We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rectory Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$92
$83
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Bell Hotel(Malmesbury)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Snooty Fox Hotel(Tetbury)(Great Value!)
$113
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ormond at Tetbury(Tetbury)(Great Value!)
$150
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Priory Inn(Tetbury)(Great Value!)
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$180
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Calcot Manor(Calcot)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kings Head Hotel(Cirencester)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveler rating
135
50
31
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
135
50
31
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspotting shedroberts radiosister pubexclusive usecountry houselovely hotelperfect weekendbreakfast and dinnerlocal publarge roomwell worth a visithonesty bara lovely stayweddingbathcotswoldsskirting
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
217 - 222 of 228 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2007

I read a great review about this hotel before I booked it but on the whole, it was disappointing. It sells itself as a boutique hotel and a rival to the wonderful Babbington House. Babbington has nothing to fear. The staff were cold and frosty (no one except for the waitresses seemed to smile) and not that keen to help. One day having missed lunch we aksed if we could have some tea and sandwiches but were told we couldnt as the chef was away. I thought this was a hotel??!
The room was ok - no other word for it really - just ok. The bar was pleasant but lacked atmosphere and the hotel itself was surrounded by scaffolding and the windows were filthy. The food was good but so overpriced. It was just such a let down. It had a lot of potential but the extra gestures such as turning down the bed for the evening, having tea and coffee available throughout the day, being greeted in the morning and evening would have made such a difference. Given the tariffs this place needs to pull its socks up if it wants guests to ever return. I wont be.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank UkQuinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2007

We went here for a birthday celebration a few weeks ago. I had only read good reviews and it does not disappoint. The Rectory has been wonderfully renovated and mixes old and contemporary very well. We had a luxury room that was so big and pretty and great value at £ 150. Other Cotswold Hotels charge a lot more than this and are not nearly as nice. The staff are young and very friendly and relaxed and you feel totally at ease. The small bar area is delightful and the restaurant food was good. Breakfast was delicious and included in the price. I cannot wait to return - probably in the Summer as they have a lovely pool. The grounds are also beautiful.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Murph069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2007

Stayed at The Rectory for a weekend away - had a wonderful time. Gorgeous spacious room with a brand new bathroom. Then entrance hall is lovely and relaxing, great little bar area too. Good mixture of old and new in terms of furniture and design. Not everything brand new however so its not for you if you like the "corporate/shiny new" look on everything - its more like staying in the nicest spare bedroom of a posh English couple - different books on the mantelpiece and a mix of pictures on the walls - rather than everything matching or being in one particular style - but this is not a criticism at all - it adds to the charm of the place. Staff great, friendly and helpful. Been back since for Sunday lunch.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank MrsKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2007

We stayed at the Rectory for a mid-week break to celebrate my partner's birthday. We were looking, as always, for something a bit different but still good quality and stylish - and the Rectory is all of those things.

It feels like you're staying at a friend's country mansion as you sweep up the gravel drive and pop your head round the front door. Check in is fuss free (I don't think they even took my credit card) and there are just racks and racks of papers and lifestyle magazines in the downstairs lounges to borrow.

Our bedroom overlooked the gardens and although a little shabby chic, the bed and plumpy feather pillows, duvet and crisp white sheets meant we stayed in it for most of the break - taking advantage of those magazines and the DVD library.

But the most loveliest thing was the food. It was a shame that more guests didn't seem to use the restaurant as we were on our own most mornings and evenings, but I guess it was midweek. The food is stunning - yummy cooked breakfasts and fantastic evening meals - we didn't even bother trying anywhere else...just stumbled up to bed with stuffed tummies!

This place would be lovely for a Summer wedding or booking out for a special occasion. I'd love to return in the Summer and try the outdoor swimming pool.

We found the rates and food prices to be very reasonable after checking out what some of the favourite Cotswolds hotels like Cotswolds House Hotel charge (£250+). We booked through laterooms and got a really good deal and although it doesn't have a spa or anything like that I thought it was charming and the service excellent.

And one last thing...location is really good...easy access from the M4 (but feels like you're miles from anywhere) which means it's good for weekend get aways.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Desparately_seeking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2006

Wonderful place - charming staff, stylish decor (without being pretentious), fabulous beds & linen, lovely views over the gardens and delicious organic food. Can't fault the place, the food or the people. We've booked our wedding reception there - what more can we say?!

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tilly77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews