We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and great staff”
Review of The Lamb

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lamb
Ranked #1 of 2 Hindon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely food and great staff”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I went over in the west country on the week end of the 4th Jan to see some friends, and we decided to stop on the way for a quick lunch.
We arrived without a booking, and were well looked after by the staff.
We had a drink in the bar, then were shown to our table.
The choice of food on the menu was good, and we also had some choices for the kids.
My husband had the Smoked haddock tart, and I had the Bream. The food was cooked to perfection, and the kids really enjoyed their meal.
This was one of the best family lunch I had for a long time, and would really recommend to my friends.
We are planning to go back to the west country next month, and we will make sure to book a table on the way!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZM165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    99
    56
    28
    9
See reviews for
51
166
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
norfolk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here on our way back on route from Devon to Norfolk. Our stop here had been unplanned as the place we were going to stay at was fully booked but recommended here. We really were pleasantly surprised at the character of the building and the friendly welcome we got from the staff upon our arrival. Our trip was a spontaneous post Festive season break so we cautioned ourselves that places we stayed in may suffer post xmas blues but not a bit of it was evident here.

We treated ourselves to a 4 poster in the main building. We loved the room, Neil's yard toiletries , nice thick white towels , Sony TV , wifi in bedroom although it sometimes faded but not a problem.
Bathroom nicely equipped with bath and shower. Air condition/ heater unit in room.

We went had dinner at the Lamb , fresh mackerel and corn fed chicken for me and pigeon breast and Bream for my husband. All cooked to perfection. We felt the menu offered a good range of choice without being over extensive ( a good thing in my view) . Good selection of wine and of course whiskies to choose from. Our waitress for the evening was charming and engaging.

Breakfast in the morning was again perfectly good, fresh juice, fruit and cereals on offer. Beautiful freshly made granary toast. Full Scottish Breakfast for the manly half and poached eggs and tomatoes for me. All again cooked perfectly.

We both enjoyed our stay here, loved the ambience and the staff were genuinely pleasant indeed. We will certainly put this place on our books visit again.

Room Tip: Main building does have stairs and of course due to character of building there are no lifts so less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westiefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanderstead
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2013

...we stop off here periodically for lunch on our travels and at it's best is the best out there food-wise for Sunday lunch etc. It varies, the staff do their absolute best even when extremely busy and are great characters and lovely people! My parents have been coming here for many (many!) years and hopefully it will flourish for many more.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston Upon Thames, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We chose this as a stopping point on our journey from Kingston to Dartmouth because of its position just off the A303.It's in a quiet village and you don't have to worry about parking. Despite its awards, dinner was very disappointing- watery soup, stringy and tough steak, mean dessert. I hope Boisdale the owners take note. Our room was fine and well provided with toiletries. Breakfast was another culinary disappointment.Despite our reservations, the staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Until food improves look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith12348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on Fri 27th & Sat 28th September 2013 @ £140.00 per night for a birthday weekend away.

Having spent 5 hours driving to The Lamb, we checked in and was shown to our 'suite' on the top floor. Expecting something rather special considering it is the most expensive room they have, we were bitterly disappointed. Very ordinary and plain.

1) No 'ordinary' tea bags, just fruit flavoured on offer (cranberry) and no decaf coffee either.
2) The room was exceptionally dusty throughout, the white walls had plenty of dirty black scuff marks over them, no lock on the bathroom door, no shower and a huge hole in the wall where the door knob had embedded itself some time ago and never been repaired.
3) The suite has two rooms: a bedroom and a lounge area. Both have a television in them, however, due to poor signal, neither worked in the evenings at all, so it was pointless paying all this money as we couldn't even watch any evening television. They are also aware of this common problem.
4) During breakfast, the service was extremely slow. Just one poor young girl to serve everyone, hence, fresh orange jugs were not replenished and condiments were never delivered after we had requested them.

On the first night, after this 'catalogue of errors', we were getting increasing cheesed off with this place so I went down to speak to the Duty Manager who said decaf coffee is not supplied, yet it can be purchased in the restaurant. We listed all our complaints and he was apologetic. The following morning the Head Housekeeper came knocking and also apologised for the dirty, dusty room, blaming it on new staff.

We ate at The Lamb on the first night. It was nothing special, the menu is very limited. The Steaks were second rate. The second night we went over the road to The Angel, 100 yards away, this was far superior, the food was amazing and the rooms on offer are half the price of The Lamb. If we were to return, I would most definitely stay at The Angel. The landlord was welcoming and chatty, the staff were friendly and I could not fault this establishment at all.

I would not recommend The Lamb at Hindon to anyone. We paid well above the odds for a second rate establishment. I cannot think of anything good about the place. Finally, whilst we were checking out on Sunday morning, another couple were lodging their complaint too about their room and uncomfortable bed. Give this place a miss !

Room Tip: Don't be swayed by the top floor 'suite'. It is not worth the £140 per night ! It'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rosalind22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

This is our third visit and it never disappoints. This is a civilised unpretentious place. The rooms are lovely, the food is good and the staff really helpful. The bar area is warm and friendly and it is great value.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We frequently visit the lamb on our way from Essex to Devon. It is our half way break time. I take over the driving as my husband enjoys a couple of glasses of fine merlot! The ambience and service is second to none, candles on every table even during the day, this spacious pub with real log fires takes some beating. The food is delicious with a great variety of choice and beautifully served. Waitresses come to the table to take your order and are happy to bring fresh drinks. It is on the pricey side but well worth it for a superior lunch/dinner.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Bridget E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hindon
11.7 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
7.1 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
14.7 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Compasses Inn
The Compasses Inn
#2 of 4 in Tisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#1 of 1 in Chicklade
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Riverbarn
The Riverbarn
#1 of 1 in Fonthill Bishop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lamb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lamb

Property: The Lamb
Address: High Street, Hindon SP3 6DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Hindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lamb 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lamb would have been trading as a public house as early as the 12th Century. By 1870 it was already well established as a posting inn that supplied 300 post horses for coaches going to and from London and the West Country. To this day the building retains plenty of its original character and features including inglenook fireplaces, flag stone floors and heavy wooden beams. We have 18 beautiful boutique-style bedrooms as well as a traditional pub, dining room as well as a private dining or meeting room providing the perfect place for locals and visitors to enjoy all of the comforts and amenities expected from a larger hotel. With attractions such as The Lamb is a perfect base to explore the area, including attractions such as Old Wardour Castle, Salisbury Cathedral, Stonehenge and the glorious Wiltshire Country Side Whatever the occasion we're here to make your visit or stay one to remember! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lamb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lamb Hotel Hindon
The Lamb Hindon, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing