We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay”
Review of Rectory Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crudwell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rectory Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Crudwell B&B and Inns
Hay on Wye
Level Contributor
168 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

A nice small comfortable hotel with lots of charm and excellent staff.... great to walk over to the potting shed pub also owned by the hotel.... staff could not be more helpful and genuine.. top marks to them.
Food at the Potting Shed and Rectory of a high standard. Dining room very well appointed & breakfast relaxing & good

Roms at Rectory do vary so go for a larger one if you can. Gardens very well kept..

Had a superb deal in mid week during November (£90 per room for 2 sharing) must be best value for money around

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRectoryHotel, General Manager at Rectory Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for your review. I have passed on your comments to the staff and I am so pleased that you found everyone to be so helpful.

Kindest regards
Jenna Tomblin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    49
    31
    7
    4
See reviews for
39
127
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
wales, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Friendly, warm welcome and beautiful, large, delightfully furnished room (Leckhampton), overlooking the garden. Very comfortable bed though we were rather too warm even with a window open. The toiletries were missing from the enormous bathroom but this was rectified promptly. I can't comment on value as the stay was a present from our children who have enjoyed staying at The Rectory themselves. Our dog was welcomed and appreciated sleeping in our room (not allowed at home!) We ate at the Potting Shed and had a very good meal. Breakfast offered a wide choice and was delicious. If you are a light sleeper you may be bothered by the church clock chiming throughout the night. The garden is delightful even at this time of the year with a little door going through to the church yard.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobandscilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRectoryHotel, General Manager at Rectory Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for your review, I am glad that you enjoyed your birthday treat.

I am sorry to hear that you were too warm, we have a new wood pellet boiler installed and so are ready to keep the hotel nice and cosy even in the winter months.

We very much hope to welcome you back to The Rectory.

Kindest regards
Jenna Tomblin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
161 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Rectory for our anniversary and it provided the perfect escape. We arrived on a showery afternoon but both the warm welcome we received and the accommodation ensured that we left it all at the door. We stayed in the Leckhampton room which was very spacious and airy with nice decor and comfortable furnishings - the radio playing on arrival was a nice touch and we found the room very relaxing. The bathroom is magnificent too with excellent fittings and nice products.

A break in the weather allowed us to take a walk in the gardens and to the church next door, both of which are very picturesque. Our meal in the evening was outstanding - delicious dishes creatively thought through and expertly prepared - some nice choices on the wine list too. The dining room was very comfortable and the bar was also very pleasant and the staff there and at dinner were firendly and eager to ensure our comfort and enjoyment.

Breakfast in the morning was just as much of a feast as the evening before - a large selection of options with many locally produced choices. We opted for the Costwold breakfast which was generous and delicious and set us up for a day of sightseeing.

The Rectory is a charming spot for a romantic weekend or night away and offers good value. The staff were delightful too and really helped to make our stay a memorable one - soon to be repeated hopefully.

Room Tip: Leckhampton overlooks the beautiful gardens and is a perfect choice for couples looking for romance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hetmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRectoryHotel, General Manager at Rectory Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Rectory. I am glad that the weather stopped for long enough that you could enjoy a walk in our gardens, perhaps next time you could try us in the summer and make the most of our newly refurbished outdoor pool area!

Kindest regards
Jenna Tomblin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingatestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We enjoyed our visit here immensely. It is as if you were actually staying in a working rectory -comfortable 'lived in ' furniture - large well equipped rooms,again oozing period charm. Willing and helpful staff and an excellent menu - a great short break. One of our meals was at the Potting Shed inn over the road and owned by the same people. Most guests ,as did we, ate one meal there and one at the Rectory. A definite recommend !

Room Tip: If you sleep on the side nearest the church ,you will enjoy the church bells on the hour and half ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALANJL55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Ticks all the usual boxes- village location, log fires, comfortable chairs, beautiful bed linen, clean bright bathrooms etc. Excellent short menu for the restaurant, ditto wine list. What sets the Rectory apart is the friendliness of the young staff, Some contributors on this site are less keen on the "distressed chic" decor but to us it adds to the informality of the place. Very dog and child friendly. Book one of their offers for amazing bargains. We stayed for two nights-£135 inc dinner and full breakfast and £90 for the second night and ate the nearby Potting Shed. We would happily go back

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speriamo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

This is the 2nd time we stayed at the rectory and we love it here. It's a stunning house with a unique character, something magical not horribly commercial like some places. What I love is its not pretentious like many 'country houses' and In fact it's billed as a home away from home and we'd be thrilled to have this as our home. Bedrooms are beautiful with lovely garden views, food is fab and breakfast to die for. Sometimes service is slow to get a drink or similar as there isn't a huge gang of staff but you ask nicely and someone appears. All the staff are really friendly and genuinely care about your stay. the rectory is great do fabulous late deals and we will be coming back for many years to come!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloejuliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRectoryHotel, General Manager at Rectory Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you so much for a lovely review, we are so pleased that you enjoy The Rectory and your comments have put a smile on everyones faces!

Don't forget to keep an eye on the 'Special Offers' tab on our website as this is updated often with some great last minute deals.

Warmest regards
Jenna Tomblin (Halliday)

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Reicent two day stop over with both my wife and our Dog. All were made welcome. The food here and in the Pub opposite was very good with young and very polite and helpful staff. The rooms were very good,if a little expensive. The house and gardens are outstanding as is the outdoor pool.
The staff are a little inexperienced,but very helpful,but this did not distract from the stay. I would be more than happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRectoryHotel, General Manager at Rectory Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your review.

Dogs are more than welcome at The Rectory, we love to have them! Next time you check in don't forget to ask for one of our doggie packs for the rooms, it saves you bringing your own bowls and dog bed!

We hope to welcome you soon.

Kindest regards
Jenna Tomblin (Halliday)

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crudwell
0.1 mi away
Best Western Mayfield House Hotel
20.2 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
5.1 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Old Bell Hotel
The Old Bell Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
4.0 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rectory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rectory Hotel

Property: Rectory Hotel
Address: Crudwell SN16 9EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Crudwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Crudwell
Hotel Class:3 star — Rectory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Rectory Hotel Crudwell, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing