We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Experience”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Malmesbury, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bernice O
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed September 7, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful experience at the Somerford Cottage. Our hosts warmly welcomed us and we thoroughly enjoyed the accommodations and the gardens. The home was well appointed and comfortable. .There was plenty of room to relax both inside and outside the house. You could tell that the hosts took pride in providing an exceptional holiday experience for their guests. We definitely recommend Somerford Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea S
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Quintessential Cotswolds cottage”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

After a long drive what a pleasant cottage to stay in.
Large yet cosy lounge and well equipped kitchen.
3 clean & comfy bedrooms. One bedroom can only be accessed via another bedroom, great for families with small children.
Family bathroom quite tight for space and shower not very powerful, but not a problem for our family.
Downstairs toilet cold with lots of spiders, possibly because its adjacent to an outside wall.
Absolutely superb garden, great place to relax.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita1439...
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in good location for sightseeing.”
Reviewed April 9, 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We were a family group of 5 adults and 1 toddler covering 3 generations. The cottage had a large kitchen (with underfloor heating), large lounge/dining room, 2 bedrooms with double beds, 1 with 2 single beds, downstairs toilet and upstairs bathroom with shower. The lounge was a great size for our grandson to play in and some toys were provided by the owners. There was also a cot and high chair provided. There is only limited hanging space in the bedrooms due to the low eaves but this added to the character of the rooms.
Being able to use the owner's garden was a real bonus as our grandson could run around after sitting in the car (under supervision, of course, due to the fish pond!). Unfortunately we had quite a cold week so were unable to use the outdoor seating area but it would be a useful area in the summer months. The owners and their gardener were very friendly and welcoming. We visited various National Trust houses and gardens, Lacock, Malmesbury, Tetbury and Castle Combe, a very pretty village in which War Horse was filmed. We used the park and ride to visit Bath which was extremely easy to do and can recommend the Lime Lounge for a friendly restaurant for lunch. I would definitely recommend this cottage to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious lounge/diner and use of owner's garden.
Liked least: House was on a bend on road so difficult turning out of property.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGB6
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful 3 bed holiday cottage with fabulous gardens and countryside”
Reviewed June 30, 2011 for a stay in June 2011
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed in this lovely cottage for 3 weeks with 2 boys who loved the space inside and the luxury of using the large gardens owned by the main house. It's very pretty from the outside, gravel driveway with roses climbing around the doors and windows. The kitchen and living rooms are huge, and the master bedroom is twice the size of your average double. It's well equiped and very comfortable. The situation of this cottage is what makes it really special, the River Avon is a gentle short walk away, you can swim in it on warm days amongst the lily pads. The cottage is in a village but it feels very private, as the outlook is so green. There's a pub and a brilliant little village shop a few minutes walk away. The local lanes are really very flat so ideal for cycling. The owners and their gardener are the most charming, kind people who made every effort to welcome us yet give us space to enjoy our privacy. Their recommedations of where to eat out were brilliant. We'll definitely return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing