We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect, family friendly hide away”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Marlborough, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
MushyMars...
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect, family friendly hide away”
Reviewed March 22, 2017 for a stay in October 2016

This is a property which I want to tell everyone about yet part of me wants to keep it a secret! A fabulous, gated location giving peace of mind in allowing freedom to run around for the kids. This has got to be my favourite holiday rental property - one where I would be quite willing to live in permanently! An hour from many attractions and areas of interest - we visited Salisbury, Stonehenge, Bath, Oxford, Longleat and Paulton's Park to name a few. For us this was a perfect base from which to explore. The property itself is perfect - throw in the Alpacas, wild rabbits and the neighbouring horses and you have somewhere truly special.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ollyb2016
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ideal location close to Marlborough town”
Reviewed February 23, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Having read the great reviews about Garden Cottage, we decided to book and were not disappointed. The house is warm, spotlessly clean and in a great location. Nikki was very welcoming and thoughtful. We will be booking again for another jaunt to this wonderful, charming house.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 25, 2017
Hi Tessa,
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and will certainly look forward to seeing you again in the future, you were great guests.

Nikki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile117...
1 review
“Oasis in Oare”
Reviewed November 20, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Such a beautiful hideaway in the heart of Wiltshire! We received a very warm welcome from Nikki and were introduced to a delightfully quirky yet modern living space which was luxurious and comfortable. We had an open fire, duck feathered pillows, excellent Wi Fi huge sofas to lounge in and a kitchen filled with every utensil that was needed. Private and secure location with views onto woodland with Owls at night, not to mention the morning welcome from the friendly alpacas. This was a beautiful treasure find and we hope to return in the summer to sit in the sunshine in the beautiful conservatory. Perfect location to explore the charms of Wiltshire. Thank you Nikki for a lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful House with considerate and respectful host
Liked least: Shortness of stay
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewryCity...
newry city
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Peace and tranquillity”
Reviewed November 20, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

I stayed in this beautiful cottage with my sons and family recently we were delighted with our choice of accommodation.
The owner had left us all the essentials to get us warm and settled it was nice to have these little extras.
The house was spotless and very well decorated bedrooms were very spacious and comfortable .
The gardens were lovely and in the fenced area we had about seven alpacas they were so cute I took photos of them to show my grandchildren.
We will most definitely be staying here again can't wait.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The surroundings and cottage
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tcgalli
isle of man
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful private cottage you won't want to leave!”
Reviewed October 2, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This is a spacious house, which looks out over fields where Alpaca and wild rabbits roam. A truly special find. The house itself has comfortable beds and sofas -essentials for us- as well as a conservatory which certainly helped when it rained! Well stocked kitchen as well as a washer and dryer means life is easy there. It is a stones throw from Marlborough, such a pretty town, and many other interesting places, but we also enjoyed just relaxing and watching the animals! We had complete privacy and could also have used the extensive gardens if wished, which would be great for a family. We very much hope to return -there is so much to do in the area and this makes the perfect place to stay. Thoroughly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fantastic outlook with the alpacas.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaza5000
1 review
“Lovely location and cottage”
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Beautiful cottage, clean and plenty of room for the whole family. Great place to come back to after a day of sightseeing. It has everything you need to keep kids of all ages occupied. Our first holiday let, don't think we will be going back to hotels after this. Children loved the alpacas, the rabbits and the horses. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness and space available for the family.
Liked least: Driving in and out of the grounds. Be extra careful of oncoming cars.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellaloves...
Kent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed August 15, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Lovely cosy cottage which was perfect for our 5 day stay. The beds were comfortable and all the kitchen equipment very clean, the little extras were very much appreciated! It was great proximity for Marlborough town centre. The children loved the alpacas and seeing all the rabbits from the windows each morning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing