We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value lunch”
Review of Grey’s Brasserie

Grey’s Brasserie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $36 - $71
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A vibrant brasserie, serving wholesome classics using the finest ingredients. Open 7 days a week and great Sunday Roasts too.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
306 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Great value lunch”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We visited on a Saturday lunchtime with friends. Whatley Manor is a beautiful building with superb interior decoration. We were shown to the spacious lounge for pre lunch drinks (Prosecco) while we waited for our friends, a lovely place to sit. There were 2 menus to chose from. a la carte and a set lunch giving a choice of 2 starters, 2 mains and 2 sweets all which appear on the a la carte. The lunch menu is excellent value and 3 of us ordered from it while the other ordered from the a la carte. We chose a bottle of Albarino to accompany the meal which was excellent. Service was friendly and efficient and the food was superb. We finished with coffees back in the lounge. We were not rushed in any way spending about 3 hours over lunch in total. Like the rest of the facilities the toilets are exceptional. We shall return in the near future.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whatley_Manor, Manager at Grey’s Brasserie, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Linda D,
We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed lunch in ‘Le Mazot’ on Saturday. It’s great to hear your feedback on the menu, food and the service. I am glad you had the time to enjoy a coffee in the Drawing Room after lunch and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards Gurval Durand, general manager and the Whatley Manor team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    41
    23
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Swiss escape in Wiltshire”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We are regular visitors to this restaurant, it's great for a lazy lunch on the weekend. Good value for the quality of food, the ambiance is lovely and coffee/tea in the lounge of Whatley Manor after the meal is the perfect finish

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Weekender1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whatley_Manor, Manager at Grey’s Brasserie, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Weekender 1000, We are glad that you enjoyed the Le Mazot brasserie. Great recommendation too! Thank you. Hope to see you return again soon. Kind regards Gurval Durand, general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Simply excellent”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Very nice surprise.
Excellent soufflé and fondue followed by Coq au vin
Staff are enthusiastic about the standards they set which is gratifying

Excellent value for money

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancisD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whatley_Manor, Manager at Grey’s Brasserie, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear FrancisD_11,
We are so pleased you enjoyed the food and service in 'Le Mazot' brasserie. The team will be pleased to read your feedback. We hope that you will return in the not-to-distant future. Kind regards Gurval Durand, general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

A perfect meal from start to finish. Very friendly staff. Not over priced. Calm, modern decor. A real treat. Perfect for a special occasion. Would love to return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jackmurphy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whatley_Manor, Manager at Grey’s Brasserie, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear jackmuprhy3,
Thank you for giving us your feedback on Trip Advisor. I am pleased that you enjoyed your meal in Le Mazot and had a relaxing time. We are looking forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards Gurval Durand, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The definition of perfect”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Been to Whatley Manor several times and every time has been thoroughly enjoyable, food is delicious, service is wonderful and the venue is just perfect. It's the sort of place that you could spend all day at (which you are most welcome to do so)

If you go there, make sure to look round the gardens as well (if the weathers nice) and take a good look around the property.

Personally I feel as if though the pricing is just right, you get what you pay for and here you certainly get a lot.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whatley_Manor, Admin_Whatley Manor at Grey’s Brasserie, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear George W,
It’s great to see you return and also enjoy the 'Whatley Manor' experience every time. Thank you for recommending Le Mazot. Kind Regards Gurval Durand, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grey’s Brasserie also viewed

 
Malmesbury, Cotswolds
Malmesbury, Cotswolds
 

Been to Grey’s Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing