We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas ay Mayfield”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Mayfield House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crudwell
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Christmas ay Mayfield”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

From the moment we arrived on Christmas Eve until our departure the day after Boxing Day, we felt pampered and cherished by everyone ay Mayfield. Nothing was too much trouble for the happy friendly staff.

We had booked for the festive season especially because it was so dog-friendly... but had sadly and unexpectedly lost our furry friend in the meantime. However, because we were on our way to join family further east, we asked if we could bring our canary with us. Without any hesitation, the answer was 'Yes!...How lovely, we haven't hosted a canary before!' (I took my hand-held Dyson with me in case 'Zorro' chucked any seed out of his cage). I think most of the staff must have paid him a visit during our stay!

We were welcomed by the proprietor with mulled wine.. then it was time for afternoon tea.... then the excellent a la carte dinner (Amongst many other choices, the stilton & walnut soufles were very impressive!). Thereafter, the chefs proceeded to bombard us with a series of gastronomic delights... breakfasts, lunches, afternoon teas, dinners. We felt thoroughly spoiled!

We stayed in room 30, one of four in an annexe, slightly apart from the main building, but only a few steps away. The room was large and comfortable and had a huge en-suite with an over bath shower whose water pressure was powerful and stimulating, and the stout handrail gave us confidence climbing in and out. The only drawback to this room is that it is adjacent to the boiler which is rather noisy at seven in the morning.

We even had a surprise secret visit from Santa whilst we were at dinner on Christmas Eve, when he left a present for us and even one for Zorro.... One of the very thoughtful touches to be enjoyed at the Mayfield!

We had a really great Christmas! Thank you!

Room Tip: Noisy boiler adjacent to room 30 @ seven am. No other noise at all , and the room and bathroom were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    193
    58
    26
    9
See reviews for
88
325
16
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Mayfield House for one night, as we were attending a birthday party in the village.
The hotel is clean and our bed (Room 1) was very comfortable, the staff were helpful and friendly. We did not have dinner at the hotel but the menu looked to give a good choice and the dinning room looked cosy.
As we were staying just for the one night we ended up paying the standard flexible rate of £91 which did not include breakfast, I do think this is high price to pay for a room with no breakfast, but we had no choice since we wanted walking distance from our party.
I noticed if we had stayed for a two night break the room would have been £82 a night with breakfast, a much better deal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JordansSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I wanted a short break before Christmas and came across a deal at this hotel. It is a very comfortable place with very efficient staff, fantastic choice of food in the restaurant as well as cream teas or snacks being served throughout the day in cosy lounge/bar areas. The hotel is set in a quaint little village in the Cotswolds which enables guests to travel to neighbouring places such as Malmesbury, Cirencester, Cheltenham, Bath etc, I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: The room that we stayed in had a very noisy floor in the shower room but that is probably because it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Just had a two stay, friendly helpful staff that went the extra mile to make our stay great.
We have two dogs and the staff set a table for us in the snug so the dogs could be with us for our evening meal. The food was excellent along with the service.
We will definitely be staying here again the hotel welcomes dogs but is mindful that not everyone likes dogs – a great balance

Room Tip: With having dogs we were in the annex but in a premier room which was large and well equipped
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peachbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Fantastic weekend very friendly staff and fantastic food. Very comfortable hotel will definitely visit again hopefully with less rain! We had a best room and this was very good, pleasantly roomy and all amenities catered for.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rugeley, staffs
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Had a 2night start on a voucher deal. Very enjoyable meal, friendly staff and pleasant room, though looks like they're in the process of updating. Our room was a little tired - noisy extractor fan, creaky bed but nothing that couldn't sorted. Would be happy to stay here again, maybe in one of the superior rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abbeysound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Having not read any reviews on this hotel before I went, I was most surprised to read them before submitting my review. I thought I must have stayed at a different hotel. The hotel itself is very clean and the staff cheerful and pleasant. We were told when being shown to our room that we had been given a complimentary upgrade. Unfortunately the standard double bed had seen better days and the mattress sagging and uncomfortable. The room itself was badly in need of refurbishment as it was very outdated, this included the en suite bathroom. Although the bath towels were a decent size, the handle in the bath made having a shower awkard. The entire decor was mismatched and depressing and not a room which we felt we wanted to spend any more time in than was necessary. We didn't have an evening meal in the hotel but breakfast was at best average. I don't consider myself to be parrticularly fussy and find it strange that my review is so contrasting to others. Another reviewer mentioned a king size bed and wetroom - maybe the hotel is in a refurbishment process and they hadn't made it to room 3 yet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThelmaLouiseKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crudwell
5.0 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
3.9 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Old Bell Hotel
The Old Bell Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
18.7 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Mayfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mayfield House Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Mayfield House Hotel
Address: 17 M4, Exit | The Street, Crudwell SN16 9EW, England (Formerly Mayfield House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Crudwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crudwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Mayfield House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our small family run Cotswold hotel set amidst beautiful countryside in the South Cotswolds, just 10 minutes from the M4 and so easily accessible. It’s the perfect spot to relax, unwind and explore... we're in the Tetbury, Malmesbury, Cirencester triangle! We offer 28 3 star en-suite rooms including Family, Disabled and Dog Friendly accommodation. Our AA Rosette restaurant serves beautifully cooked, locally sourced fare - a comfortable lounge & bar serves wines from Tetbury and Bath and real ale from Uley complimenting the offer in a warm, friendly and service-orientated environment. Assessed by Visit Britain gaining Walkers, Cyclists, Pets and Families Welcome, Breakfast Award and Disability level 1 and 2 for Disabled friendly rooms. Our hotel has been awarded a Green Tourism SILVER award reflecting our commitment to these Glorious Cotswolds!! A great location for exploring the delights of the ancient towns of Malmesbury and Royal Tetbury and the National Arboretum at Westonbirt and the glorious South Cotswold's area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mayfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Malmesbury
Best Western Mayfield Hotel
Best Western Crudwell
Crudwell Best Western
BEST WESTERN Mayfield House Hotel Crudwell, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing