We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celestial charm at The Angel”
Review of Angel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Angel Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hindon B&B and Inns
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Celestial charm at The Angel”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We have visited this inn three times and on each occasion have been delighted with the quality of food, beverages and the excellent service . This is a quintessentially English pub and a great "local" for our recent month long stay n Semley just 10 minutes drive away. Such a lovely village with the Angel at its heart .

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ruthiephillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    33
    11
    14
    7
See reviews for
19
64
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

found this pub by chance in a charming little village of Hindon. worth a stop over when in the area, lovely walks and all the houses well maintained and quite interesting. great room at the back of the pub, pleasant outlook and spacious -- good value. small bar and intimate dining area, with lovely open fire. we stayed here a while back and forgot to write but thought it worth a mention to drive off the beaten track into a bit of a time warp with lots of charm.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susie971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at this inn when it was the Grosvenor Arms. Back then it was a normal looking pub: swirly carpets and bad furniture BUT once through the bar and at the far end of the dining room, behind a glass wall was a eye watering vision - an all singing stainless steel state of the art kitchen with a state of the art young chef to match. The food was wonderful. It was a true gastro pub.
We stayed there then too. A very pleasant room with a four poster bed.
We had an altogether different experience this time. The young lady who seemed to do almost everything except the cooking was friendly and helpful but our room, switched without notice, from the quiet, larger one we had booked was right on the road, noisy and generally cheap looking with two out of five light bulbs not working. The bed was a decent size and comfortable....so was the bath, but unfortunately the whole room had been planned without much thought or care. The curtains were thin and let in far too much light from about 6 a.m. though we were already awake due to the traffic and tractors passing our window. Breakfast was badly presented too. I don't expect to pay that amount of money to have cheap boarding house style presentation of cereals and sad fruit bowl on a sad looking table in the corner. In fairness, our scrambled egg with smoked salmon was satisfactory, so was the coffee. Though all in all it was a very disappointing re-visit...though as a previous reviewer mentioned...that was not a conversation you would want to hold with the owner, who seemed like a chap with a fairly short fuse! Shame, the poor old inn now seems so unloved and it shows.

Room Tip: Not in the annex - far too noisy from the road outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiffyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria, australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This pub has it all. Located in a miniscule town near Stonehenge, it has rooms, bar and a pretty good looking dining room plus great staff, a great chef and a great landlord.

We booked over the phone (the website was not accepting Australians without a UK postcode) and got “Douggie” who booked us a room without fuss or bother. When we arrived he was actually prepared, friendly and charming and this continued throughout our stay. He introduced to others in the snug bar; he was in the background while we ate dinner; he fixed our problem with the heater in the bathroom; he was there checking that breakfast was ok and there to wish us safe journey when we left.

The food was good, and generous. The company at the bar was good, and generous. The breakfast offerings were good, and generous. The rooms were spacious, well fitted-out and generous. What more can you ask of a hotel and it’s landlord?

Most highly recommended for a stay in a real English inn in a real English village.

Room Tip: Don't use an internet sight, give the pub and ring and ask for a room that you have seen on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robinvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The sort of pub/ hotel we like. Laid back, fires lit, good bar and great food. Could be a bit picky about room details, but bed and bathroom were comfortable with views of the pretty village including a great little community shop opposite - so a little bit of wear and tear was not an issue. Breakfast was wonderful, keeping up the standard of all the food we had there. Will go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mzurisal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2013

A very big thank you to Debbie and her team for making my surprise 50th birthday party a magical evening. My husband planned the evening with Debbie and he booked all the rooms for our guests to stay over. It is a perfect location and venue. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Each room is individual.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SonicKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chard, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Could not have wished for a better send off for Mum (Dorothy), thanks for providing the ideal meeting place to greet old friends, food and hospitality excellent. As an ex- landlord of the Grosvenor it was like the perfect homecoming

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hindonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hindon
9.0 mi away
Travelodge Warminster
Travelodge Warminster
#2 of 3 in Warminster
567 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lamb
The Lamb
#1 of 2 in Hindon
337 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Riverbarn
The Riverbarn
#1 of 1 in Fonthill Bishop
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Compasses Inn
The Compasses Inn
#2 of 4 in Tisbury
206 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#1 of 1 in Chicklade
104 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hare Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel Inn

Property: Angel Inn
Address: High Street, Hindon SP3 6DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Hindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Angel Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant gastro pub, serving modern British cuisine with fine wines and ales offering comfortable, relaxed accommodation in the beautiful rural village of Hindon, Wiltshire. Serving possibly the best Sunday lunch in Wiltshire! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Angel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Inn Hindon, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing