We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful night, fantastic food and very helpful staff”
Review of Rectory Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crudwell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rectory Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Crudwell B&B and Inns
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful night, fantastic food and very helpful staff”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The hotel is delightful and interestingly furnished with good taste. We enjoyed an evening meal and a nights bed and breakfast through a special deal, Living Social. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, the meal and the breakfast the next morning was excellent. The only drawback was the coffee/tea making facilities were in a communal area outside our room, for us and others to use. We were worried that we might be woken up early by other people chinking cups outside our room in the morning, but as the hotel was quite quiet ( it was a Sunday night) this was not the case. Apart from this , we had a very enjoyable stay and enjoyed the Cotswold Water park which is nearby, the next day

Room Tip: We stayed in Crickley as we had asked for a quiet room . It doesnt look out over the church
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoppingFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    49
    31
    7
    4
See reviews for
39
127
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grosmont, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
511 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Bizarrely, we were there both in the hotel and the restaurant as the only guests, so service was very attentive, but not intrusive. It was a little difficult to exactly locate, even with satnav, so maybe others just were lost!

It was a mid-week night, so it was such a shame that they were drawing blanks, particularly when special offers are available.

The room was very comfortable indeed, and was spacious and had great amenities.

The lounge was a treat on a cold night with a log fire.

The food was very good indeed at breakfast.

Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cwyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRectoryHotel, General Manager at Rectory Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you very much for a lovely review. I am so glad you had a lovely time even though you caught us on a quite day.

I am glad that you enjoyed the log fire, You must try us again in the summer when the pool is open and enjoy some Pimms in the sun!

Kind regards
Jenna Tomblin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Nice old rectory in a nice location. We were in the Pennsylvania room, which was spacious and pleasant and quiet, but there was a bit of a cobweb on the high ceiling. Dinner and breakfast were both excellent. Staff were charming, young and keen, but inexperience showed now and again. Excellent value with the inclusive DB&B special offer.

Room Tip: On the DB&B offer, you get the best available room - Pennsylvania was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alc59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRectoryHotel, General Manager at Rectory Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and have passed on your comments regarding breakfast and dinner to a very pleased Chef!

Keep an eye on our website as we run our Special Dinner, Bed and Breakfast offers monthly.

I hope to welcome you to The Rectory again in the future.

Kind regards
Jenna Tomblin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The positives: Beautiful building, nice grounds with landscaped garden, central location for browsing the Cotswold, good in-house bar and good quaility breakfast.

The negatives: We stayed at the Leckhamopton for one night. The room is in fact huge, comfortable and with beautiful views; however it's on top of the kitchen! Meaning that you go to bed with whatever was cooked for dinner and wake up at 7am with bacon and eggs smell.

We had dinner at the Potting Shed (across the road) and whilst the food was good, service was slightly on the amateur side.

Would return to restaurant if passing by, but not to the Rectory.

Room Tip: do not choose the "better" room, it's on top of the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dicamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRectoryHotel, General Manager at Rectory Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Dicamos,

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you thought the building, gardens, location, breakfast, and bar were all great and also that you thought your room was comfortable and large.

I am sorry that you thought you could smell food, however, I must point out that Leckhampton is not over the kitchen at all. And often people love to wake up to the delicious local Cotswold bacon sizzling away. It is such a shame that you would not come back as we have eleven other great bedrooms that you could try.

Kindest regards
Jenna Tomblin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esher
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

A very charming small hotel set in beautiful gardens. Our room was very comfortable and spacious. A very welcoming open fire in the very cosy living room was much appreciated. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a very nice lunch in the Potting Shed (the pub across the road, owned by the hotel)and therefore didn't want too much to eat in the evening. We could order anything we wanted, just starters or a small dinner or just a sandwich. They even got us the same wine from the pub across the road, because we liked it so much at lunchtime. I would definitely recommend this hotel. If you are going out of season and during the week, check out the special deals they offer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoJa61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRectoryHotel, General Manager at Rectory Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
It is so lovely to receive such a lovely review. I am glad that you enjoyed your dinner in the evening and that we were able to put a menu together to suit your party.

We hope to welcome you back to The Rectory in the near future!

Kind regards
Jenna Tomblin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hay on Wye
Level Contributor
169 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

A nice small comfortable hotel with lots of charm and excellent staff.... great to walk over to the potting shed pub also owned by the hotel.... staff could not be more helpful and genuine.. top marks to them.
Food at the Potting Shed and Rectory of a high standard. Dining room very well appointed & breakfast relaxing & good

Roms at Rectory do vary so go for a larger one if you can. Gardens very well kept..

Had a superb deal in mid week during November (£90 per room for 2 sharing) must be best value for money around

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRectoryHotel, General Manager at Rectory Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for your review. I have passed on your comments to the staff and I am so pleased that you found everyone to be so helpful.

Kindest regards
Jenna Tomblin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Friendly, warm welcome and beautiful, large, delightfully furnished room (Leckhampton), overlooking the garden. Very comfortable bed though we were rather too warm even with a window open. The toiletries were missing from the enormous bathroom but this was rectified promptly. I can't comment on value as the stay was a present from our children who have enjoyed staying at The Rectory themselves. Our dog was welcomed and appreciated sleeping in our room (not allowed at home!) We ate at the Potting Shed and had a very good meal. Breakfast offered a wide choice and was delicious. If you are a light sleeper you may be bothered by the church clock chiming throughout the night. The garden is delightful even at this time of the year with a little door going through to the church yard.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobandscilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRectoryHotel, General Manager at Rectory Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for your review, I am glad that you enjoyed your birthday treat.

I am sorry to hear that you were too warm, we have a new wood pellet boiler installed and so are ready to keep the hotel nice and cosy even in the winter months.

We very much hope to welcome you back to The Rectory.

Kindest regards
Jenna Tomblin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crudwell
0.1 mi away
Best Western Mayfield House Hotel
5.1 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
769 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tetbury
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Old Bell Hotel
The Old Bell Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malmesbury
513 reviews
20.2 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,276 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rectory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rectory Hotel

Property: Rectory Hotel
Address: Crudwell SN16 9EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Crudwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Crudwell
Hotel Class:3 star — Rectory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Rectory Hotel Crudwell, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing