We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Windy!

Bring a coat because its windy, it doesn't matter what time of year - its windy! I've been coming... read more

Reviewed May 13, 2018
935scott
,
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Roundswell Down

I walked up to Roundswell Hill as I have read about the battle and the Parliamentarians fleeing and... read more

Reviewed May 3, 2018
Teresa C
via mobile
Read all 49 reviews
  
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveler rating
32
16
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
16
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews english civil war stunning views wiltshire countryside car park battle downs walks byway dog miles land picnic information windy
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 49 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2017

The views are spectacular across Wiltshire from Oliver’s Castle. Tie a visit to here by exploring the battle site of Roundway Down where Royalist forces beat a larger Parlimentarian force decisively. It’s a good walking area over open grasslands and forest. Dog friendly and plenty of parking places (although no specific parking area).

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank U7319RVpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2017

I was here on a training exercise over the weekend. Only live about 25 minutes from this location but have never visited until now. Quite tricky to find. Your navigation skills will be tested. Best bring an OS map to find your way from the car park to the Fort.

The views are amazing being able to see for miles around in all directions. Perfect for a short or long walk. Don't forget your camera as you will be able to get some great scenic shots.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank mdjohnst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017

This just is a beautiful area to walk around and with a clear day you will surprised how far you can see out into the Wiltshire countryside. I often walk here and always find something to amaze me. The rolling hills are wonderful to see. Enjoy.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Timbythepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2017

This is such a beautiful hill to visit and chill out. Lovely views, very peaceful, and very accessible.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Rikjohnsonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2017

If you are riding your bike along the canal at Devises an absolute must is to pedal to the village of Roundway and from there up the steep hill to the top of the downs. Riding along the byway the white stony road it gave us a very good view of the whole battle field where in 1643 the Parliamentarians lost to the Royalists.
We are not permitted to ride over Oliver's Castle but we were able to lift the bikes over the gate, and walk them to see the fantastic views of Devises and where hundreds of Parliamentary horsemen rode over and down the steep hill to their deaths on that terrible day.
Although many things change over time, the layout of the land usually stays the same, and reading the information boards that are dotted about the area, it is easy to work out what happened in the battle.

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews