We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Accommodation.”
other travelers have booked this property
Large Garden with patio furniture and BBQ
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large Garden with patio furniture and BBQ
Large Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Large Garden with patio furniture and BBQ
Large Dining Room
Well equipped, spacious kitchen.
Beautiful countryside walks
Living Room: comfortable 3 piece suite with plenty of room for the sofa bed.
Children's books, toys and DVDs
Substantial brick built home
Ample off street parking
The famous Caen Hill flight of locks on the Kennet and Avon canal - only 5 minutes away.
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2 with large walk-in wardrobe
Bedroom 3
Bathroom 1
Bathroom 2 with full sized steel bath.
Relax with a glass of your favourite drink on the sunny patio
Fully equipped with everything you might need.
Halogen induction hob.
The impressive Tudor Porch House on Potterne High Street  (1 minute away)
Potterne Saxon Church
Traditional, thatched George and Dragon - Old English pub, 2 mins from cottage, serving great food
Wonderful ...
... Wiltshire ...
.... Walks
The Kennet and Avon Canal
The Old Market town of Devizes (home of the great Wadworth real ale brewery). Only 5 minutes away.
Devizes town centre
Devizes Market Square
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Devizes, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Alex E
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Accommodation.”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Our group was four adults and two young children,plenty of room, very clean cottage, had everything that you could want. The owner kept in touch and nothing was too much trouble.Would not hesitate to stay again. We arrived late at night and it took a bit to find but with the help of the local people we were pointed in the right direction. This is a cottage that has to be considered.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 20, 2013
Thank you Alex for your lovely review. You were lovely guests and would be welcome to return any time. Best wishes, Bruce
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franw45
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed May 1, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

On arrival at Cheyne Cottage I received a warm welcome from the owner, The cottage was spacious, warm and well equipped. Suitable for families, my grandchildren found games to amuse them and enjoyed the garden with racquets and balls supplied.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfortable and cosy
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne M
Clitheroe
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage”
Reviewed April 29, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Lovely, clean cottage containing everything you need and more besides!!! Couldn't fault the cottage or the help from Bruce, the owner. Stayed two nights to attend a family wedding at the church across the road, it was a great base. Would have liked more time to explore the beautiful area, will have to do that next time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, roomy excellent facilities.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Net61_12
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect base for visiting Wiltshire”
Reviewed April 29, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

I booked the cottage for us whilst working in Wiltshire. The cottage was very comfortable and ideally located. I would recommend the cottage for anyone wishing to vist the area.

Bruce is very helpful and very nice to do business with.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: As we were working we did not do any cooking so being able to walk to the local pub to eat was great
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin G
Cowes, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, welcome and quality, perfect for big family break.”
Reviewed November 21, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Spent a few days here with family drawn from two parts of England. Great way to get together, the property was comfortable, well appointed and equipped with a friendly welcome. Located in a nice village (only spoiled by the volume of traffic passing down the main road, but the cottage is tucked away nicely down a very quiet lane). Lots of walking potential from the cottage, and lots to do in the surrounding area. Would highly recommend .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality and space
Liked least: Tight drive to get two cars in.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly W
Poussanges, Limousin, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A cosy cottage in a beautiful village!”
Reviewed September 7, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful time! The owner is very nice and made sure we had no problems finding the house. A bottle of wine was waiting for us when we arrived!
The house is cosy and makes you feel at home. My children had games to play with, and the stairs were shut with a security gate for my youngest, and a cot was available as well. Everything was perfect!
The village is very nice and the locals were very welcoming.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beate h
Butjadingen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best holidays we have ever had !”
Reviewed August 21, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

When we arrived (2 adults + 6 children 9 to 18) we were overwhelmed by the cosy house and garden, the perfect equipment which exceeded all our expectations!
We found fresh milk in the fridge and a bottle of wine as a welcome, everything was well organised(!) and ready to use - from shuttlecocks to wireless LAN access.
We didn't miss anything at all, so Cheyne Cottage became our perfect, cosy 2nd-HOME for our 2 weeks' stay !
It was really hard to leave - we would love to come back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: very kind host, internet access, the 4 sqm blanket, garden with badminton net, washing machine
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing