We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of The Polly Tearooms

The Polly Tearooms
Ranked #2 of 2 Dessert in Marlborough
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I had always been meaning to visit Polly’s tea room since moving to the area five years ago as it had always looked so inviting from the outside, so my wife and I had high expectations but sadly these were not to be met. The first thing that stuck us when perusing the menu was the high prices, which in some ways is unsurprising, Marlborough being the home of the poor little rich kid, and I should imagine rents for premises in the High Street are extortionate. The second thing we noticed was that although the décor is cosy the place looks tired and in dire need of a lick of paint. The wooden cladded wall next to our table was liberally stained with splatters of either tea or coffee. I plumped for an omelette and my wife a baked potato with coleslaw. My omelette was rather limp and undercooked and the portion of chips was the smallest I have ever been served – roughly a measly eight or so chips! My wife’s baked potato was overcooked/old, the inside watery and wet, not fluffy. The portion of coleslaw was generous, but was very wet, with way too much mayonnaise. The meagre salad garnish on both our plates consisted of overripe tomatoes, a few slices of cucumber and tired leaves. The dressing though was tasty. The price for each of these dishes was £6.95 – way too much for such poor quality. I’ve had better omelettes and baked potatoes in good ol’greasy spoon kinds of places. One of the other reviewers has titled his review as ‘Pretentious’ and I would agree with that along with overpriced and disappointing. We shall not be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    223
    143
    100
    81
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I had always been meaning to visit Polly’s tea room since moving to the area five years ago as it had always looked so inviting from the outside, so my wife and I had very high expectations but these sadly were not to be met. The first thing that stuck us when perusing the menu was the high prices, which in some ways is unsurprising, Marlborough being the home of the poor little rich kid, and I should imagine rents for premises in the High Street are extortionate. The second thing we noticed was that although the décor is cosy the place looks tired and in dire need of a lick of paint. The wooden cladded wall next to our table was liberally stained with splatters of either tea or coffee. I plumped for an omelette and my wife a baked potato with coleslaw. My omelette was rather limp and undercooked and the portion of chips was the smallest I have ever been served – roughly a measly eight or so chips! My wife’s baked potato was overcooked/old, the inside watery and wet, not fluffy. The portion of coleslaw was generous, but was very wet, with way too much mayonnaise. The meagre salad garnish on both our plates consisted of overripe tomatoes, a few slices of cucumber and tired leaves. The dressing though was tasty. The price for each of these dishes was £6.95 – way too much for such poor quality. I’ve had better omelettes and baked potatoes in good ol’greasy spoon kinds of places. One of the other reviewers has titled his review as ‘Pretentious’ and I would agree with that along with overpriced and disappointing. We shall not be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Polly's popularity is unjustified”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We ate a light lunch, when the tea-rooms were full. The service was hectic, so the atmosphere was not relaxing.

The ploughman's plate was not enjoyable, except for the cheese, which was a tiny sliver. The white roll provided was tasteless. Another dish had an overcooked fried egg.

Previously, we have experienced better food at Polly's, but as there are many alternatives in Marlborough, we will not return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacntone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chievely
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sad to see it go downhill”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We have always taken friends to Marlborough and usually to Polly tearooms as it has always delivered an experience.
The cakes on display still look good but the service is lacking and the new décor although meant to be fresh, does not feel quite right.
I still enjoyed my cake but our visitors were most disappointed with their cream teas, the scones were dry and quite flat.
We may give it another go next time we are shopping, before we take friends again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise when escaping from the rain”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Spending a rainy afternoon wandering round Marlborough and popped into the Polly Tearooms to warm up and have a hot drink. Seated and served promptly, the decor and layout is quaint and pleasant, with linen table cloths and country furniture which is quite appropriate to an old fashioned Tearoom. Everywhere was clean and we noticed empty tables were cleaned and refreshed immediately. My husband had an extremely large piece of blueberry and lemon cake from the large choice on offer which he said was delicious, and with a pot of tea for him plus a latte for me we were pleasantly surprised to find the bill was only £5.95 - extremely good value for money! There is also a nice variety of cakes, chocolates and preserves for sale - overall a little gem of a find.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maureen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Polly Tearooms also viewed

Marlborough, Wiltshire
 
Marlborough, Wiltshire
 
Marlborough, Wiltshire
Marlborough, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Polly Tearooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing