We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The lamb inn”
Review of The Lamb Hindon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lamb Hindon
Ranked #1 of 2 Hindon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Booked the lamb in for the weekend for me and my daughter. We loved it . Hotel is beautiful , the food was fantastic, the service was excellent. The only thing what put me off u need to drive which I don't as there is nothing near there so if you want to go anywhere you need to get a cab which are expensive. But the hotel 5star could not fault it

Room Tip: The four poster pure luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mich1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 385 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have never had such a poor experience for Sunday lunch. Booking had not been logged.£15.95 for 2 courses. Chicken N/A today! SLOW service. Water offered, never appeared .Meal cold, very small portion of meat. Choice of 3 sweets, one N/A! Sticky toffee sundae not edible, chunk of hard cold cake in a glass topped by icecream.Cheese board ordered, did not arrive. We had to fetch staff on all occasions to make our order.
Very poor value, service and quality.Never again, in spite of its location and olde worlde interior.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLambInnHindon, Operations Director at The Lamb Hindon, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

I cannot apologise enough for what must have been a disastrous experience for you last Sunday & hope that this apology goes some way to let you know how serious I deem this. I am sending a message to you in order to discuss further.
With regards,
Katie Ingall
Operations Director, Boisdale Restaurants

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We went to the Lamb at Hindon today and had Sunday Lunch.
A beautiful Old Coaching Inn, The Lamb offers a great selection of food, fantastic service and a lovely atmosphere.
Well worth a visit, we will return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Forestgirl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

As soon as we saw the Lamb Inn, we knew we had made a great choice. The atmosphere and the reception were warm and welcoming, especially in the midst of all the rain near the end of December.
The rooms were comfortable, cosey and clean with a good wireless conection. The menue was small but very interesting with a good range to choose from. And the bar......., open wood fires, deep red colours and, for someone who likes his single malts, it was heaven!
The staff were very helpful, even on a bleak Boxing Day evening where I am sure they would all have wanted to be with their own families.
We would love to come back here in more clement weather so we can explore the area, the menue and the malts!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Myself, my husband and 3 month old baby stayed here for one night on a 5 week trip around Britian. We came across this pub on lastroom.com as we wanted to stay somewhere close to stonehenge.
I had read some of the comments on tripadvisor saying the staff seemed rude and disinterested and was prepared for that. When we arrived however, we were greeted warmly at the bar and given the keys to our room. Our room was up a very narrow and windy staircase, which was a bit of a pain with all the stuff we cart about when travelling with a small child, but goes hand in hand when you stay in an old English pub!
Our room was nicely decorated with some beautiful pieces of furnishure, with the bed made up with beautiful linen and soft pillows. Our bathroom had lovely toiletries, but I agree with the other reviews, the bath was quite slippery and the shower head very low. I didn't attempt to wash my hair!! But the water pressure was good and the water hot.
We had dinner in the restaurant downstairs. The restaurant was the standard run of the mill pub restaurant decorated in the same Scottish theme as the rooms upstairs, done very nicely. The restaurant was very quiet so we were given a table by the window. We found the wait staff attentive but unobtrusive. The food was pub food, so although wasn't gormet was really good. I remember the wine list was suprisingly good.
We enjoyed our stay here, would recommend to anyone who was after a clean, quiet pub.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SG_Sutherland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I had mistakenly booked in at The Lamb for the wrong (earlier) date which created confusion on arrival but the manager sorted this out for me quickly and helpfully, allowing the "lapsed" deposit to be credited to my new booking.

Our room was on the top floor - the sloping ceiling meant there was no shower in the bathroom, something of a problem for me as the bath was significantly narrower at the waist than I am. However, the bed was very comfortable and we both slept well.

We had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant - good value and tasty burgers with a glass of wine for dinner and the "Full Scottish" for breakfast. Service was very friendly but rather untrained and erratic.

A great old building, good decor, open log fires, local produce, local and friendly staff but the sum was not greater than its parts. Overall this should have been a great stopover at a charming pub / hotel but I left feeling it should somehow have been better.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I booked a room at the Lamb for a night's stop over on the way down to Dorset. From the website it looked cosy and atmospheric with open fires, deep red wallpaper and four poster beds. I booked a four poster room through laterooms which was only £60. The low price made me think that the Lamb would potentially not live up to its attractive appearance on the website or some of the more positive reviews I had read.

This suspicion was founded. When we arrived we were shown up a dingy staircase which smelt of cigarettes and bleach to a double room. I immediately told the manager that we had booked a four poster room and he looked suspiciously at me before finally showing us to a four poster room once I had produced a confirmation email. The room itself was nice and clean and had some pretty furniture. The bathroom was resonable but the ceiling was so low that it felt quite oppressive and also meant that the shower over the bath was too low for anyone over about 5ft10.

We were having dinner in the pub downstairs but when we got down they had no record of the reservation I had made through top table. Luckily it was quiet so we got a nice table by one of the lovely open fires. The service was reasonably efficient although not exactly charming. The food was pretty average and massively overpriced. Our bill came to more than £100 for two people and the quality of the steak and burger that we ate did not merit this at all.

Given the price of the room (£60) we were not expecting palatial luxury but the room was actually very nice. It was the quality (and price) of the food, the organisation of the place and the depressingly smelly corridors which made this a disappointing visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pearls_swine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hindon
6.4 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
218 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
6.8 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Angel Inn
Angel Inn
#2 of 2 in Hindon
121 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Lamb Hindon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lamb Hindon

Address: High Street, Hindon SP3 6DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Hindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hindon
Price Range: $135 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lamb Hindon 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lamb would have been trading as a public house as early as the 12th Century. By 1870 it was already well established as a posting inn that supplied 300 post horses for coaches going to and from London and the West Country. To this day the building retains plenty of its original character and features including inglenook fireplaces, flag stone floors and heavy wooden beams. We have 18 beautiful boutique-style bedrooms as well as a traditional pub, dining room as well as a private dining or meeting room providing the perfect place for locals and visitors to enjoy all of the comforts and amenities expected from a larger hotel. With attractions such as The Lamb is a perfect base to explore the area, including attractions such as Old Wardour Castle, Salisbury Cathedral, Stonehenge and the glorious Wiltshire Country Side Whatever the occasion we're here to make your visit or stay one to remember! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lamb Hindon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lamb Hotel Hindon
The Lamb Hindon Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing