We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic country pub with log fires and excellent food”
Review of The Raven Inn

The Raven Inn
Ranked #9 of 80 Restaurants in Devizes
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Classic country pub with log fires and excellent food”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Squeezed us in on Valnetine's night when I hadn't thought we had a chance to go out, so hadn't booked! Excellent selection and quality of generally very locally sourced food. Sea fish can't be local in Wiltshire, but fresh daily, and owner chef should know, he is from Cornwall. Attentive and knowledgeable service, spotting when we were ready, between lively conversation, for the next course.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank QualityTraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    41
    12
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Very Good”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Having eaten at The Raven many times and never had an average meal (re:one or two reviews lately)my wife and i decided to try The Raven again last night we recieved a
Roaring fire
Great service
Great food
i guess you cant please all the people all of the time
ALAN AND SARA
(TWO FOODIES)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GLENN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Lavington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fair pub grub”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Took dinner on a wednesday, fairly quiet but not surprising given it was mid week in a rural village. Was shown to a table in a room off the bar. My food arrived promptly, although i did find my chicken lacked seasoning and was a rather dry. The meal and service was far better than food served at witherspoons pubs, however the reviews associated to the raven suggests its a gastro pub and worthy of consideration for a michelin star. Whilst it was nt bad, it certainly was nt Outsatnding.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We went here as a family group for a birthday and were very disappointed. The food was very average and the service too. I don't understand how it gets such good reviews. Expensive for what we had. We won't be going here again, there are plenty of better places in the area.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank moonraker07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Hit or Miss”
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Used the pub, based on Tripadvisor reviews on day out in Wiltshire. However, I would not make a diversion to return for a meal.

Comparing The Raven with the pubs we utilise in our part of Hampshire, we consider the pub a little below par, with regard to the food we enjoy locally and the cost of the meal was above par! The Sirloin steak at £17.50 was one of the worst steaks that I experienced in several years, but the rest of the meal was fine. My wife enjoyed a very good and tasty chicken breast in a tarragon cream sauce. However, the accompanying veg were over cooked.

The beer, Wadsworth 6X could have been fresher!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Raven Inn also viewed

Devizes, Wiltshire
Devizes, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Raven Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing