We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage in idyllic situation”
other travelers have booked this property
Large Garden with patio furniture and BBQ
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large Garden with patio furniture and BBQ
Large Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Large Garden with patio furniture and BBQ
Large Dining Room
Well equipped, spacious kitchen.
Beautiful countryside walks
Living Room: comfortable 3 piece suite with plenty of room for the sofa bed.
Children's books, toys and DVDs
Substantial brick built home
Ample off street parking
The famous Caen Hill flight of locks on the Kennet and Avon canal - only 5 minutes away.
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2 with large walk-in wardrobe
Bedroom 3
Bathroom 1
Bathroom 2 with full sized steel bath.
Relax with a glass of your favourite drink on the sunny patio
Fully equipped with everything you might need.
Halogen induction hob.
The impressive Tudor Porch House on Potterne High Street  (1 minute away)
Potterne Saxon Church
Traditional, thatched George and Dragon - Old English pub, 2 mins from cottage, serving great food
Wonderful ...
... Wiltshire ...
.... Walks
The Kennet and Avon Canal
The Old Market town of Devizes (home of the great Wadworth real ale brewery). Only 5 minutes away.
Devizes town centre
Devizes Market Square
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Devizes, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Heather W
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in idyllic situation”
Reviewed September 13, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We (four adults) stayed for a week in this comfortable property where nothing was too much trouble for the owner, Bruce. From the start of the booking to the moment of leaving, he was attentive and helpful without being intrusive, even waiting outside to help us park on arrival!
Beds very comfortable, two bathrooms made ablutions easy and a lovely kitchen/diner. TV, WiFi and i-pod doc were all appreciated, as were the home-made sponge cake, fresh flowers and wine provided -thank you to Bruce and his wife for such a warm welcome. The garden is pretty and well-tended although we were out too much to use it very much. Excellent location for NT houses and gardens, Salisbury, Devizes and much more.
Hope to return!

Date of stay: September 2016
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2016
Dear Heather, thank you so much for your review.
We loved having you to stay and are delighted that, as well as appreciating Cheyne Cottage itself, you enjoyed all the nearby wonders of Wiltshire too. I would be delighted to host you again in the future.
Best wishes, Bruce
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue B
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent comfortable cottage in lovely rural village”
Reviewed July 24, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Beautifully appointed cottage, everything you could want at your fingertips, very comfortable beds. Situated in a quiet spot but in a position which is ideal for visiting the area. The owner Bruce is very welcoming and attentive and a lovely sponge cake on arrival.

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No shower in second bathroom, only bath
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2016
Dear Sue, thank you for your lovely review and for being great guests. It was wonderful that the wedding in the village church all went off so brilliantly. I look forward to your next visit. Very best wishes, Bruce
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila L
1 review
“Family reunion”
Reviewed July 17, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We found Cheyne Cottae to be very comfortable and homely and would stay there again. The owner made us feel so welcome and on arrival we found a bottle of wine and a homemade cake which we all throughly enjoyed. We would have no hesitation in booking the cottage again for another family gathering.

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good quiet location, good parking and near the local pub and lovely garden.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2016
Sheila and Terry, thank you for your lovely review. You and your family group were an absolute pleasure to host. And you looked after Cheyne Cottage brilliantly. Thank you and very best wishes, Bruce
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther J
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great cottage for a group of friends”
Reviewed May 30, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I stayed with a group of 5 others who were attending a wedding in Devizes and we all really enjoyed our stay. Bruce was a fantastic host, ensured we were comfortable and was great at communicating with me before and during our stay. His wife also baked a delicious Victoria sponge for us which we all loved.

Date of stay: May 2016
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sessy w
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
Reviewed May 18, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Three adults, a teenager and baby stayed for two nights on arrival, we had fresh flowers, Homemade cake and bottle of red wine awaiting us. Everything was there to make our stay comfortable and the owner was very helpful. We would return if that was in the future.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen
Liked least: The beds
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 19, 2016
Thank you for your Review. And thank you for leaving Cheyne so beautifully. I hope you do book again. It would be a pleasure to host you again. Thanks, Bruce
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne C
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
“Beautiful cottage in picturesque village”
Reviewed January 16, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

As a group of 5 adults and one child attending a special family occasion, we spent 14 nights in Cheyne Cottage including Christmas. Our dealings with the owner prior to our arrival were always friendly, helpful and courteous and his responses to all our enquiries were very prompt. We were greeted on our arrival by Bruce and found the cottage perfectly set up for our stay with all the trimmings of Christmas, including fresh flowers and fruit, Christmas cake and wine! The three bedrooms, living and dining areas were roomy and comfortable and well set up. The kitchen and laundry facilities were excellent. Clear instructions on the operation of the TV, shower and all appliances were displayed throughout the house and made day to day management a breeze. The village had a gorgeous pub, the George and Dragon, which we frequented regularly for meals and a convenient small store nearby for our immediate needs. I would highly recommend this property to a small or large group of people.

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very comfortable and amenable to an extended stay for small or large group
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abiandy
1 review
“Perfect place to stay - you wont be disappointed!”
Reviewed October 31, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We cannot say enough positive things about Cheyne cottage. Before our trip the owner Bruce advised us about location, parking etc which was really helpful as we didn't know the area. The cottage is really well equipped and has everything you are likely to need.There were 6 of us in total and it didn't feel crowded at all, we were really comfortable. Everyone in our party agreed what a perfect place to stay this was, 5 stars all round from us! We hope to stay for longer next time. Many thanks to Bruce for making us feel so welcome and ensuring we were comfortable during our stay, 5 star host too!

Date of stay: October 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2015
Thanks so much for this review Abi, it was great having you and I look forward to your longer stay next time :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing