We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average hotel run by a group of twenty somethings”
Review of The Black Swan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Black Swan
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Devizes
Sydney
Level Contributor
129 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Very average hotel run by a group of twenty somethings”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Not sure who owns or manages this place but the young receptionist also cooks breakfast, runs the pub quiz night and cleans the rooms! No one we met who worked there looked older than their mid-twenties! Whoever she was she really tried hard to make our stay as nice as possible but the fact is the rooms are expensive for what they are and the price doesn't include breakfast. We had ours in the cafe next door which doesn't open until 9. Our twin room was comfortable but the bathroom was tiny and needed a good scrub. We didn't eat here so can't comment on the food. Stay was satisfactory but really should have been better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yungkara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    75
    34
    38
    42
See reviews for
39
101
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Just back from a visit to Devizes and an overnight stay at The Black Swan, which has to be the worst hotel we have stayed at in recent times. The public areas are dull, dingy, and dirty. The room we booked and requested a quiet one was very small, tatty, and so noisy on the Saturday night, it was unbelievable. The en suite bathroom did not have anything going for it and must be an urgent case for total refurb and refit of everything including the flooring! When the wash basin was filled you had to be quick to wash otherwise the water was gone!
It may be an idea for the staff to report bulbs not working, cables hanging off the walls. net curtains 18ins too short, sash windows broken and filthy in the bedroom.
Breakfast was just ok but the tables, gosh a damp cloth would be helpful.
We will be returing to Devizes but will be staying elsewhere.
Never ever again at the Black Swan.

Room Tip: Choose another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank johnluketilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Devizes hotels

Yorkshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

went here one night whilst on holiday in narrowboat going along the Kennet and Avon Canal for an evening meal.
The food was poor, the pork chop was still bloody, the medium steak incinerated and the staff badly informed.
When we complained the staff said that the cook said it had left the kitchen alright and there was no apology nor any deduction in the bill.
Will not go here again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gardener andrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Room was clean and simply furnished, bed was large and comfortable. We stayed a Saturday night in Room 1 which faced out onto the street and the noise throughout the night was terrible. Hotel's secure car park was locked when we arrived back at the hotel (around midnight) so we had to park on the street. Continually woken up throughout the night as pubs / clubs closed and there was screaming and chatter right outside the hotel due to people waiting around a bus stop and kebab shop on opposite side of road. Very loud noise until at least 3.45am when finally everyone seemed to go home! Street cleaners then came in the early hours in their vehicles, meaning more noise. Given the broken sleep, didn't manage to get down to breakfast until 9.50am, at which point we were told it was too late to have any food. I wouldn't recommend, unless you have some very good ear plugs.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte_e123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

What a miserable bunch the staff team are; however the icing on the cake was that the whole place, including access to the secure car park, shuts down at 23:00, so no chance of a late night drink on our return from a wedding shortly before midnight, nor of parkIng up safely. As for the room, we had asked for an extra bed to accommodate our son, this was placed in our room leaving insufficient space to swing a cat and any trips to the bathroom at night involved something of an obstacle course.
A shame really as the location and the building itself are both great and with a little more thought and consideration for the needs of guests this could easily be a top class hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LondonDaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights so we could go and see Stonehenge. From the moment we walked in to when we left all the staff we're helpful and friendly. The stairs were a bit challenging, but our bag was brought up for us and taken down for us when we left. It is an Old Coaching house and so we expected it to be quirky it all adds to the character of the place. The food was good and my husband's full English Breakfast was the best he's ever had, it hadn't been stuck under lights for any length of time as we could hear it being cooked in the kitchen.We had plenty of brown bread toast and coffee.The room was very clean and the bed was king size at least. The bathroom was small but not the smallest we have been in, but it could do with a coat of paint. Apart from that we thought it was brill and if we ever were in that area again we would stay there no probs. Thank you all at the Black Swan for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fleur96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Recently stayed here for two nights on a business trip.From the time of my arrival the staff were pleasant, helpful and well presented.
The food was of an excellent standard, the beer well kept and a good selection of drinks.
The rooms were clean comfortable and quiet, although the acces stairs were a little on the narrow side, but, it is an old building
Overall, an excellent place to stay whether on business or for a short break

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sulan05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Devizes
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Devizes Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Devizes
243 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bear Hotel Market Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Peppermill Hotel
The Peppermill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Devizes
72 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Lansdowne Hotel
The Lansdowne Hotel
#4 of 4 in Calne
265 reviews
5.7 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Calne
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Swan

Property: The Black Swan
Address: 25-26 Market Place, Devizes SN10 1JQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Devizes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Devizes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Black Swan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Swan Hotel in Devizes is an eighteenth century coaching inn and is a popular pub with 12 letting rooms. The ground floor, first floor function room and many of the rooms are decorated with antiques, most which are for sale. The candle lit large bar area has three open fires to provide a warm welcome. There is usually live music every Friday and/or Saturday night. The team of young, enthusiastic chefs provide breakfast, lunch and evening meals (except Sunday evening) The menu changes daily and all meals are cooked fresh in our kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Black Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Swan Hotel Devizes
Black Swan Devizes
Black Swan Hotel Devizes
The Black Swan Devizes, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing