We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try somewere else”

Wadworth Brewery Visitor Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.65*
and up
Wiltshire Cask Ale and Brewery Tour in Devizes
Ranked #2 of 26 things to do in Devizes
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1875, this independent family owned brewery is steeped in history, heritage & traditional skills, as well as a wide collection of carefully hand crafted ales. With an on-site Sample Bar, Brewery Shop & Visitor Centre, there's certainly much more to Wadworth - a visit to see our Shire Horses, who deliver our ales across town each week day, is highly recommended! The Visitor Centre is FREE admission, however fees apply to our guided tours. Scheduled tours are available daily at 11am & 2pm, catering for up to 50 people, prices start from £10pp. Brewery Tours include a visit to the main production areas, our on-site Sign Studio; where guests can gaze at our unique hand painted pub signs, followed by a visit to the Stables, finishing with a tutored beer sampling session. Our Visitor Centre & Brewery Shop is open each week day from 9am-5pm (except bank holidays), and is always well stocked with your favourite Wadworth ales and gifts.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Try somewere else”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The tour was made on a non working day
So we were looking at an empty pactory with no one working, no process is doen, no beer is brewed, nothing to see
at the end we went to see the local horses, there were just one left
Sprouting process of malting and roasting is not done in place and all can see only part of the process
Everything you see is the girl speakink and everything is theoretical
If you are interested in a brewery tour - look for another place

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RanV_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    52
    4
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
310 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“fantastic and great value for money”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Just returned from a delightful tour of the is traditional English brewery. Very interesting - funny and knowledgeable guide - we saw all the brewing process and then the sign writing sections for the Wadworth pubs - what works of art! The 3 shore horses were lovely and it was amazing to meet them. The tutored beer tasting was wonderful of course - a one third glass at time but as many as you can manage! Highly recommended! Only 8 50 each for us over 60s too!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank trescomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Out of the ordinary”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

There's a café a bar and a shop. The bar serves only beer in 1/3 pint only. no pints here. but it means you can have a sample of all 5 on tap. I stuck to two, and returned for a repeat the next day and was pleasantly surprised to be remembered. They charge £1 for a 1/3 so £3 for a pint but mum got a latte and a cake for £2.50 bargain!!

It the most relaxed and friendly place I've been to for ages. They serve 1/3 pints to not compete with the 10 wadworth pubs in the town, but if you need a sit down, with friendly people this gets my vote. Thanks for your service and advice.

PS there's a tourist rack with loads of differently themed walks . We didn't get to do any but its a stonkingly great idea and we'll be back to sample some tramping and the odd pint at the end!!







Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RunningReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A genuine attraction”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Took the 2 hour tour of Wadsworth Brewery and was really pleased we did. Designated parking area was really helpful as one of our party is elderly and this meant we did not have far to walk. We took the afternoon tour and arrived half an hour before time. Very friendly staff checked our booking (which was speedily and easily done on-line) and we decided to wait in the bar area of the Visitor's Centre. A couple of us had a coffee and a slice of delicious beer fruit cake and the other had a 1/3 pint of beer. A nice little taster of things to come. Lynn was our tour guide and was full of information and enthusiasm. The rest of the tour party gathered and off we went. The tour starts by going to the top of the brewery (quite a lot of stairs but we were not rushed and although a few floors up this was very accessible). The brewery is obviously very old and many of the original features were still to be seen and used in modern times. The tour was really informative and we were able to get close to see all the brewing stages. The tour also includes a short walk to the stables to see the shire horses, who were absolutely magnificent and we were also shown where the sign painting etc is carried out. All members of staff we met during the tour were more than happy to answer any questions and friendly. The tour ends up back in the bar at the Visitor's Centre. Here Lynn conducted our beer tasting (coffee was available for those that did not want to partake in the beer tasting). Five beers were given the taste test (certainly enough in each glass, not just a sip which was great). Lynn went through each beer giving the history of each one, how it was named etc. All in all a really great way to spend a couple of hours. Then cost was £10.00 each, £8.00 for concessions - so not expensive either. I would thoroughly recommend this tour.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank calnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well worth a visit !”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Yesterday i did the Wadworths tour with 2 men i support from Rowde.
We were given a very interesting and specially adapted tour of Wadworths by Lynn who had a great deal of knowlege and was very caring towards the men in my care.
We were made to feel extremley welcome and nothing was too much trouble.
We were able to see Max the beautiful shire horse after his busy round and we all enjoyed seeing him. David the fantastic sign painter was very interesting to watch and once again very kind to us. We finished the tour with a tasting session of the famous 6x etc and a great time was had by all. Thank you so much for a great experience and a special thanks to Lynn who was a real star . Alison Morgan.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank alisonmorgan341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wadworth Brewery Visitor Centre also viewed

 

Been to Wadworth Brewery Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing