We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly recommended.”
West View House is in the centre of Devizes but is tucked away in a very quiet area.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
West View House is in the centre of Devizes but is tucked away in a very quiet area.
The garden is south facing and in the Summer benefits from  sun all day.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
100 reviews
West View House is in the centre of Devizes but is tucked away in a very quiet area.
The garden is south facing and in the Summer benefits from  sun all day.
The garden at West View House is a real sun trap.
A lovely bright room with a McCarron and Co kitchen and granite worktops. All appliances are Miele.
The kitchen is very well equipped with just about anything you will need.
The dining area seats 6-7 people comfortably.
The sitting room, which is south facing, so light and sunny has two comfy sofas and an armchair.
A beautifully light landing with a sofa. A pleasant place to read or just sit and look at the church
Bedroom 1, has a king size bed and plenty of storage. The view is to Devizes castle.
Bedroom 2. Another bright sunny room.
Bedroom 2 has both a king size and a single bed. Ideal for a couple or for children to share.
Bedroom 3, which is downstairs has a double bed.
The family bathroom.
There is also a shower room.
Aerial view of West View House.
Devizes Castle - Winter view from West View House.
View of St John's, Norman church from the landing.
View to St John's church from the garden. The church was built in the Norman era.
Sunset at West View House
Wadworth shire horses deliver beer to all the local pubs and hotels. A brewery tour is a must!!
Caen Hill locks; there are 26 of them! Take a boat trip on the canal!
The Kennet and Avon canal is a wonderful place to walk or cycle.
Bath on the river Avon
The beautiful city of Bath
Avebury, with it's neolithic stones is just a few miles away.
Part of the Avebury stone circle.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Devizes, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 100 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jhall7
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Highly recommended.”
Reviewed June 7, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

A wonderful place to stay. The house is immaculate, spacious and very high spec. The location was perfect, It was amazing to find such an idyllic quiet spot just off the main high street. We were lucky enough to stay during the Devizes food and Drink festival and everything we needed was just on the doorstep. The owners were incredibly welcoming and helpful. I would definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 7, 2014
Thankyou so much for your lovely review of West View House. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and if you would like to stay again any time in the future we'd be very happy to hear from you.

Best wishes - Richard & Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debmck72
Isle of Sheppey, United Kingdom
1 review
“lovely place to stay”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Visited Devizes as we were going to a family wedding and decided to book for the week.
Couldn't have booked a better place to stay. Beautiful house and everything there we could have needed for our stay. Sue and Richard are lovely owners and even provided a travel cot for our 12 week old baby.
The house is nice and close to the town but without the noise.
If we ever go to that part of the country again we will definitely book West View House!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: liked everthing
Liked least: the weather, but couldn't be helped
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 10, 2014
So pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at West View House and thankyou for your wonderful review. If you would like to stay again any time in the future we would be really happy to hear from you.

Best wishes - Richard and Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reginerd
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Spacious house in the centre of devizes”
Reviewed May 13, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Perfect location quiet yet in the middle of town. Lots of places to eat out but our favourite is the Crown.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 15, 2014
We were glad to hear that you all enjoyed your stay in Devizes and if you would like to make a return visit at any time we would be very happy to hear from you.

Best wishes - Richard & Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy G
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Weekend away”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This house is an absolute gem, hidden away in the middle of town, very comfortable and thoughtfully equipped for everything you may need! The kitchen area is beautiful with a lovely garden view for breakfast, and the garden is well kept and perfect for evening drinks outside (weather permitting).
We really enjoyed our stay here, in a spacious property that really makes you feel at home from the moment you walk up the drive. The property owners also make you feel very welcome and are happy to help with anything!
I'd recommend this property to anyone looking to explore the local area, or just looking for a lovely home to have a weekend away (like us).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 14, 2014
We are so glad that you all enjoyed your stay at West View House. We try hard to keep it up to date and comfortable for our guests. The good thing about being close by is that we can help when problems arise! If you would like to stay again in the future we'd love to hear from you.
With best wishes - Richard & Sue
PS. The beautiful flowers are still looking gorgeous!! Thankyou.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
batoutofh...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“fantastic house, highly recommended”
Reviewed April 29, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We are a family of 5 with children ranging in age from 16 to 8 yrs. We stayed here in April 2014 and used the house as our base for exploring the area. The house is well equipped and very clean with plenty of space for 3 children who don't want to be in the same room as Mum and
Dad. The owners are very friendly and introduced themselves as soon as we arrived, a minor problem with the toaster was fixed the same day.
There is a double bedroom and w.c. downstairs for anyone who has difficulty using the stairs, our teenager loved the large landing with sofa bed and spent most of his time there. I wouldnt recommend this house for small children though unless you are prepared to follow them round all the time!
There is an M&S Simply Food 10 minutes walk away as well as a Sainsburys and a Tesco so no need to bring anything with you for your stay. We ate out almost every night as Devizes has plenty of pubs and restaurants to try. The location is brilliant, within easy reach of Bath, Avebury, Stonehenge, Salisbury etc and we would love to stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Highly equipped kitchen
Liked least: Directions to the property a bit confusing, we went round the block twice!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 29, 2014
So pleased that you all enjoyed your stay and many thanks for your very positive review. If you would like to book again we'd be very happy to hear from you.

Best wishes - Richard & Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevins196...
London
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Top Quality”
Reviewed April 24, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Immaculate 3 bedroom cottage in a central location.
Very impressive kitchen though, of course, we ate out every night.
The danger is you may fall asleep on the very comfortable sofa's leaving the bedrooms and the equally comfortable beds unused.
Officially, 2 parking spaces for guests but ask nicely and I would have thought another could be catered for.
2 mins walk to the market square. 4 mins walk to Tesco Metro and Sainsbury's.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 25, 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review. So glad you enjoyed your stay and if you would like to make a return visit we would be very happy to hear from you.
Best wishes - Richard & Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 6, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely kitchen and location
Liked least: Sunday morning bell ringing in the church
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 8, 2014
Thankyou for giving West View House such a positive review. We try very hard to keep the house to a good standard and want our guests to feel totally at home during their stay. If you would like to stay with us again in the future we would be really happy to hear from you.
Best wishes - Richard and Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing