We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Ploughmans!”
Review of The Lamb

The Lamb
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Hindon
Price range: $12 - $32
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Our fantastic team of chefs are taking the food at The Lamb to the next level. We offer beautifully cooked seasonal dishes throughout the day, including breakfast, lunch and dinner. With a menu full of freshly prepared works of art using some locally sourced produce you will not find a better offering in the area. Our produce is delivered daily, our fish comes from M & J seafood and our meat is sourced from around the UK from Solent butchers. The Lamb smoke their own fish, bake their own bread and make their own pasta. From delicious traditional British meals to a handful of dishes from different origins you are sure to find a dish to suit all tastes and appetite. Our delightfully lighter menu option in the bar area includes a sandwiches selection and boards during the day and home-made bar snacks with scrumptious scotch eggs and sausage rolls to have with a pint of Youngs or glass of wine. We serve food in our dining room and bar,we can accommodate whatever occasion you would like to share with us. Small social gatherings, business lunches or family feasts. But who needs an excuse to treat yourself, just drop by and simply enjoy a relaxing evening and let us make any day a special occasion. We have 2 private dining rooms The Meddling Pike which has its own bar and can seat up to 12 people and The Wylye Duck has its own private terrace and can accommodate up to 45 for a buffet and 30 people seated. Sunday's are something we like to shout about and our Sunday roasts are highly popular with locals and families. So please ensure you book in advance. We offer Children's meals including Sunday roasts the little ones can join in the Sunday fun.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Mrs S and I stopped en route to Stourhead and decided it looked OK. Quite dark inside but the menu was good and when we saw some other dishes being served we decided to stay.
Well worth it as the ploughmans lunch was excellent - yummy home-cooked ham and Wookey Hole cheese plus a slice of pork pie. Very tasty and set us up for the afternoon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank IanandGilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
There are newer reviews for The Lamb
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 112 of 166 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

Looked promising at the outside and we did also like the interior until they put us at the back of the restaurant , completely isolated. On top of that, the menu didn't reveal anything special and the food being served was as the menu announced : average , which is a pity. With this place, it could have been so much better.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GilsBerlaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here after a visit to the castle. Bank holiday Monday and a BBQ was in progress. The chef doing the BBQ was extremely polite and helpful. We decided to have the hamburgers and they were delicious. The staff were helpful and polite and we enjoyed sitting on the terrace watching the world go by. A bit pricey but isn't everywhere !!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Leah8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had heard that the lamb carries 1 star and the food is second to none albeit a little expensive, but we dont mind paying if it's good? our experience was that this was no better than a "Rough Pub" service was apauling, the food was overcooked and cold, our complaints did little to change anything and the staff seemed completely uninterested!

considering the bill was over £100 for the 2 of us excluding wine it ruined our whole experience, I have since written to the owners and received a full refund.

Avoid this place if you want to experience quality food and service!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dave1959hindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLambInnHindon, Operations Director at The Lamb, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Guest from Hindon,
I did message you personally to understand more from your visit as we are unable to find a recent bill that relates to a spend of over £100 for 2 excluding wine - which is extremely difficult to do. We have not received correspondence relating to any such complaint nor has any full refund been given. We are also unable to quantify what star the Lamb is supposed to carry.
We are very baffled by this review so are unable to offer any explanation or apology.

We are however, very pleased to announce that The Lamb not only has a new & exciting menu - it is also under new Management & the guest experience of late, from feedback given has been excellent to say the least

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

the food was excellent the roast beef was cooked to perfection melted in the mouth but the service was disorganised other that I would certainly return for the excellent food that was served

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Shirley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lamb also viewed

Hindon, Wiltshire
Tisbury, Wiltshire
 
Fonthill Bishop, Wiltshire
East Knoyle, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Lamb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing