We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below Standard”

The Bolingbroke Arms
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bolingbroke Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hook B&B and Inns
gloucestershire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Below Standard”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Just had a Turkey lunch here and although place is nice the food was not good. Sausage and bacon appeared under cooked in fact just not cooked but i risked it. One hour later had back stomach which I could only put down to the food.

Service was very slow but to be fair it was very busy with xmas parties.

I doubt I would want to return which is a pity as otherwise it is a pleasant place to have a drink.

Note I did not stay here so cannot comment upon rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbie106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    37
    18
    10
    10
See reviews for
42
35
1
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Level Contributor
454 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

We had a family meal on a cold Saturday in November.

The restaurant is set at the rear of the bars and is a reasonably pleasant room. The service was friendly but a little slow and some of us felt the staff could have been a little more knowledgeable and helpful with regard to what was served with certain dishes.

The food itself was cooked quite well and the prices seemed reasonable, although we were not picking up the bill, so cannot confirm this.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

I went in a group of six. I can't remember what I had as a starter but I do remember having some garlic bread with cheese from from one of our friends as it was the thickest and most gigantuous portions I have ever witnessed. Man vs Food would have been proud to have a go at it.
My main was pork chops and again two massive chops. You know when you sit down with friends and family and you always end up wishing you had ordered something one of the others had in the group; well I was that other person. Everyone wanted my dinner. The sauce was fantastic as were the vegetables. Everyone had a good time and the food was tasty. Would go back.
I never ordered a desert which was just as well. My partner who love her deserts ordered the biggest cheesecake I have ever seen and I had to help her finish it off. It was lush.

Room Tip: order the garlic bread as a side dish. One order per four people would be about right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petergeddes138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We have been to this pub many times over the last few years and have never been dissappointed. Can't comment on the accommodation as we have never stayed. We visited this week with some friends and the food was excellent. I had the smoked haddock on mash with cheese sauce and it was wonderful. They do an all day breakfast type dish sold as a skillet which is also nice. My wife had the Steak and Stilton pie which was excellent and won't leave you hungry. The choice of beer is not huge but is sufficient and well kept, and there seems to be a rotation of local beers which adds to the interest. Easy parking and good level access to all areas. The place is always clean including the toilets

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blandford49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We found the hotel to be well located to use as a base for travelling around the Salisbury, Bath and Cirencester areas. The owners Simon and Jo are excellent hosts. They provide excellent service are very professional and attentive to your needs. The guest rooms are very clean and comfortable. The restaurant is excellent but if you are there on a Saturday evening ensure you book because when we we there it was extremely busy. Having eaten there I can understand why the locals dine there. Breakfast was also very good. The gardens are beautiful and provide a relaxing place to sit in the sun for a relaxing break. We stayed there on Sunday night and were looked after very well indeed by Simon's parents. His father, Tom, is a natural raconteur and we spent a wonderfully entertaining evening sharing his stories. We would thoroughly recommend the hotel to others

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We have been visiting the Bolingbroke Arms for several years now and have been consistently delighted with both the standard of service and the food quality. Simon runs a very well organised hotel and Alex is everybody's best friend. If you are looking for good food in a relaxed and friendly environment then please dont miss out on this gem.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oakley_inc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

i went to the bolingbroke arms today to be very dissapointed , i was with a party of 14 for a 70th birthday party, firstly we all ordered and 5 or 10 minutes later the waitress come and re checked our order, once our meal arrived our my potatoes and meat were cold, finaly the veg came out, we were not offered any mustard etc and had to ask, when i asked for horseradish thy came back and said they didnt have any! another member of the party had the fishcakes which were tasteless, another had the steak and asked for it medium rare and it was rare!!! the puddings looked lovely! when ordering choice was limited as most things had ran out! i had a coconut creme brulee, didnt taste of coconut at all my partner had the baileys cheesecake which i tried, very good size portion but tasteless. for the price of the food i did ot think it was worth it and i will not be hurrying to go back, during our meal nobody asked how our meal was or if we wanted more drinks.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank youngswindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hook
0.6 mi away
The Schoolhouse Hotel
0.9 mi away
Marsh Farm Hotel
Marsh Farm Hotel
#2 of 2 in Royal Wootton Bassett
3.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Pear Tree at Purton
The Pear Tree at Purton
#5 of 24 in Swindon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
7.0 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#6 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
2.4 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bolingbroke Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bolingbroke Arms

Property: The Bolingbroke Arms
Address: 4 Just off Jnct 16, M, Hook SN4 8DZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Hook
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bolingbroke Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bolingbroke Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bolingbroke Arms Hook, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing