We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”
Review of The Old Bell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Bell Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Malmesbury
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Beautiful old english hotel, comfortable bed, really charming.
We had a DB&B deal,excellent food and wine, and cooked Full English breakfast.
All the public rooms had big comfortable sofas and there was a nice garden for your G & T.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwedenAngela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (556)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

347 - 353 of 556 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

In desperate need of updating. A spring clean wouldn't go a miss. Interesting food and wine. On the expensive side for what it is. If you are staying in the hotel and wonder outside for food, try the Indian restaurant just through the graveyard; good food and excellent service'.

Room Tip: Call the Rectory to see if they have s room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I stayed for two nights whilst attending some dear friends wedding. The room I had allocated was in an annexe on the ground floor inbetween the two car parks. Access was via a corridor and you wouldnt have to go outside to get from the main building to the annexe. Decor needs some updating but it was spotlessly clean and the shower was very good.

I ate in the brasserie one evening and the food was very good. I can recommend the steak!The breakfast was excellent too. Good quality and plenty of it. The staff were polite and attentive throughout my stay.

Overall i thoroughly enjoyed my stay and the wedding was just fab!! The only downside was the bar prices but they were nothing less than what you would expect in a hotel!

I would stay here again. Definitely.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NPP62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Having read a number of reviews on this hotel i was not expecting it to be so good. There is obviously a difference between the rooms as the hotel is undergoing a gradual upgrade. The rooms in the main house being of a better decorative standard than those in the Court House at the rear (sandwiched in between the car parks and garden). However all are clean, well equiped and with comfortable beds and considering the price are good value.
The setting of the hotel is second to none, perfectly positioned in an attractive and fascinating town and surrounded by a pretty courtyard garden overlooked by the ancient abbey. The hotel blends perfectly into the historic town with its various sitting rooms all heaving with interesting and comfortable furniture, it felt a bit like staying at a comfortable private county house.
The staff were all very helpful from the cheery receptionist to the restaurant and bar staff and did their best to accommodate our changing requirements (due to attending a large nearby event).
I would not hesitate to book again (although careful to choose one of the newly refurbished rooms) and look forward to my next trip.

Room Tip: From what i could tell the rooms in the main house are generally of a better decorative standard but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargaretCambs_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel was lovely to stay at, and Malmesbury is a fantasic town to visit. Friedly and helpful staff, a central location, and a great restuarant. If you're staying in Malmesbury this is the hotel to stay at. There are some great little pubs in the main street too.

Room Tip: Go for one with a view of the abbey next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sdjeagle81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Having been assigned a rather small, unremarkable room in the extension - the hotel staff kindly upgraded us to the main hotel where the rooms are gorgeous (bathrooms have roll top baths you could fit a whole family in!) and look out over the ancient Abbey. The food in the main dining room was good and we had two lovely nights there. They are dog friendly and frankly nothing was too much trouble for them. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Definitely book in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiniaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My Husband and I first discovered this place when we first got together. Since then we have returned three times over the last 6 years. Its a place you have to save for, on our budget anyway.
The rooms are small and quirky with plenty of character. The Showers run hot and cold which is the main downfall but it adds to the old charm of such an ancient building! But what the rooms lack the restaurant food makes up for! You go for the dining experience. The taster menu, if you have the appetite, is great and with wines is even better, though very indulgent (I could'nt manage 5 of the 7 courses, with wine!) My husband ate the lot and loved every mouthful. The service is really good and professional which is also part of the experience. Its old fashioned and very classical but we like that sort of thing, to us its a real treat, and coffee and homemade petite fours is always a great way to finish. Not for those on a budget, its a place to enjoy good food and wine and splash the cash a bit.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for upgrade, the rooms at the front of the building seem nicer but each one is di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GemmaD837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malmesbury
2.1 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
858 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Mayfield House Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tetbury
430 reviews
9.2 mi away
Duke Hotel
Duke Hotel
#2 of 3 in Calne
83 reviews
10.4 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bell Hotel

Address: Abbey Row, Malmesbury SN16 0BW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Malmesbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Malmesbury
Price Range: $156 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Bell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Old Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Old Bell
Classic Hotel Malmesbury
Malmesbury Classic Hotel
The Old Bell Hotel Malmesbury, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing