We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A mothers day disaster!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Schoolhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Schoolhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hook
swindon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A mothers day disaster!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

My daughter and son-in law booked a meal for mothering Sunday for my wife. In total there were six of us including our grandchildren aged 3 and 5. We arrived around 12.00 and shortly placed our orders. For the next 45 minutes we were the only people in the dining room but still did not receive our starters for a further 10 minutes. After an hour and five minutes we ordered rolls for the children as by this time they still had not eaten anything and one of them was crying because she was so hungry. Eventually the food arrived.... my daughters beefburger was totally inedible, my grandson was served vegetables when we had asked for a salad, my wifes fish pie was so badly burned that she had to cut the black bits off just to be able to eat some of it ( her starters was a very cheap pate with iceberg lettuce.) My" roast beef dinner" was laughable with barely cooked vegetables ( and I don't mean al dente!! ) gravy that was tasteless and thin etc etc. All in all a terrible experience never to be repeated at this establishment..........and all for the miserly price of £98 something which was after a refund of my daughters meal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank adsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    31
    22
    11
    16
See reviews for
21
41
5
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

The School House is a wonderful, characterful building in a peaceful location. My room was spacious, comfortable and well equipped, with pieces of Victorian furniture giving it a unique feel. There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms, which some people might mind. My room looked out over a small natural garden to fields beyond.

The hostess gave me a warm welcome, and showed genuine concern for my comfort. The dinner menu is varied for a small hotel, and breakfast ranges from the modest to the sumptuous. It's not fast food - OK, it's rather slow, actually - but it's good when it comes, and there's a nice relaxing environment to wait in: the dining room is the old school hall, with tall arched windows, wooden floor, vaulted ceiling and wood-burning stove. And the daily papers are available for those who want them.

Lydiard Park is nearby, with a lake and woods; a lovely place in which to walk off the day's work. Others might prefer the modern, consistent uniformity of a chain hotel, but for me the School House is peaceful and perfect, and I'm very glad to have found it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank westcountrywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Decided to try the school house for a meal out with friends. One of our party is gluten free and we informed the restaurant when booking the table who said this wouldn't be a problem. On the night she was not disappointed as she was told that practically everything on the menu could be adapted to accomodate her dietary needs. She went for the beef bourginon in the end.

We had 3 courses for £18.50 which in my opinion was excellent value. The food does take a little longer to come to your table than other restaurants however it is well worth the wait to know your food is being prepared and cooked fresh. Portion size is very generous and the food quality is good. The wait was worth it as our dishes were delicious- I would recommend the black pudding with cheese for starters and the thai catfish dish for mains. I will definitely be returning for a meal again.

Room Tip: N/A- did not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geo2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is a lovely old building and the welcome was friendly. I would however point out that the Bed in my room and also that of my colleague was very uncomfortable as the mattress was more springs than padding so not a great night! No Tea or Coffee in the room was also a little dissapointing for a hotel of this standard.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We booked for our Christmas get together, our choices already placed so was disappointed at the time from arrival to getting to the table with the starter, this was pretty good. Long wait between courses main meal was the Turkey rolled in bacon this was like a second starter very small portion mainly stuffing, sitting on the other corner was half a sweet potato and balance the plate was some tasteless vegetable cubes looking very bland all this was barely warm. We did not think it was necessary to select a main course with the added supplement but watching other plates it may have been best, dessert was good old Christmas pudding this also was of average size but warm, in summary we left feeling hungry and disappointed, we also found it was a cold restaurant even thought we sat in front of the fire while waiting for the food

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hook hotels

Rugby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Beautiful old building tastefully decorated. Good food, warm welcome, friendly owners. Loved it. Would definitely go back. Good choice of real ales in the bar. Real fires in the bar and restaurant. Very generous portions of food. Only criticism was despite the fires the restaurant was a little cold but with a 30 foot high ceiling that is perfectly understandable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel is great. It's an old school and listed building. I went for a room with period furniture and loved it. A bargain for the price. The whole place has great character. If you want premier inn don't stay here but if you want authenticity, its perfect. The walls are nice and thick so you cant hear other people. I would return.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CEGriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hook
0.9 mi away
Marsh Farm Hotel
Marsh Farm Hotel
#2 of 2 in Royal Wootton Bassett
3.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Wiltshire
The Wiltshire
#1 of 2 in Royal Wootton Bassett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#6 of 8 in Cirencester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Pear Tree at Purton
The Pear Tree at Purton
#4 of 24 in Swindon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
6.7 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#6 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Schoolhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Schoolhouse Hotel

Property: The Schoolhouse Hotel
Address: Hook Street | Royal Wootton Bassett, Hook SN4 8EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Hook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Schoolhouse Hotel is a small family run hotel in the Swindon countryside. The Schoolhouse Hotel and Restaurant is run in a comfortable and relaxed manner. Our food has a distinctive European influence without "pomp and circumstance". Seafood and fish, in particular flatfish are some of our specialties. Enjoy the comfort of our rooms and appreciate the company of your friends in our restaurant. We just look forward welcoming to you back. We enjoy to care as long as you care to enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Schoolhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
School Hotel Hook
The Schoolhouse Hotel Hook, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing