We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is how customer service should be.”
Review of George and Dragon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
George and Dragon
Ranked #6 of 20 Devizes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This is how customer service should be.”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We like to travel and visit various parts of the country. This was one of the best we have come across. From the initial welcome, to the lovely room, the staff could not do enough for you. This place felt like home! All of the staff seem to love what they do and really do want you to have a good time. They succeeded!

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 3 are ensuite. Room 2 is not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayneK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    35
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
76
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Having stayed at the George and Dragon several times, I'm pleased to say I've no negative things to report. The hospitality is fantastic and the food superb. Nothing too much trouble, and great value. It's worth a visit for the breakfasts alone and the homemade preserves to die for. All the meals we have eaten have been superb, and chef Chippy is accommodating with substitutions. The menu is mainly fish based, with daily changing specials, last night was oysters, tuna, crab, sea bream, lemon sole and moules, which I had. Huge tasty portion. Husband had rare roast beef salad to start and pronounced it delicious. Mains were rib eye steak and pork belly, a personal favourite and cooked to perfection. Mustard mash was substituted for garlic mash with no fuss. Wine list small but good and reasonably priced. Too full for desert, but sounded lovely.

All in all a fabulous find and can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kinkidevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2012

To be completely honest I never normally bother reviewing places; however. What a lovely place, had the most fantastic welcome, was offered a beer even though the pub isn't open yet, brought up to my room with a free bag of nuts (there's other freebies outside the room too).

Introduced to Chippy who simply couldn't help enough. I know the rest of my stay will be fantastic just on this impression alone, as that really says it all.

The room is also lovely nice bed, good facilities lovely roll top bath. With brekkie included in the price. This really is superb value and a quality establishment.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Honestly - I travel around very much and this is by far the finest accommodation in the area - you get a real sense of real hospitality - the owners enjoy what they do, are not pushy and cook like (?Are) professional chefs. Could not rate it highly enough - seriously!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Lovely stay. Comfy bed, lots of "help yourself" goodies in fridge, loads of character and atmosphere. Breakfast was very generous and lazy Sunday-ish. Staff really kind andfriendly.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonG1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pointe Noire, Republic of the Congo
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

This is a brilliant little inn just outside Devizes in the small village of Rowde. There are only three rooms, but the one we had, Room 3 with its uneven but fun floors and lead-paned windows, captured perfectly the essence of the history of this remarkable 14th-16th century building. From the outside, clearly the G&D is not going to win Wiltshire's most 'picturesque pub' award with only a small beer garden and a roadside location, but inside is gem of an old inn stuffed with original features and with an outstanding restaurant thrown in for good measure. The theme of the restaurant is most definitely fishy, with fresh deliveries from Cornwall daily - salt and chilli squid, skate wing with capers and whiting with chips were all excellent, but the full-on kipper and poached egg in the morning was sensational. Fresh fluffy croissants left us feeling well set up for a day of hiking across the Wiltshire downs - the inn is really well placed to get to all Wiltshire's killer archeological sites (Stonehenge, Avebury) too.
Our bedroom with all its quirks was a delight, though a bath in the room may not be to everyone's taste. This is not by any means a temple of modern, Swedish, smooth lines - rather the furniture and fittings had seen a little wear, but we like it that way and were perfectly happy. Coffee, tea and munchies were available in the upper landing together with a stack of DVDs, but we preferred to spend our time enjoying the stellar meals and finishing off with port and whiskey. This is not the cheapest inn in the book, but we didn't care - we can get plastic and sterile anywhere for less money. What we recieved is what we are looking for: a cosy venue with excellent food and service and a place to kick back and relax and sup on some real ale - thanks guys! We will be back!

Room Tip: Enjoy Room 3 with the bed on blocks to keep it level - a treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickDLuanda_Angola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Had a short break and decided to go to Bath but hotels there are pricey for what you get, so we booked the George and Dragon. It describes itself as a restaurant with rooms which sums it up very well.

There are only 3 three rooms, one has full en-suite, one has a roll-top bath in the bedroom with en-suite toilet, and the other has a shower room across the landing ( labelled as private facilities).

We paid £55 for the room per night with continental breakfast.

The building was a pub of great age and it has been changed to provide all modern facilities keeping as much of the original character as possible. Walls and floors up stairs are hickaldy-pickaldy. Hot water in abundance.

Our room, with private facilities, was of a good size, clean, with fresh white sheets on the comfortable bed. Dressing gowns were provided to get across the landing! Radiator, TV, radio, hair-dryer and on the landing a fridge / mini-bar and tea and coffee making kit. Bedding changed after night two, towels changed on request.

Continental breakfast consisted of good quality orange juice, yogurt with honey and jam, croissants, toast, tasty jam and marmalade, tea and coffee. They will do cooked items but these are at extra cost.

The restaurant specialises in fish, there are several menus, a set menu at fixed price, a wide mainly fish menu and a specials menu. We had intend to eat there on the first night only, but ended up eating there all three nights. Grilled swordfish was divine, posh fish and chips from the set menu really nice and monk fish special was excellent. Some of the accompaniments were a little odd but overall we enjoyed what we got. Wine and bar drinks a little expensive but as we don't go mad not an issue for us.

Location is good, close to Devizes but out of the way, so quiet. Easy walk to Caen hill locks on the Kennet and Avon canal, went up and down the flight and had tea at the top, overall we covered 10 miles and got some great photos, you can do a lot less.

Summing up the G&D it's relaxed, food's good and overall reasonably priced. This could be a lot of places what makes the difference is the three owners all very professional at what they do and very friendly, will have a chat and a laugh and make suggestions about local attractions and about Bath, like where to Park and where to eat.

Room Tip: Read the description to get the one you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreyTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Devizes hotels
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Devizes Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#5 of 5 in Devizes
304 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Devizes
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Peppermill Hotel
The Peppermill Hotel
#2 of 5 in Devizes
77 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Bear Hotel Market Place
5.7 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#1 of 1 in Market Lavington
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George and Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George and Dragon

Property: George and Dragon
Address: High Street | Rowde, Devizes SN10 2PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Devizes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Devizes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — George and Dragon 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George & Dragon Rowde (near Devizes) specialises in seafood delivered daily from St Mawes. Our menu is complemented by a full a-la- carte menu offering meat and game dishes using locally sourced produce. A sixteenth century coaching inn, it combines modern day style with bundles of country character. Planning an event - our bespoke catering business, George Goes Out, will organise it for you. We look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your George and Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George And Dragon Hotel Devizes
George And Dragon Devizes, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing