We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog friendly”
Review of Rectory Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crudwell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rectory Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Crudwell B&B and Inns
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dog friendly”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Reicent two day stop over with both my wife and our Dog. All were made welcome. The food here and in the Pub opposite was very good with young and very polite and helpful staff. The rooms were very good,if a little expensive. The house and gardens are outstanding as is the outdoor pool.
The staff are a little inexperienced,but very helpful,but this did not distract from the stay. I would be more than happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRectoryHotel, General Manager at Rectory Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your review.

Dogs are more than welcome at The Rectory, we love to have them! Next time you check in don't forget to ask for one of our doggie packs for the rooms, it saves you bringing your own bowls and dog bed!

We hope to welcome you soon.

Kindest regards
Jenna Tomblin (Halliday)

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    49
    31
    7
    4
See reviews for
40
129
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

On arrival the staff greeted us very warmly and it didn't feel like a hotel at all. The entrance is tastefully finished in soft colours very Mulberry home, very warm and inviting. We were shown to our room which had a lovely view over the garden, the bathroon was modern and had fantastic water pressure - more than acceptable even to Americans!! I loved the bath products, and went out and purchased some at a local shop the next day.The bed was very comfortable and the entire hotel was very clean, with great attention to detail. The entire hotel has free WIFI with no silly log in rules, which was great for keeping in touch.
Breakfast was made to order and delicious, and was served in a beautiful panelled room overlooking the formal pond.
The grounds of the hotel are lovely and it is right next-door to a beautiful church, so would be very good for a wedding party. There is a pub close by called The Potting shed also owned by the hotel, and this serves delicious food, and we found it great not to have the hassle of getting a taxi etc.
If I'm ever in the Cotswolds I will certainly be staying here again.

Room Tip: The main rooms are nicer than the attic ones, but then you do get what yo pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRectoryHotel, General Manager at Rectory Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your review.

Our new Wood Pellet boiler does provide great water pressure!

I will pass on your lovely comments to our chef regarding breakfast and we look forward to welcoming you to The Rectory again in the near future.

Kindest regards
Jenna Tomblin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BURTON ON TRENT, STAFFS
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Our booking by phone was dealt with very efficiently and we were offered the Sudeley room for £90 (midweek) instead of the usual £180. We were welcomed warmly and the communal areas are eclectic and colourful - the entrance hall and bar particularly - offering an alternate space to sit. The rooms offer no tea/coffee facilities but tea and homemade shortbread was produced on request. The hotel is well placed, the gardens pleasant and pretty as was the neighbouring churchyard. There was also a good walk just to the right of the church around a couple of fields, which our dog enjoyed as he was allowed to join us at the hotel.
The Potting Shed pub over the road was great for dinner and breakfast in the hotel was large and enjoyable!
Our large bed was supremely comfortable but I think for the full price I would expect an updated room and particularly an updated ensuite although there was no real problem with either but I would prefer a more "boutique" style. Also this room was above the kitchen (I don't think it was other guests) and up till 11 pm and promptly at 7 there was quite a bit of noise which would negate a "lie in". Also note that the church clock sounds loudly every half hour!

I would say, in the light of previous reviews, that all the staff we saw were young, well presented and supremely courteous and helpful. Well done.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gill3sq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

A wonderful place. Fantastic service from engaged and charming staff. Great food both in the hotel and the Potting Shed pub across the road. Loved the decor (yes, a bit "tired" in places, but that just added to the charm). Wonderful gardens in which to relax. Overall, a very relaxing place to stay in the area. Will certainly return.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRectoryHotel, General Manager at Rectory Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear JohnS,

Thank you so much for your lovely review, I am glad you were able to enjoy the gardens, next time don't forget your swim wear for the pool!

Kind regards
Jenna Tomblin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We spent one night here, after a function that we had attended during the same day. The grounds are very attractive and the indoor communal areas are very pleasant; the antique fixtures and fittings really add a unique character. Our room (Cam Peak) was slightly disappointing in comparison to the communal areas; it was spacious with pleasant views, but felt a bit basic. There was no shower. The complimentary toiletries are very good though (Bamford), and gowns are also supplied. There was an ipod dock and radio in the room; it was a nice touch to find the radio already on and tuned to classic fm when we arrived (presumably it had deliberately been left this way). You have to request coffee / tea, which is inconvenient, and you will (disappointingly) be provided with a bowl of instant coffee granules. We found used bath towels in our room too, plus no battery in the television remote. There is also no full-length mirror. Granted, some of these quibbles are menial, but they soon add-up and there is less room for error when paying £135/night. The room was clean though, and the bed very comfy. Breakfast was satisfactory; the buffet was slow to be replenished, the ‘Full English’ was nothing to write home about, and you have to toast your own bread, but the muffins were amazing. The staff were attentive and friendly. The ‘system’ may run more smoothly when the staff are not dealing with larger functions. We would stay here again, but wouldn’t go out of our way to do so.

Room Tip: check to see if your room has a shower before booking and try to request coffee / tea in your room f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cj2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRectoryHotel, General Manager at Rectory Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear CJ2002,

Thank you for your review, we are glad that you would come back to The Rectory.

Classic FM is our radio station of choice, to compliment the relaxing atmosphere.

We are always updating our bedrooms and have taken all of your comments on board. In fact Cam Peak has just had new furniture this week.

We hope to welcome you back to The Rectory in the future.

Kindest regards
Jenna Tomblin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

The whole place needs a lick of paint. Walls in the communal areas are marked and scuffed. Sisal carpets throughout are grubby and stained ( including the one in our room). Strange slightly musty smell when we arrived but that faded over our stay. Food was ok, lunch over the road at The Potting Shed was great with impeccable service.
Our room was a good size with pretty decor and lOvely antiques. Less keen on
The stained scatter cushions on the bed. Breakfast fantastic. Staff are pretty casual given the price you are paying. Low slung jean attired gap students is the impression you get.
Could be really great but more attention to detail is needed. A trip to Bibury Court might provide inspiration.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRectoryHotel, General Manager at Rectory Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear LondonNomad,

Thank you for your review.

I am sure you can appreciate that with a large old house like The Rectory the upkeep is an on-going project. We have a full time handy man that is kept very busy with keeping everything up to standard. Our housekeeping team are always armed with the carpet cleaner, so even with the odd stain we do assure you that they are all clean.
As you will see from other reviews, we pride ourselves in our front of house team at The Rectory, and aim to provide a homely and relaxed atmosphere that you don’t always receive at other hotels. We may not be as formal but we are just as welcoming.
We are glad that you enjoyed breakfast and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Jenna Tomblin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

Just a one night stay but definitely 8/10 overall at least. Dinner excellent - not a wide range of choices (5 mains) but very good, relaxed but efficient service.

Outdoor pool was fab. Breakfast also good apart from having to make your own toast which I did (badly). Room and hallways could have done with a bit more thorough clean but OK.

We're definitely going to come back.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRPGlassMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crudwell
0.1 mi away
Best Western Mayfield House Hotel
5.1 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
794 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tetbury
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Old Bell Hotel
The Old Bell Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malmesbury
527 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
7.0 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rectory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rectory Hotel

Property: Rectory Hotel
Address: Crudwell SN16 9EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Crudwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Crudwell
Hotel Class:3 star — Rectory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Rectory Hotel Crudwell, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing