We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely night in the Cotswalds” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Mayfield House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Mayfield House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crudwell
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely night in the Cotswalds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We arrived on the 21/9/13 for one night. Check-in was straightforward and we were shown to the room by the receptionist. The room was just outside the main building (15-20m) and brollys were available if was wet. the room was spacious, spotless and well appointed with tea/coffee, bottled water and boiled sweets, the bed was large and comfy and the bathroom had everything you needed. We did'nt eat there in the evening but breakfast was freshly cooked, hot and plentiful. Checkout was fine and even more complimentary sweets. All in all a very pleasant stay and I would recommend the hotel to any one.
There is a restaurant a few doors up from the hotel and a local pub about 10 minutes walk away.

Room Tip: Room 31 is upstairs and is a superior room but well worth the little bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    191
    55
    26
    9
See reviews for
87
319
16
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Enfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

What great experience, the hotel is spotless, the food great value for money and the
staff were so friendly it was a shame we didn't have the time to stay longer but we
certainly will be going back and would have no hesitation in recommending this great
place to all our friends knowing that they will not be disappointed

Room Tip: If a client has health issues contact the staff at the hotel they really are caring and helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 690Betty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Excellent quiet position in a small village just outside Malmesbury, north Wiltshire, and ideal location for touring the Cotswalds. Ample parking.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. We, as Best Western regulars, were upgraded to Room 4 overlooking the croquet lawn. Extremely comfortable with spacious bathroom. The room was well provided with extras, such as the large towelling dressing gowns, choice of sparkling or still water, etc.

The food in the restaurant was excellent with good choices and we liked the fact that as many of the ingredients as possible were locally sourced. We were impressed by the fact that local people obviously use the restaurant frequently.

Good value all round.

Room Tip: We only saw Room 4 but would use it again
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HertsMisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

This hotel is very comfortable, warm and inviting; it's well located to use a a base for touring the Cotswolds and cosy and warm to return in the evenings. Lovely evening meals and the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

I had the pleasure of a night at the Mayfield House Hotel, Crudwell (north Wiltshire), and what a lovely night it was too! We arrived in foul weather, so the warm and bright interior was welcome.

The staff were really friendly, and the bar extremely well stocked, with a range of drinks including the particularly fine Uley bitter (from the local village of Uley in Gloucestershire) gravity-served from the cask.

As we were a small party, we were offered a private dining room. The menu was extensive and the all of our meals were of the best quality, with most ingredients (meat and cheeses) locally sourced with many tracked to the precise village or farm of origin.

In short, we felt pampered!

Room Tip: I really can't see which rooms were best, as I only stayed in one! During non-sleeping hours I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Friendly staff and decent, clean room though not very soundproof. Comfortable bed and bathroom in good order. Dog got a very nice welcome and even a few biscuits. Garden looked lovely. Breakfast was fine and service excellent.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank niname330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

It says that it's a 3-star hotel and that's exactly right. Friendly staff, nice spacious room and a comfy bed. Breakfast was good - dinner in the restaurant was very good.
Nice garden - if we'd been there longer I'd have taken advantage of the croquet lawn...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank imaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crudwell
5.0 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
22.6 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
20.2 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Old Bell Hotel
The Old Bell Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Mayfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mayfield House Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Mayfield House Hotel
Address: 17 M4, Exit | The Street, Crudwell SN16 9EW, England (Formerly Mayfield House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Crudwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crudwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Mayfield House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our small family run Cotswold hotel set amidst beautiful countryside in the South Cotswolds, just 10 minutes from the M4 and so easily accessible. It’s the perfect spot to relax, unwind and explore... we're in the Tetbury, Malmesbury, Cirencester triangle! We offer 28 3 star en-suite rooms including Family, Disabled and Dog Friendly accommodation. Our AA Rosette restaurant serves beautifully cooked, locally sourced fare - a comfortable lounge & bar serves wines from Tetbury and Bath and real ale from Uley complimenting the offer in a warm, friendly and service-orientated environment. Assessed by Visit Britain gaining Walkers, Cyclists, Pets and Families Welcome, Breakfast Award and Disability level 1 and 2 for Disabled friendly rooms. Our hotel has been awarded a Green Tourism SILVER award reflecting our commitment to these Glorious Cotswolds!! A great location for exploring the delights of the ancient towns of Malmesbury and Royal Tetbury and the National Arboretum at Westonbirt and the glorious South Cotswold's area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mayfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Malmesbury
Best Western Mayfield Hotel
Best Western Crudwell
Crudwell Best Western
BEST WESTERN Mayfield House Hotel Crudwell, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing