We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pet Friendly idyllic retreat”
other travelers have booked this property
Nut Tree Cottage Holiday Let is a self contained cottage retaining all its 17th century charm.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Nut Tree Cottage Holiday Let is a self contained cottage retaining all its 17th century charm.
View of Nut Tree Cottage as you enter the drive way.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Nut Tree Cottage Holiday Let is a self contained cottage retaining all its 17th century charm.
View of Nut Tree Cottage as you enter the drive way.
Nut Tree Cottage is a grade II listed 17th century cottage set in the idyllic By Brook Valley.
View from the double bedroom of the extensive garden with meadow beyond.
Patio and smoking area set at the top of the sloping garden giving views across the meadow.
View from the orchard gate across the garden.
View from the parking area across the length of the garden.
View from the bedrooms across the garden and meadow to the river at the bottom of the meadow.
Christmas at Nut Tree Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Castle Combe, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
penninela...
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Pet Friendly idyllic retreat”
Reviewed September 5, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Set in the Hamlet of Long Dean, Nut Tree Cottage is a really delightful country cottage surrounded by beautifully maintained gardens. The interior didn't disappoint either tastefully and comfortably furnished with a very well equipped kitchen, the whole thing being home from home for us oldies.
Thank you Sally for the bottle of wine, flowers and chocolates, really thoughtful.
We spent quite a few hours just sitting in the garden chatting to Ken or walking our dog around the beautiful little lanes.
Bath is only a few miles drive and there are many pretty little villages close by. Well worth a visit.
We hope to return next year. Many thanks once again Sally for your warm welcome and the Runner Beans and Potatoes.

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review, I am so pleased you enjoyed yourselves. It really was a pleasure to meet you both and Bertie of course and look forward to seeing you next year all being well.
Sally
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2017steph...
Cumbria, United Kingdom
1 review
“quiet and peaceful little hamlet”
Reviewed September 3, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

stayed at nut tree cottage for a week lovely peaceful area idea place to recharge batteries will book again

Date of stay: August 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2017
Thank you so much for your review Stephanie. Even though you have stayed in the past, it was lovely for me to finally meet you and your family and look forward to the next time.
Sally
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay_Wilts...
Corsham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Rural Idyll”
Reviewed July 21, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Nut tree cottage is a charming old cottage set in an idyllic valley with a beautiful garden looking over a farm meadow.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review Jay, glad you enjoyed your time and it was lovely to meet you and your family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willponde...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 13, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Highly Recommend this lovely cottage. Perfect if you want a quiet retreat in the most beautiful location, ideal if you would like to explore the local countryside just wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy more scenery . We will be back !!!

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2017
Thank you so much for your comments and i look forward to welcoming you back again. Sally
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria350
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
Reviewed March 12, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We were warmly welcomed by Sally and delighted by the cottage. It was everything we expected and more. It was warm, cosy and pretty! It was also perfect for our young dog who has never been to the country before. It was so safe that we could let her outside on her own. I'm sure she felt like she was in Heaven. So different from Wandsworth Common! We also met Sally's lovely dad. We will definitely return, and wholeheartedly recommend. The welcome package was delightful. Thank you so much Sally. X

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 12, 2017
Thank you so much Maria for your lovely comments, so pleased you enjoyed yourself and would love to welcome you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 9, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review, it is much appreciated. I am so pleased you had a good time and that the weather cheered up for you to go walking. Would be great to welcome you again.
Many thanks
Sally
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
_magspar
Canberra, Australia
1 review
“Gorgeous ,peaceful ,cozy cottage .A world away from home and hotels”
Reviewed January 11, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Little hamlet of Long Dean was tucked away in the valley ,with fields and walks aplenty .we came for a month over Christmas/January to visit family and friends. From leaving 36degee temperature and arriving to this beautiful cottage alight with a Christmas Tree and decorations was magic . The owner Sally meet us with a bottle of wine .She is absolutely wonderful,friendly and helpful and we have made another friend along with her dad Ken .We would and will recommend this lovely comfortable little cottage who appreciate country life .we loved it and maybe if lucky come again .

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 12, 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, it has been a pleasure having you in the cottage and dad and I would love to welcome you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing