We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Always great when you return to find the house...”
West View House is in the centre of Devizes but is tucked away in a very quiet area.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
West View House is in the centre of Devizes but is tucked away in a very quiet area.
The garden is south facing and in the Summer benefits from  sun all day.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
100 reviews
West View House is in the centre of Devizes but is tucked away in a very quiet area.
The garden is south facing and in the Summer benefits from  sun all day.
The garden at West View House is a real sun trap.
A lovely bright room with a McCarron and Co kitchen and granite worktops. All appliances are Miele.
The kitchen is very well equipped with just about anything you will need.
The dining area seats 6-7 people comfortably.
The sitting room, which is south facing, so light and sunny has two comfy sofas and an armchair.
A beautifully light landing with a sofa. A pleasant place to read or just sit and look at the church
Bedroom 1, has a king size bed and plenty of storage. The view is to Devizes castle.
Bedroom 2. Another bright sunny room.
Bedroom 2 has both a king size and a single bed. Ideal for a couple or for children to share.
Bedroom 3, which is downstairs has a double bed.
The family bathroom.
There is also a shower room.
Aerial view of West View House.
Devizes Castle - Winter view from West View House.
View of St John's, Norman church from the landing.
View to St John's church from the garden. The church was built in the Norman era.
Sunset at West View House
Wadworth shire horses deliver beer to all the local pubs and hotels. A brewery tour is a must!!
Caen Hill locks; there are 26 of them! Take a boat trip on the canal!
The Kennet and Avon canal is a wonderful place to walk or cycle.
Bath on the river Avon
The beautiful city of Bath
Avebury, with it's neolithic stones is just a few miles away.
Part of the Avebury stone circle.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Devizes, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 100 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tony M
2 reviews
“Always great when you return to find the house better than you remember!”
Reviewed August 2, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Returned to this house for a family celebration and were able to entertain family with the great facilities on offer. Devizes is a very traditional market town with all the facilities you would expect with the added bonus of an excellent market on a Thursday.
West View house is a great base for either a quiet time wandering around Devizes or as a base for exploring Bath, Salisbury and all the ancient sites including Stonehenge and Avebury.
Try it - you will not be disappointed!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 2, 2017
Great to see you all again this year!
Thank you so much for taking the time to do a review and we are really pleased that the house was better than you remembered.
Look forward to seeing you again in 2018!
Have a very good year.
With best wishes
Sue and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jada A
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning, centrally located accommodation”
Reviewed July 27, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Excellent location - town centre and a plethora of fascinating tourist attractions all on the doorstep yet the house is quiet and private and was perfect for our family of 2 adults and 2 children during our stay in Devizes. The house itself has a beautiful garden to enjoy, is well appointed with high end appliances and stocked with everything we needed during our week long stay. Parking was available at the premises. Hosts Richard and Sue were amazing - from initial contact when we booked from Australia and during our stay when they provided loads of information and helpful local knowledge from where best to eat, sights to see and activities to enjoy (including for our small children) that made our visit to Devizes one of the highlights of our trip to Europe. Would definitely recommend staying here if you're looking for a perfect stay. We very much hope to visit again some day.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2017
So pleased to hear that you arrived home safely in Australia after a long and memorable trip.
It was lovely to meet you all and thank you so much for taking the time to do a review.
We look forward to perhaps seeing you all back here in Wiltshire sometime in the future. You'd be very welcome.
With best wishes
Sue and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panasonic...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“WESTVIEW HOUSE THE EXCEPTION TO THE RULE”
Reviewed July 13, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
3
people found this review helpful

If you think the cliché "You won't get any surprises in Devizes," is true, it's time to think again. My Sister Pat and my wife Jo booked a reservation at Westview House. From the word go, we were amazed at the sheer professionalism and good manners experienced throughout our one week stay. Upon arrival we were greeted with such an enormous welcome, after which we were given a tour of Westview House. Again we were knocked back by the decor and the amount of effort made by Sue and Richard to present such comfortable and pleasant facilities for all their clientele. Westview House is extremely well equipped to a very high standard.
Devizes is history in itself, not to mention the numerous historical locations in close proximity. Just to mention a few sites; Stonehenge, Avebury, Old Sarum, Salisbury Cathedral and The Museum in Devizes.
Then there are all the beautiful village's that are surrounded by rolling hills and all this in the beautiful Pewsey Vale of the White Horses. Westview House is just off St. John's Street, where you drive forward at the first bend into Castle Lane. You then turn left behind Westview House where parking facilities are more than ample.
The joy of Westview House is that it is situated on the periferal of the town centre, but, once there you would never believe you were in a town at all. Our Host's Sue and Richard Jackson said if there is any assistance or need, you only have to ask. There was a need they could not help us with, WE WANTED WESTVIEW HOUSE!!!
This is a very highly recomendable place to stay. Without reservation, we have given Westview House a Five Star rating. Westview House is situated in a very unique location Host's Sue and Richard Jackson will ensure your stay is a highly memorable experience and like us, you will want to return. Most certainly Westview House is an exception to the rule.
Michael O'Connell
Welling
Kent

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 15, 2017
Very many thanks for such a wonderful review!
We do try to keep the house up to date and comfortable for our guests and we were so pleased that you all enjoyed your stay so much.
It's lovely when we hear that we've achieved what we set out to do.
It was an absolute pleasure having you stay at West View House and we look forward to you making a return visit before too long.
Enjoy the rest of the summer.
With best wishes
Sue and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celtic_Sp...
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“More than home from home 😊”
Reviewed July 11, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

From the moment my family and I arrived here we felt immediately at home. Welcomed by Sue and Richard and made to feel that our stay was to be enjoyed to the fullest and reassured that they would help us with anything we may need from tourist advice to the much needed milk for that essential cup of tea after a long drive.

My son, daughter, her partner and their two children aged 8 and 3 and I were attending a family wedding in Devizes at the Town Hall which as it transpired was literally a minute's walk from the house..it was absolutely ideal! The town's shops and restaurants are all also a short walk away.

I fell in love with this elegant Georgian home and wished so much to have been able to stay longer than our 2 nights. The house is eclectically furnished which added to its charm and is kitted out with everything for that home from home appeal which so many other holiday homes I've been to have lacked.

To highlight some things to tempt you...the shower in upstairs room is brilliant...really had to drag myself out of there and the kitchen has everything you can think of in the cupboards and drawers and is very well configured..do talk to Richard about kitchens if you're in the market for a superb quality refit. The bedrooms upstairs are large, light and airy and the good sized lounge has various lamps for a more ambient light and 2 comfy sofas and an armchair. Free wifi is included too and I had a good phone signal. (O2)

In the entrance hall is a dresser complete with various board games, playing cards, chess and leaflets of attractions, notepads and pens.

I will most definitely return for a break in the future and to see Sue and Richard again too. We met as strangers and parted as friends. Enjoy

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2017
What a wonderful review! Thank you so much and for taking the time to include so much detail.
We try really hard to keep the house comfortable for our guests and are so pleased that you all enjoyed your stay. Being next door enables us to be available, without being intrusive if there is anything extra that people need.
It was lovely to meet you and we look forward to seeing you again in Devizes before too long.
Best wishes
Sue and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidholm...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful location, safe off road parking, modern spacious accomodation.”
Reviewed June 20, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We required accommodation within walking distance of pubs/restaurants/shops and all of these were 2 minutes walk away. The second "must" was a selection of quality golf course within 20 miles - we played a different course 7 days running.
The accommodation was modern and spacious with adequate off road parking.
Worth a visit just to enjoy the peace and quiet and to see the gardens.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 21, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to do a review.
It was lovely to meet you all and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Devizes.
If you would like to make a return visit we'd be very happy to hear from you.
Best wishes
Sue and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Journey28...
1 review
“Perfect house in the perfect location.”
Reviewed June 5, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We stayed in this house for 5 days for a family wedding and it was perfect. The house is very clean, has a very well equipped kitchen, lovely rooms and a fantastic shower! The roses outside the house were in full bloom so we also were surrounded by beautiful flowers and a heavenly scent. The owners are lovely and helpful. It is bang in the centre of Devizes but very quiet at night. Highly recommend it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 7, 2017
It was lovely to meet you all and we were pleased that the house worked so well for you.
Thankfully the weather was perfect for the wedding and you didn't have far to walk!
Thank you for your lovely review. We try hard to keep the house in good order for our guests.
If you would like to stay again any time in the future we'd be really happy to hear from you.
Have a great summer.
Best wishes
Sue and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happiness...
1 review
“Gorgeous, peaceful, spacious house”
Reviewed May 9, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

I stayed here with family for a long weekend in lovely Devizes. The house is just a short walk from cafes, shops and the rest of the little town, but it's quiet and peaceful and still feels remote. The owners were on hand for anything we needed, and the house itself is beautiful - cosy living room, well equipped kitchen, huge bedrooms and everything nicely decorated.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 10, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to do such a lovely review and so pleased that you and the family enjoyed your stay with us.
Hoping that your keys arrived back with you in good time. 'Fireman Sam' did put them on a car, just not the right car!
If you would like to stay again any time in the future to discover more of Wiltshire we'd be really happy to hear from you.
Best wishes to you all
Sue and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing