We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere, poor food”
Review of The Lamb

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lamb
Ranked #1 of 2 Hindon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, poor food”
Reviewed November 24, 2010

I have often stopped off at the Lamb at Hindon as a halfway point when I am driving from Kent to Cornwall. The atmosphere is always pleasant and the village of Hindon is very pretty. The food is usually OK (not great, but Ok). This time my husband was served a stone cold cheese panini with a rather mean (also cold) cheese filling. He ate very little of it and complained. He was assured the chef would be told as the pub 'appreciated customer feedback'. We would have appreciated a reduction in the bill but we didn't get it. There are a lot of pubs in the area which serve much better quality meals and they will be getting our custom in future.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saharaKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    103
    59
    28
    10
See reviews for
54
170
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2010

After reading very average reviews for this Pub/Restaurant/Hotel we found it pretty good. The room was very nice and comfortable, well appointed with lovely Neals Yard bathroom products. It was quiet and the bed was comfortable. We ate in the restaurant and enjoyed it very much

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bootsieWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2010

We stopped at the hotel the august bank holiday .The building is a loverly 14th century place with plenty of charm and original features but still offering all the mod cons we demand in todays hotel rooms . The food was good the drink resonably priced and with a good choice . Where it realy scored though was with the staff , from the genral manager ,Oliver , through all the others we came in contact with everyone went out of thier way to make us feel welcome . We visited longleat and Stonehenge both only a few miles away . We had a great couple of days and would recomend this hotel , I know we will return soon .

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve123321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

We stayed here for a relaxing weekend away from city life. It was recommended by another hotel in the area where we had a booking, but unfortunately it burnt down! The setting is great and the restaurant and bar are well done and it is like going back in time. The rooms themselves are sparse with quality fittings if somewhat reminding me of Grandma's house. The menu is extensive and the food and wine was good. One can sit on the green across the road with a drink or play boules. What let the place down for us was the Manager - a pompous little man who talks down to his staff. We overheard him making derogatory remarks about customers, which was highly unprofessional. Although it is a nice place it is clear that it is geared towards a certain type of clientele, and unfortunately we left with a sense of not having been genuinely welcomed. I recommend the place across the road , where we ate on our second night, much friendlier and less pretentious!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loumcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

We booked three nights at The Lamb via their website and found this to be very good value for the area, especially when they included two adult passport tickets for Longleat in the price of £218.

We stayed in a converted outbuilding adjacent to the main inn building. The room was clean and well presented with original features such as white washed brick walls combining with modern touches such as air conditioning, direct dial phone and flat screen TV. The small en-suite was again well presented with marble tiling and down lighting. The corner shower unit was a bit on the small side but this is a minor grumble.
The inn had a good atmosphere with dark furnishing and wooden flooring highlighted by wall lighting and real fires. There was a good selection of scotch, wines and other sprits with decent pint of real ale. The food was good and well priced. The staff were plesant and parking was free.

Hindon is a clean, quiet and plesant place with little amenities but this I liked because it added to the feeling of a break away from the office, anyhow London is only 90 miles away or about 1 hour 45 minutes drive. Longleat was 20 minutes. 'Stourhead' and Lacock village are well worth a visit and an easy drive from the inn.

A good year round option for couples who are for looking for a break.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dingram633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Booked this hotel at rather short notice for an overnight on the way to Devon and found an offer for a double room on hotel's own website. So already well-disposed on account of the offer and ease of booking, I was pleased to arrive to a friendly reception. Room a decent size, well-presented and the bed very comfortable. At dinner, food was well-prepared and tasty - on account of Scots connections of owners whiskey seems a speciality. Good "full English" breakfast. Service in all departments very good. Nice Neals Yard toiletries in bathroom. Village is very pretty and well located for countryside and visits to places like Salisbury, Wilton, Stourhead. Was sorry to have had only one night and would very happily return.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank St.Pancras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Spent two nights here and really enjoyed it. Very old inn so rooms a bit small (needed two with our two kids), but nicely updated with flat screen TVs and wifi, renovated bathrooms. The Pub and dinning rooms were just as I'd hoped, classic old English feel and good food. An out-of-the-way village, but it worked for us with Salisbury about 20 minutes away.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Daverw_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hindon
5.1 mi away
Howard's House Country Hotel & Restaurant
11.7 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
7.1 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
187 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Compasses Inn
The Compasses Inn
#2 of 4 in Tisbury
203 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Riverbarn
The Riverbarn
#1 of 1 in Fonthill Bishop
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lamb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lamb

Property: The Lamb
Address: High Street, Hindon SP3 6DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Hindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lamb 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lamb would have been trading as a public house as early as the 12th Century. By 1870 it was already well established as a posting inn that supplied 300 post horses for coaches going to and from London and the West Country. To this day the building retains plenty of its original character and features including inglenook fireplaces, flag stone floors and heavy wooden beams. We have 18 beautiful boutique-style bedrooms as well as a traditional pub, dining room as well as a private dining or meeting room providing the perfect place for locals and visitors to enjoy all of the comforts and amenities expected from a larger hotel. With attractions such as The Lamb is a perfect base to explore the area, including attractions such as Old Wardour Castle, Salisbury Cathedral, Stonehenge and the glorious Wiltshire Country Side Whatever the occasion we're here to make your visit or stay one to remember! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Lamb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lamb Hotel Hindon
The Lamb Hindon, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing