I stayed at one of these apartments with my wife for 10 days. The quality of the furnishings and equipment is very good, with a very comfortable bed. I could not suggest anything which could be improved, but there was one drawback, the sound insulation. In our upstairs apartment there was a double connecting door to the next one, so that families can be accommodated, and unfortunately we could easily hear conversations in the next room. Also the people downstairs were disturbed by our moving around. For many people this may not be an issue, but at home we are used to a very quiet environment.
This would not stop us from returning, as the positives outweigh this negative, but we would need to have an upstairs room.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the equipment
Liked least: sound insulation between apartments
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
June B
Cephalonia, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely stay near Marlborough, Wiltshire”
Reviewed May 12, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Stayed at Buckerfields Barn for 6 weeks from early April to Mid May. Lovely apartments - the conservatory is a lovely feature, as is the underfloor heating on chilly mornings. Nicely equipped these apartments have everything you need. Set in the plant Nursery, and having lovely views all round makes it a lovely place to stay. Highly recommend them and would definetly stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: situation
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dankstar
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely stay in the Wiltshire downs”
Reviewed November 21, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at Buckerfields Barn. The apartment interior was great. Loved the under floor heating. The views from the sun room were inspiring and got us out walking the downs despite the weather. Thanks Sonia for the little goodies on our arrival and couldn't get enough of your fresh farm eggs!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jianglin...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place for rural retreat”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A luxury self catering apartment located in beautiful countryside with astonishing view of surrounding farmlands and hills and woodlands. We really enjoyed to walk in the Ridgeway passes during the weekend. Having sunset dinner with my wife close to green hills every evening has become one of most beautiful memories in our lives. This wonderful place heals my wife's sick feeling when she was in the 3rd month of pregnancy. I will definitely come back to visit again with our baby.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARTINS11...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This apartment has it all!”
Reviewed June 14, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Buckerfields Barn is a beautifully appointed holiday apartment development which has been designed to offer guests every comfort. The development, just off the main road to Marlborough, is set in a plant nursery surrounded by rolling hills. Guests have access to the gardens and each apartment has a designated patio seating area.

The apartment we stayed in (No 3) was modern, stylish and well thought through with the utmost attention to detail. The facilities included a Smart TV, a king size bed, a spacious power shower and an induction hob in the kitchen! Even the crockery and cutlery were generous in both provision and quality. And a surprise and delight on our arrival was the welcome pack of local produce and a bottle of wine.

We also enjoyed the friendly informality created by our hosts, Terence and Sonia, who were frequently on site tending to the business and the nursery. In addition to the useful Information Folder in the apartment, they were able to answer all our questions and provide local knowledge about shopping, dining and walks.

We found Buckerfields Barn and its surroundings comfortable in all respects, relaxing and excellent value. We recommend it highly.

Go now before everyone else discovers it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The modernity and comfort of the apartment
Liked least: There was nothing we did not like about the apartment. It is worth noting that the nearest shops are 3-4 miles away.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing