We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean But Otherwise Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Mayfield House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crudwell
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Thame, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Clean But Otherwise Average”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We went to Mayfield House as the result of a Travelzoo offer, mainly on the promise of a gourmet dining experience. The hotel was functional, rather than luxurious and, from a decor point of view, felt like a trip back into the 'seventies'. There was a definite 'corporate branding/cost saving' feel, rather than a 'push the boat out' feel about everything. In our experience, hotels are defined by the 'little details' that make a difference and here we had plastic 'glasses' in the bathroom, rather than real ones and the soap/shampoo etc, was bolted to the bathroom wall, presumably in case we might try to make off with it. There were 2 quite steep steps into the bathroom and there was no bath and I think both points should have been mentioned in advance. We had no real issue with either, but I suspect that some people might have done. It is also worth mentioning that the shower was the feeblest I have ever come across.

As already mentioned, we visited Mayfield House ostensibly on the promise of fine dining and didn't really get that either. My wife had the crispy duck & noodle salad starter, which was oily & 'claggy' and had a bone in it. My two parts of my 'trio of lamb' were good, but the cutlet was almost raw. To be fair, the waiter conveyed abject apologies from the chef and offered us a complementary liqueur, which was accepted. However, I have noticed similar comments from other Tripadvisor contributors and it is therefore not an isolated incident.

On the plus side, everything was clean and well presented and all the staff were friendly & helpful and that always makes up for a lot of ills.

Room Tip: Room 21 is a large, airy double aspect room at the front of the hotel and, but 2 steep steps down in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjakeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    194
    58
    26
    10
See reviews for
88
329
16
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We have just returned from 2 nights including breakfasts and evening meals. The hotel is small and the staff are very helpful and friendly. The room we had was comfortable and adequate rather than luxurious. Where the hotel does excel is in respect of food. The breakfasts were good. The evening meals were extremely good and the layout of restaurant itself was excellent.

Room Tip: get a room in the main hotel building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wally h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Just returned from a stay at Mayfield House Hotel. Wow, I'm lost for words.The rooms are Clean and comfortable, the staff are friendly and helpful. The management are a pleasure to talk to, and nothing is too much trouble.I never thought I could go to a hotel, and not find something to complain about. Well I just have. I have already booked another stay for later in the year, and am looking forward to my stay there. This hotel deserves to go from strength to strength.

Room Tip: Had a cottage room in the grounds. Excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roysheppey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Appears to be a lot of mixed reviews for this Hotel and having just had a one-night stay I see why.

Frank on reception was very helpful and gave us the experience of his local knowledge, room 31 was basic but clean, evening meal enjoyable but portions are small and without the Travelzoo voucher, I certainly wouldn't have been happy paying the listed prices.
The beer & lager was flat and had to be exchanged, but the overall experience was very pleasant and with good weather and my first visit to the Cotswold, our party had a lovely break.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Balanced54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
340 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were visiting our son in Cirencester and decided to stay here for a couple of nights on a special Internet deal including dinner for one night. The price seemed reasonable. On arrival the hotel looks fairly attractive but once you step inside you are back int he 1970s. I've been there once and I've moved on, it is the 21st century after all. If you have mobility problems be aware there seem to be steps everywhere. Our bedroom was fairly basic (no5). Double bed, uncomfortable pillows. The ensuite was up quite a steep step and the shower up yet another step. The shower was tiny with a curtain and just about managed to force out a very weak head of water which took ages to warm up. The hand basin and shower tray were yellow and it's a long time since I've been in a hotel without mixer taps. There was plenty of hanging and drawer space & a kettle and flat screen TV plus 2 easy chairs.
Breakfast time you help yourself to cereal , fruit juice, yoghourt and fresh fruit and then order hot food from the menu. This is fine unless you don't want a cooked breakfast. There are no cold meats or cheeses or fresh bread available other than toast. Serving staff polite.
Our included dinner gave me two Firsts. I have never ever had to send back either a glass of wine or a meal but I had to do both. The house red had a really strange flavour and my duck noodle salad was indescribable. With the tiny shards of duck I was expected to eat, I could have inscribed my name on the table top with them. The chef should be ashamed of himself to allow such a dreadful meal to leave his kitchen. The staff were apologetic. I hate complaining, it ruins the evening but I certainly wasn't going to accept inferior food. We weren't charged for the wine but got no recompense for the course I didn't eat as we had already prepaid. C'est la Vie.
The hotel was almost entirely full of people of a certain age as indeed are my husband and I but we have moved on from the 70 's. The problem is that there will be no young people to fill the gap after we drop off the planet unless there is a massive modernisation programme.. Stop pretending you are a high quality establishment charging high prices and deliver the goodies.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FerringFairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The welcome, friendliness, helpfulness, restaurant were absolutely wonderfull. Location great.

The bedroom no. 7 was very good for a 3 star Hotel.

Why should I have to make this report into a 200 caracter story?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogerellis96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had a very comfortable stay at a very cold time of the year. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. Our room was comfortable, warm and clean. The restaurant food was outstanding, it was imaginative, beautifully cooked and presented and not unreasonably priced considering the quality. If this restaurant was nearer our home we would be visiting it all the time. We would definitely go again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 111Gilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crudwell
5.0 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
3.9 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#5 of 6 in Tetbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Old Bell Hotel
The Old Bell Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
18.7 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Mayfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Mayfield House Hotel

Property: Best Western Mayfield House Hotel
Address: 17 M4, Exit | The Street, Crudwell SN16 9EW, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Mayfield House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Crudwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crudwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Mayfield House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our small family run Cotswold hotel set amidst beautiful countryside in the South Cotswolds, just 10 minutes from the M4 and so easily accessible. It’s the perfect spot to relax, unwind and explore... we're in the Tetbury, Malmesbury, Cirencester triangle! We offer 28 3 star en-suite rooms including Family, Disabled and Dog Friendly accommodation. Our AA Rosette restaurant serves beautifully cooked, locally sourced fare - a comfortable lounge & bar serves wines from Tetbury and Bath and real ale from Uley complimenting the offer in a warm, friendly and service-orientated environment. Assessed by Visit Britain gaining Walkers, Cyclists, Pets and Families Welcome, Breakfast Award and Disability level 1 and 2 for Disabled friendly rooms. Our hotel has been awarded a Green Tourism SILVER award reflecting our commitment to these Glorious Cotswolds!! A great location for exploring the delights of the ancient towns of Malmesbury and Royal Tetbury and the National Arboretum at Westonbirt and the glorious South Cotswold's area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Mayfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Malmesbury
Best Western Mayfield Hotel
Best Western Crudwell
Crudwell Best Western
Best Western Mayfield House Hotel Crudwell, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing