We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre food, terrible service”
Review of Whole Hog

Whole Hog
Ranked #13 of 33 Restaurants in Malmesbury
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Brockenhurst, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Mediocre food, terrible service”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were looking for lunch in Malmesbury and saw The Whole Hog. The place looked really nice from the outside so we decided to give it a go. Not a good idea, as it would turn out.

Upon entering, we went into the dining room which looked nice and cosy and with wall decorations following the hog theme. We chose a table near the wall in the middle of the room with one side of the table being on a wobbly bench.

A waitress had just finished taking orders from the next table and gave us two menus without much enthusiasm. We took a few minutes to look and decided on a beef burger (served with chips and onion rings) and a jacket potato with cheese and bacon.

The waitress did not seem bothered in any way about her customers – if anything, she did appeared almost annoyed at us actually placing an order.

Then we waited. And waited. Our food was delivered 40 minutes after we ordered. With a half-baked apology for the wait. But that apology was the only thing even remotely near acceptable service that we got.

The jacket potato was mediocre. The burger itself was made of really good beef – but the time it took was obviously not to cook it. I like my burgers medium rare – and this was clearly too under-cooked for my taste. Apparently, they had run out of burger buns as the burger was served in very dull white bread with the crust cut off.

How this place manages to get such good reviews on TripAdvisor is beyond me.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jfallesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    57
    9
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Amazing bubble and squeak !!!”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

So nice to see a menu a little out of the ordinary but still reasonably priced and still some of the old favourites. My friend and I both went for the bubble and squeak topped with crispy bacon and a poachedegg with hollandaise sauce an absolute delight .. Will definitely be going back next time I am in Malmsbury .

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JacquiB1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This Pub/Restaurant does not look very inviting from the outside but once inside it is very friendly.
Very good freshly cooked home made food at a reasonable price.
It is divided into a restaurant and a bar, so you can eat in either.
Would certainly recommend it if you are in Malmesbury.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annteke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Pub for drinkers and smokers, separate dining room”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Fairly simple menu changes every few months, with a tasty, varied choice. Good real ales at the bar. Can be worth running the gauntlet of all the smokers standing in the entrance.

Helpful?
Thank longbarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Berwick
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Unpolished, no pretensions but excellent food and beer”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

The Whole Hog was once the town hospital but, for some years now, it has been a popular and lively pub with one 'spit and sawdust' bar. This is not the place to take your new sweetheart but it is the place to take a mate who enjoys his beer. The atmosphere is robustly male, there are a few tables around the walls but overall this is not really a comfortable place to sit and linger with a lady. If you stand at the bar you will be made welcome by the Governor and his clients. The range of real ales, all in excellent order, will satisfy any beer drinker.
There is a dining room and lunch here is recommended. The food is inexpensive, well cooked and swiftly served. Get a table in the window if you can and watch the locals looking for parking spaces.
The Whole Hog is not smart but 'it does what it says on the tin'

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sustainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whole Hog also viewed

Malmesbury, Cotswolds
Malmesbury, Cotswolds
 
Malmesbury, Cotswolds
Malmesbury, Cotswolds
 

Been to Whole Hog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing