We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yet another excellent stay; a very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Mayfield House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crudwell
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Horsham
Level Contributor
196 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Yet another excellent stay; a very good hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Last minute booking on the spur of the moment and we were lucky to get the last double room available as the hotel is often fully booked now. In fact, the room was a mini-suite in an annexe and was just perfect for a Sat night w/e away

Dinner and pre-meal drinks were very good; in particular the local cheese soufflé starter and the local cheeses board to close. Very good value; I'd recommend this hotel if you are in the area

Room Tip: Although we didn't stay in one this time, the superior rooms are also very good value if you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    194
    58
    26
    9
See reviews for
88
326
16
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

A pleasant stay at a lovely hotel. The staff (and there where plenty of them) were friendly and attentive, without being overly so. The meal in the evening was well cooked and presented and breakfast was everything you would expect. I would happily recommend it. Just a shame that I was working and didn't have the opportunity to explore the local area.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 11, which has a huge bed and overlooks the gardens. No problems at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

This hotel has the following major plusses:
Characterful and comfortable
Excellent friendly staff
Owners who are in evidence and care deeply about the service offered
Fantastic food (traditional English, locally sourced)
Very reasonable packages including breakfast and dinner
Superb location close to Malmesbury, Bath and Westonbirt Arboretum to name a few
The only disadvantage is that it is not easy to travel there without a car - but I bet the owners would find a solution if you explained that you were coming by train or bus!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are worth getting
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnmargerison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I,along with our chocolate Labrador Archie, have just returned home after our few days break watching badminton horse trials,the mayfield house hotel was about 10-15 miles away from badminton,when we arrived,we were met with a big welcome(including Archie!)all the staff were very nice&friendly and they couldn't do enough for us,we wined&dined both nights,very good service from the young staff,this was our 2nd visit,and I have provisionally booked for next year to!! Can't wait,a big thank you again to all the staff,we had a fantastic stay

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

After a two hour drive from home we were welcomed by a friendly face in Reception and having checked in, our suitcase was carried by a member of staff to our 1st floor room which faced a tree -lined garden and lawn. The room and en-suite were spotless, our beds were comfortable and our half-board booking for 3 nights looked good. The breakfasts were well presented in buffet style with the cooked course, toast and beverages served at our table. The A La Carte Dinner Menu was inventive, don't miss the specials either, wines by the glass or bottle were good quality and reasonably priced.At all times we have found the staff to be friendly and attentive. Fortunately the weather was kind to us and we visited the Abbeys' at Malmesbury and Lacock, Castle Combe and the Westonbirt Arboretum. A lovely break - .we shall return soon!

Room Tip: Recommend you book direct with Hotel -you are more likely to get what you want, depending on your re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBD2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Sussex UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Excellent hotel, staff and food, and the proprietor had a wonderful smile all the time. Our Probus group received the best attention at all times. It was the perfect centre for visiting local attractions.

Room Tip: The best rooms cost more but are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armitage
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

From 12/4/03 to 15/4/03 i stayed at this hotel with a large group of friends, i found the rooms lovely and the food to be excellent value but what i was most impressed with was the friendly staff who always had a smile and were exceedingly efficient. They made the weekend a very enjoyable experience.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank richard l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crudwell
5.0 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
3.9 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Old Bell Hotel
The Old Bell Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
18.7 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Mayfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mayfield House Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Mayfield House Hotel
Address: 17 M4, Exit | The Street, Crudwell SN16 9EW, England (Formerly Mayfield House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Crudwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crudwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Mayfield House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our small family run Cotswold hotel set amidst beautiful countryside in the South Cotswolds, just 10 minutes from the M4 and so easily accessible. It’s the perfect spot to relax, unwind and explore... we're in the Tetbury, Malmesbury, Cirencester triangle! We offer 28 3 star en-suite rooms including Family, Disabled and Dog Friendly accommodation. Our AA Rosette restaurant serves beautifully cooked, locally sourced fare - a comfortable lounge & bar serves wines from Tetbury and Bath and real ale from Uley complimenting the offer in a warm, friendly and service-orientated environment. Assessed by Visit Britain gaining Walkers, Cyclists, Pets and Families Welcome, Breakfast Award and Disability level 1 and 2 for Disabled friendly rooms. Our hotel has been awarded a Green Tourism SILVER award reflecting our commitment to these Glorious Cotswolds!! A great location for exploring the delights of the ancient towns of Malmesbury and Royal Tetbury and the National Arboretum at Westonbirt and the glorious South Cotswold's area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mayfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Malmesbury
Best Western Mayfield Hotel
Best Western Crudwell
Crudwell Best Western
BEST WESTERN Mayfield House Hotel Crudwell, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing