We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous!”
other travelers have booked this property
Nut Tree Cottage Holiday Let is a self contained cottage retaining all its 17th century charm.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Nut Tree Cottage Holiday Let is a self contained cottage retaining all its 17th century charm.
View of Nut Tree Cottage as you enter the drive way.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Nut Tree Cottage Holiday Let is a self contained cottage retaining all its 17th century charm.
View of Nut Tree Cottage as you enter the drive way.
Nut Tree Cottage is a grade II listed 17th century cottage set in the idyllic By Brook Valley.
View from the double bedroom of the extensive garden with meadow beyond.
Patio and smoking area set at the top of the sloping garden giving views across the meadow.
View from the orchard gate across the garden.
View from the parking area across the length of the garden.
View from the bedrooms across the garden and meadow to the river at the bottom of the meadow.
Christmas at Nut Tree Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Castle Combe, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Maria350
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
Reviewed March 12, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We were warmly welcomed by Sally and delighted by the cottage. It was everything we expected and more. It was warm, cosy and pretty! It was also perfect for our young dog who has never been to the country before. It was so safe that we could let her outside on her own. I'm sure she felt like she was in Heaven. So different from Wandsworth Common! We also met Sally's lovely dad. We will definitely return, and wholeheartedly recommend. The welcome package was delightful. Thank you so much Sally. X

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 12, 2017
Thank you so much Maria for your lovely comments, so pleased you enjoyed yourself and would love to welcome you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 9, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review, it is much appreciated. I am so pleased you had a good time and that the weather cheered up for you to go walking. Would be great to welcome you again.
Many thanks
Sally
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
_magspar
Canberra, Australia
1 review
“Gorgeous ,peaceful ,cozy cottage .A world away from home and hotels”
Reviewed January 11, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Little hamlet of Long Dean was tucked away in the valley ,with fields and walks aplenty .we came for a month over Christmas/January to visit family and friends. From leaving 36degee temperature and arriving to this beautiful cottage alight with a Christmas Tree and decorations was magic . The owner Sally meet us with a bottle of wine .She is absolutely wonderful,friendly and helpful and we have made another friend along with her dad Ken .We would and will recommend this lovely comfortable little cottage who appreciate country life .we loved it and maybe if lucky come again .

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 12, 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, it has been a pleasure having you in the cottage and dad and I would love to welcome you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Date of stay: October 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2016
Thank you for your comment and bringing this to my attention, obviously the door is an emergency exit for the holiday cottage but I will do all I can to eleviate this for future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jacki Z
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just Fabulous!”
Reviewed September 6, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Tonight is our last night of 10 weeks in this lovely, cosy cottage. Tomorrow we return to our home outside Boston, USA and say goodbye to Sally and her father, Ken, who have been the most perfect hosts.
We have had the most magical and amazing summer here with our dog, Logan, enjoying all the local walks, pubs, restaurants.
But none of this would have been so wonderful without Sally's hospitality. The cottage is well equipped, spotlessly clean and perfectly comfortable. Nothing is too much trouble - dog with ear ache, she found us a vet; husband with toothache, Sally found him a "same day" dentist.
We cannot recommend Nut Tree Cottage more highly.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort, location, peace and quiet.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2016
Thank you so much, it has been such a pleasure having you, Paul and Logan staying here, dad and I will miss you all. Take care
Sally
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Human_Res...
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Peace and tranquility ”
Reviewed August 15, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Visited this beautiful cottage over the Christmas period last year. Ideal for the festive period.

Located tucked away in Castle Coombe you are cut-off from the world. 4 of us visited on this occasion and were of all the same opinion of how inviting it was.

The main front room boasted an Inglenook and added to the rustic, classic feel of the cottage. All the rooms are quaint, homely and welcoming.

Nut Tree is pet friendly too so we could bring our dog. Lots of space around the cottage itself for dogs to roam and a garden outside too. The woodland nearby is a pleasant walk way through to the main areas of Castle Coombe such as pubs and shops. Just give yourself ample time to trek as its a fair distance and if you go in the winter do risk normal foot attire. Wellies are essential!

If you want peace and quiet away from all the outside world this is for you. You'll need to be able to drive if you want pubs and the like of an evening / night though as its not well lit enough around the area to go by foot.

Date of stay: December 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2016
Thank you so much for your generous review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shimmo201...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Country hideaway”
Reviewed May 30, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Spent a quiet, idyllic week at Nut Tree cottage earlier this month. Sally was kind enough to allow us to take our two dogs to her lovely cottage which was well equipped and very homely. Fresh flowers, milk and a bottle of wine were waiting for us on arrival to make us feel very welcome.
Nut Tree cottage is part of a small hamlet just south of Castle Combe, 25 minutes walk away. Wonderfully secluded but with access to well signposted footpaths and bridle ways running right past the front door. With the aid of an OS Map we were able to enjoy walking through the wonderful Wiltshire countryside for mile upon mile. Drove down to Cheddar Gorge midweek and enjoyed the circular walk around the top of the Gorge for the breathtaking views.
Nut Tree is small but the level of comfort will not disappoint. It was great to head back there after a hard days walking for rest and relaxation
Would love to return in the future!

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 31, 2016
Glad you had a great time and the weather was good for you for your walking. It was lovely to meet you both and your lovely dogs. I hope you decide to stay again. Sally
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing