We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant find”
Review of The Lamb

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lamb
Ranked #1 of 2 Hindon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Millbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Brilliant find”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Found this by using our Garmin. We had arrived back from overseas on an overnight flight which was 4 hours late so by the time we got to Amesbury we were pretty tired. Decided to find accomodation Holiday Inn was charging £102 just for Bed. (no thanks) We then found The Lamb Inn on our Garmin phoned and got Bed and Breakfast for £70. Excellent value, we arrived 15 mins after booking to a lovely warm place. Friendly staff who welcomed us and had already put the fire on in the room for us. fantastic room with a wonderful bath.(no shower) Room 17. It was clean, had everything we needed. Even an ironingboard and Iron. Hair dryer, toiletries, Tea, Coffee, Hot chocolate in the room. Went down for dinner in the restaurant Great menu, value for money. Portions ample. Whiskies never seen so many. After a wonderfful sleep, break fast was plentiful and the choice was good. Many thanks to you all for making us so welcome

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    103
    59
    28
    11
See reviews for
55
170
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Having read the Sunday review below I am somewhat suprised at the comments, they must have visited on a bad day. We ate here this past Sunday and it coul not of been better. The staff were very welcoming and friendly, the service prompt but not so that you felt rushed, lovely cosy fireplaces and the meat cooked perfectly pink. People are quick to complain so I thought i would write a positive review. We will definately be back, I'll hint to my children about Mothering Sunday!!

Room Tip: If you can, get a table by the fire. Be careful not to doze off!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandyJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleyben, France
Level Contributor
177 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband and I met my mother-in-law here for lunch. Both my husband and his mother had eaten here before and loved it.
However, they both commented that the quality of food had gone down. Their shepherds pie looked like the chef had forgotten the sauce. Very very dry.
My caesar salad was average.
And the service was below average.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiki d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

On arrival, we entered the pub where the reception area is. At first, the young receptionist didn't look up at all and asked our name without even looking at us and then searched the computer for us... I wondered if she were ever going to look at us. But then she did and was very friendly and personally showed us to our room, offering to carry our luggage, explained everything in the room and couldn't have been more welcoming.

Our room was perfect for us as we had 2 small dogs with us. Plenty big enough and near the fire escape stairs so we didn't have to bother anyone by walking along the corridors. The room was well equipped and the Neals' Yared toiletries are a very nice touch. The bed was indeed quite firm (having read the other reviews) but we like that. The linen and quality of the bedding was excellent, the room was warm, welcoming and spotless. As was the bathroom.

We had an excellent glass of red in the bar before leaving for a meal elsewhere. The girl serving us behind the bar was very friendly and chatty. And recommended great wine.

Breakfast was again a mixed bag. The manager was clearly left on his own to juggle 'phones, guests and everything else. He was clearly just going through the motions to get everything done as best he could so perhaps the greeting and service weren't what he'd usually have as his standard. Eventually another member of staff arrived to help out. The service was friendly and the food excellent. Very nice touch having newspapers available.

The ambiance of the place is relaxed, warm and cosy with very good food and drink. The facilities are very good too.

The Lamb had been the venue for my husband's first wedding reception about 30 years ago and he says it has retained its warmth and general relaxed atmosphere.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 8 (I think) if you have dogs. Or at least ask for the room near the fire escape. Easy e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Although we had booked for eight people when we arrived our reservation had not been made so the only space left was a room off the main dining area which was a real disappointment with no other diners and lacked the whole atmosphere of the pub. We were completely forgotten about and had to keep searching for staff to take our food orders, etc. There was no roast chicken left and when our mains finally came they were all cold probably as we had been forgotten again. We ordered water with our meal that never arrived and again had to ask for dishes to be cleared away and for a desert menu. At this stage I did ask to speak to a member of staff to go over our experience so far but she really was more interested in her staffing issues than our terrible dining experience. We then ordered puddings although there was only a choice of three and one of them turned out to be inedible as it was frozen solid. I had ordered cheese but again this did not turn up. I again spoke to the same member of staff who offered no discount off the bill and at this point we just wanted to leave as we were all still hungry and felt really let down by the quality of the food and staff. Several of the party at this time had had a cold main and inedible desert.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank sallycow18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLambInnHindon, Operations Director at The Lamb, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give feedback regarding your experience albeit very disappointing. There is absolutely no excuse for the standards & level of service you received & for that I can only wholeheartedly apologise. Please allow me to get in touch with you so we can discuss with further.
Kind regards, Katie Ingall
Operations Director, Boisdale restaurants
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Booked the lamb in for the weekend for me and my daughter. We loved it . Hotel is beautiful , the food was fantastic, the service was excellent. The only thing what put me off u need to drive which I don't as there is nothing near there so if you want to go anywhere you need to get a cab which are expensive. But the hotel 5star could not fault it

Room Tip: The four poster pure luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mich1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have never had such a poor experience for Sunday lunch. Booking had not been logged.£15.95 for 2 courses. Chicken N/A today! SLOW service. Water offered, never appeared .Meal cold, very small portion of meat. Choice of 3 sweets, one N/A! Sticky toffee sundae not edible, chunk of hard cold cake in a glass topped by icecream.Cheese board ordered, did not arrive. We had to fetch staff on all occasions to make our order.
Very poor value, service and quality.Never again, in spite of its location and olde worlde interior.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLambInnHindon, Operations Director at The Lamb, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
I cannot apologise enough for what must have been a disastrous experience for you last Sunday & hope that this apology goes some way to let you know how serious I deem this. I am sending a message to you in order to discuss further.
With regards,
Katie Ingall
Operations Director, Boisdale Restaurants
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hindon
5.1 mi away
Howard's House Country Hotel & Restaurant
11.7 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
7.1 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
187 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Compasses Inn
The Compasses Inn
#2 of 4 in Tisbury
203 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Riverbarn
The Riverbarn
#1 of 1 in Fonthill Bishop
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lamb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lamb

Property: The Lamb
Address: High Street, Hindon SP3 6DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Hindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lamb 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lamb would have been trading as a public house as early as the 12th Century. By 1870 it was already well established as a posting inn that supplied 300 post horses for coaches going to and from London and the West Country. To this day the building retains plenty of its original character and features including inglenook fireplaces, flag stone floors and heavy wooden beams. We have 18 beautiful boutique-style bedrooms as well as a traditional pub, dining room as well as a private dining or meeting room providing the perfect place for locals and visitors to enjoy all of the comforts and amenities expected from a larger hotel. With attractions such as The Lamb is a perfect base to explore the area, including attractions such as Old Wardour Castle, Salisbury Cathedral, Stonehenge and the glorious Wiltshire Country Side Whatever the occasion we're here to make your visit or stay one to remember! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Lamb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lamb Hotel Hindon
The Lamb Hindon, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing