We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bear Hotel Market Place
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Devizes
Certificate of Excellence
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed here with work and was very impressed by the helpful staff. The room I had was of a very high standard, the free TV movies were a rare treat and the food in the restaurant was very good indeed.
All in all a very comfortable stay.

Helpful?
Thank bobku
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    167
    42
    20
    15
See reviews for
59
191
22
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is a first class hotel situated in a rural town in south west England, a good starting off point for sightseeing. The hotel seems to be the hub of the town's social scene, a great atmosphere with something happening most of the time. There are various restaurants and bars that always seem to be busy, a lovely coal fire in the coffee bar gives a warm cosy feeling and generates a feel good factor. I especially liked the entrance with some fine decorations and quality furnishings, the lounge is beautifully decorated.
Unfortunately I couldn't get a double room as they were full, so I stayed in a single which was very nice considering. I did look at the double and king bedrooms and they were very upmarket.
Lovely thick towels in the bathroom, big tv in the bedroom with free movie channels and all the usual facilities.
Breakfast was brilliant, served beautifully with a great choice, I ate dinner in the bar and that was very nice too, the main restaurant's choice of menu was bit too fancy for me.
All in all a superb hotel well worth staying in.

Room Tip: Ask for a double or king
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikelevy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I recently attended my niece's wedding reception at The Bear Hotel. It was absolutely splendid and I can't recommend it enough. The staff were courteous and friendly and the food was marvellous. The function room was beautiful with many character features and high ceiling. There is everything you need in The Bear and you wouldn't be disappointed to arrange a special occasion there. I have spent many a Sunday afternoon there with my sister-in-law for one of their afternoon teas which is a delight (especially the fresh scone, jam and cream!). I always look forward to going. It's situated right in the town square so the local shops would be near to look round if you were staying for a night or two and parking is plentiful nearby if the hotel car park is full. A hotel with lots of character and friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank junerome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a corporate event, it was a lovely place and we all enjoyed our stay here however, the breakfast staff were quite unwelcoming! The breakfast food had the potential of being great but I asked for my eggs to be cooked well and they arrived runny and almost raw (which is a shame as I'd have enjoyed it otherwise). Very nice security guard!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannahlev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Level Contributor
134 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night whilst on business. Bit disappointed to get a single bed (but it was booked for 1 so can't really complain!) very clean,nice shower and big tv with on demand movies. Food good and breakfast really great. Bed was fine , slept well. Was working just across the road so very covenient for me. Would definitely recommend

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank kevsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I was staying at the hotel on a work trip and was booked in to a single bedrooms was a colleague.
The room was clean and tidy however, the bed was one of the worst that I have slept in, when I asked my colleague, they too had a similar experience.

For such a nice hotel in a nice setting, it was a shame that this let them down, the bed felt very old and springy and did not meet the quality of a budget hotel bed.

Room Tip: Avoid the single bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murraydare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devizes
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

An old buliding right in the heart of Devizes. Great food with a steak house attached plus regular music nights in the cellar bar. Good standards and upmarket. Parking for guests at rear. An excellent place for buisness people and families alike.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pete r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Devizes
0.1 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Devizes
223 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#5 of 5 in Devizes
279 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Peppermill Hotel
The Peppermill Hotel
#2 of 5 in Devizes
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
676 reviews
5.7 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Calne
168 reviews
2.0 mi away
Blounts Court Farm
Blounts Court Farm
#3 of 22 in Devizes
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bear Hotel Market Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear Hotel Market Place

Property: The Bear Hotel Market Place
Address: The Market Place, Devizes SN10 1HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Devizes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Devizes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bear Hotel Market Place 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Bear Hotel in Devizes you will find open fires, Cosy bar areas, friendly staff, tasty food and beautiful rooms. We currently offer Bed & Breakfast as standard but also offer a Dinner Bed and Breakfast rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bear Hotel Market Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Hotel Devizes
The Bear Hotel Market Place Devizes, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing