We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Little Gem!”

Review of Cotswolds Retreat

Castle Combe. PAYMENT PROTECTED. PAYPAL AND CREDIT CARDS ACCEPTED. (Late Deal Now On)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Castle Combe. PAYMENT PROTECTED. PAYPAL AND CREDIT CARDS ACCEPTED. (Late Deal Now On)
PAYPAL AND CREDIT CARDS ACCEPTED. Cotswolds Retreat Front Entrance And Double Drive. A Warm Welcome Awaits You At Cotswolds Retreat
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Castle Combe. PAYMENT PROTECTED. PAYPAL AND CREDIT CARDS ACCEPTED. (Late Deal Now On)
PAYPAL AND CREDIT CARDS ACCEPTED. Cotswolds Retreat Front Entrance And Double Drive.
A Warm Welcome Awaits You At Cotswolds Retreat
Light +Airy With Black Out Blinds For Long Comfy Lie-ins. 'Pure Indulgence'
Leather Sofa & 2 Recliners, Flat Screen tv, SKY tv, DVD Player all within the bed/sitting room
PAYMENT PROTECTED. PAYPAL AND CREDIT CARDS ACCEPTED. (Late Deal Now O
Lovely Modern Kitchen Leading Into A Fabulous Conservatory. Dine Or Relax With Garden Views
Delightful South Facing Conservatory. Ideal For Dining Or Relaxing Reading A Book
King Size Leather Designer Bed With Luxury Memory Foam Mattress. 'Relax In Style'
Honeymoon, Birthday, Anniversary Or Romantic Break - You Won't Beat This Experience
Sensational Double Jacuzzi And Walk In Shower. Set With Black Onyx Tiles And Chrome Fittings.
Outstanding Area And Outstanding Cottage And Facilities Thats Going To Be Hard To Beat.
Lovely Country Walks Begin Here From The Lane To 'Cotswolds Retreat'
If You Can Bare To Leave This Gorgeous Cottage, Your Ideally Situated To Visit 'Longleat'
Cotswolds Wildlife Park Is Close Too. Who Could Resist!
Back Of Your Cottage And South Facing 'Enjoy A BBQ'
'Cotswolds Retreat' Area Of Outstanding Natural Beauty' And Facilities To Match!
Entrance Through To The Fabulous Double Jacuzzi And En-suite Area
Walk In Double Shower
Hall Through To Kitchen, Through To The Conservatory And Garden Beyond
The Famous Roman Baths At Bath Just 30 min Away
View From The End Of The Front Garden. Rolling Countryside As Far As The Eye Can See
Mystical Stonehenge Just 55 min Away
Beautiful Roman City Of Bath Not To Be Missed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Malmesbury, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
36annie36
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Little Gem!”
Reviewed March 2, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for anniversary weekend. Lovely area very peaceful.
Both Mark & Sue greeted us, with an anniversary present. Which was lovely.
Beautiful clean, comfortable and nice & warm.
The Jacuzzi was to die for!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Jacuzzi without hesitation
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 2, 2015
We are honoured when guests choose Cotswolds Retreat for such special occasions and we are thrilled to hear you had such an enjoyable and memorable stay. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alichan
london
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very warm, comfortable, lovely host”
Reviewed February 17, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Sue greeted us when we arrived and when we left, absolutely lovely lady and very informative. Cotswolds retreat was cosy, clean and comfortable. It is very quiet and we had a very pleasant stay.

Perhaps it would have been nice to include some of the extra within the cost as its not very nice and seems a little petty charging £3 a day to use certain things. Half the jacuzzi wasn't working when we were there, so we didn't enjoy the facilities as much as we would have liked to. But overall, it was a lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feeling warm and cosy
Liked least: Vacuuming and moping instructions when we left
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 18, 2015
Thank you for the lovely review and we're pleased you really enjoyed yourselves at Cotswolds Retreat overall. Its a pity you just didn't tell someone about the Jacuzzi as it was merely just some of the jets had been turned off! I'm also sorry you would have liked some of the extra facilities we offer up and beyond what other holiday lets would offer but really that's the whole point of keeping our prices as low as they are and being able to offer discounted stays such as you enjoyed. We are proud to be able to offer these few little extras and think it only fitting that guests choose for themselves rather than paying within the rental costs for something they wouldn't benefit from. We do make all of this clear on booking so it really is a shame you didn't take advantage of what you would have liked at just £3 especially as you'd already enjoyed a good saving on your stay. Next time you stay if you pay the full rental costs, then you will have included every facility we offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dfja2014
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“All you could want for a relaxing weekend”
Reviewed December 17, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Great place, private,cosy and warm, all the facilities you could want with the added bonus of the amazing bathroom. Great location for exploring the cotswolds

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 17, 2014
Thank you for the kind words and its lovely to hear you both had such a lovely time. We look forward to seeing you again soon and don't forget you will receive your returning guest discount.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randhir S
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable, relaxing, clean & well equipped”
Reviewed November 20, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Stayed here for a long weekend and we spent most of our time in bed it was that comfortable and relaxing! The jacuzzi/spa is fantastic and the whole property is very well laid out & equipped with SkyTV and wifi.

Surrounding areas are picturesque with a pub and village shop within walking distance. Local people are very friendly too as we our hosts Mark & Sue.

All in all - a fantastic place to stay. Would definately recommend to friends and family

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Jacuzzi
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 21, 2014
Thank you so much for this lovely review, it really does make all the hard work worth it. Its a real pleasure to hear you had such a nice time at Cotswolds Retreat and we really hope you both return very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FM0184
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hide away”
Reviewed September 8, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely and beautiful area, quite and a great hide away for a relaxing time. Friendly and informative service.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 13, 2014
Thank you for the kind words and we are as always pleased to hear you had a nice time. I can see that you have already booked your second visit and we look forward to welcoming you both back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresahur...
Albacete, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A very nice place to stay in”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and me have spent fantastic holidays in this place.It is exactly as you can see in the pictures. We rented a car and brought our Sat nav with us It works much better here than in Spain (with the post codes).
This place is just one hour away from Cardiff, Bath...I mean, it is very well situated if you want to visit the whole área.
I read previous reviews and I got a bit worried about how to find the key, but it is very easy, just follow Mark's directions.
The landlord (Mark) and landlady (Susan) are very nice and helpful.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2014
It was lovely yet again to accommodate such nice Spanish Guests. Thank you for the lovely review and we are thrilled you had such a wonderful stay in Cotswolds Retreat. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Era una maravilla una vez más para dar cabida a estos buenos españoles huéspedes. Gracias por la hermosa reseña y estamos encantados de que tenía una estancia maravillosa en Cotswolds Retreat. Esperamos poder darle la bienvenida volver muy pronto.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane R
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent accommdation, excellent holliday, could not fault anything”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Sue and Mark gave us an excellent welcome, very much a feeling of being at home! nice place to come back too! warm and cosy. plenty of places to explore along the way. local pub and shop at walking distance. will be visiting again in the future.
thanks Sue and Mark for a memorable and enjoyable holiday (Jim & Di)

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 25, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review and for taking the time to complete it. We are pleased you had such an enjoyable stay at Cotswolds Retreat and we are looking forward to seeing you both again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing