We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quirky, English eccentricity!”

Court Hill Farm Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Devizes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Court Hill Farm Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 20 Devizes B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very quirky, English eccentricity!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Robin and Sarah are very friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The house is a very eccentric in a (stereo?)typical English fashion, our European guests thought they had stumbled into a scene from an English film. The views from the garden are beautiful and the house is full of interesting artifacts. This is most certainly a family home first, so bear this in mind when thinking about the types of places you like to stay as you'll be sharing the house with the dogs and breakfast around the family table.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londoner1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
12
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

just got back from a great night, wonderful welcome even though we called at the last moment. the house has some wonderful features and a lot of history. we will be back for the breakfast and good stories. they also gave us a good recommendation for a local pub called the Lamb.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank connieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed two night in august with Robin and Sarah and were treated to a great experience. This was not just any old B&B much, much more, This old house was full of memorabilia and artefacts from all over the world. We joined them for an evening meal on the second night, sitting outside in the warm balmy evening air, conversing with them as we would with old friends! Fantastic welcome and treatment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Spring, North Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed for a week. No complaints. Robin and Sarah are awesome! Always courteous and funny. Excellent full English breakfasts. Beautiful site, clean rooms, everything in order! Totally great! Well done!

Room Tip: We only stayed in one room, so we have little to say about the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianCrissey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Robin and Sarah could not have been more hospitable. They helped us with some guidance on local attractions which was appreciated. Enjoyed Robin's anecdotes on his military exploits. As a dog lover, I enjoyed my banter with the dogs, Pickles, Puzzle and Westy.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lofty3548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
130 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just got back following a one night stay in this fabulous B&B just south of Devises. To save you time, I'll start with the reasons why some people reading this may not be interested.

If you really don't like dogs, don't go. The owners, Robin and Sarah, have their own dogs and also look after dogs during the day for friends and guests (they were looking after a lovely little dog for the day for B&B guests while they visited Salisbury). If you like dogs or are not bothered, please see below under "Reasons to stay".

It you want a room with all mod cons (TV, full en suite with jacuzzi), perhaps because you're on business and just want to watch telly and crash, this may not be the place for you. This is a traditional B&B in a listed building (centuries old). But unless that has really put you off, read on.

Reasons to stay

Robin and Sarah are fabulous hosts. Some B&Bs are just places to stay. Others offer a chance to meet and get to know wonderful people like Robin and Sarah. You won't want to spend time in your room when you can chat with them in one of the rooms in this fantastic old house.

The place just oozes charm and is centuries old - some bits older than others. Our room dated from the 1400s (I think) and must be the oldest room I've slept in since I was a kid and visited my great uncle and aunt.

Back to the dogs. If you like dogs (as I do) or are perhaps ambivalent, the dogs are an additional reason to stay here. Well behaved and adorable is how I'd sum it up. They add to the unbeatable family atmosphere - you're not treated as paying guests but as friends.

My last reason to stay is perhaps a bit biased. I like staying in a Bed and Breakfast - I like to get a nice full English (if in England). Some B&Bs these days are more like B&bs or perhaps even B&(b)s. Breakfast here was simply delicious - the best I've had for a long time, using local produce and cooked in the stove - no eggs swimming in grease here!

I've stayed in many B&Bs over the years and enjoyed many of them. Visiting Court Hill Farm raises the bar.

We were in the area to visit friends who are "doing up" a house in Devises, so we hope to visit again soon. But once their house is finished do we stay with them or at Court Hill Farm? It will be a difficult choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

It wasn't just a B&B, it was an extension of a home but with a gorgeous country view. Robin and Sarah are the heart and soul of this operation flanked by several dogs that are just as welcoming as they are (if you love dogs like we do, then you will be in heaven). So what did we love about our experience (where do I start)? The good humour was definitely #1 followed by great conversation (what a life they have lead), Robin walked our dog for us while us lazy owners slept, their hospitality, the smell of wood burning stove, after dinner drinks, books books and more books about the area, happy cuddly dogs, wonderful breakfast and having our hosts join us (Sarah, I think you have scrambled eggs down to a science!). Thank you for the lovely stay and, Robin...good luck on your next military book.

Room Tip: Great location, accepts dogs, good breakfast, wonderful hosts, great atmosphere
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank durangoColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Devizes hotels
0.7 mi away
The Peppermill Hotel
The Peppermill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Devizes
71 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Devizes Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Bear Hotel Market Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#5 of 5 in Devizes
291 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Devizes
240 reviews
1.3 mi away
Blounts Court Farm
Blounts Court Farm
#3 of 20 in Devizes
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Court Hill Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Court Hill Farm Bed & Breakfast

Property: Court Hill Farm Bed & Breakfast
Address: Potterne, Devizes SN10 5PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Devizes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Devizes
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Court Hill Farm Bed & Breakfast Devizes, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing