We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Country hideaway”
other travelers have booked this property
Nut Tree Cottage Holiday Let is a self contained cottage retaining all its 17th century charm.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Nut Tree Cottage Holiday Let is a self contained cottage retaining all its 17th century charm.
View of Nut Tree Cottage as you enter the drive way.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Nut Tree Cottage Holiday Let is a self contained cottage retaining all its 17th century charm.
View of Nut Tree Cottage as you enter the drive way.
Nut Tree Cottage is a grade II listed 17th century cottage set in the idyllic By Brook Valley.
View from the double bedroom of the extensive garden with meadow beyond.
Patio and smoking area set at the top of the sloping garden giving views across the meadow.
View from the orchard gate across the garden.
View from the parking area across the length of the garden.
View from the bedrooms across the garden and meadow to the river at the bottom of the meadow.
Christmas at Nut Tree Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Castle Combe, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Shimmo201...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Country hideaway”
Reviewed May 30, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Spent a quiet, idyllic week at Nut Tree cottage earlier this month. Sally was kind enough to allow us to take our two dogs to her lovely cottage which was well equipped and very homely. Fresh flowers, milk and a bottle of wine were waiting for us on arrival to make us feel very welcome.
Nut Tree cottage is part of a small hamlet just south of Castle Combe, 25 minutes walk away. Wonderfully secluded but with access to well signposted footpaths and bridle ways running right past the front door. With the aid of an OS Map we were able to enjoy walking through the wonderful Wiltshire countryside for mile upon mile. Drove down to Cheddar Gorge midweek and enjoyed the circular walk around the top of the Gorge for the breathtaking views.
Nut Tree is small but the level of comfort will not disappoint. It was great to head back there after a hard days walking for rest and relaxation
Would love to return in the future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 31, 2016
Glad you had a great time and the weather was good for you for your walking. It was lovely to meet you both and your lovely dogs. I hope you decide to stay again. Sally
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horsley-c...
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“I just love this place, the tranquility, peacefulness and wildlife!”
Reviewed May 30, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I have been coming here on and off for over 20 years! To me, this cottage and it's location are heaven! Sally and Ken are lovely people. The cottage is warm and very cosy with lovely views and wildlife (I'm a wildlife nut case! So is my cat, my companion that came with me!). No main roads nearby, so very safe for cats and dog alike, as well as children. Many walks from the cottage! My favourite, is walking to Castle Combe for lunch/dinner on the footpath through the conservation area next to the By Brook, around 30 minutes or so. Both the pub and the hotel do very good food! And good real ales!
For birdwatchers, Cotswold Water Park and the Wildlife and Wetlands Trust (largest wildfowl collection in the world, started by Sir Peter Scott) at Slimbridge.
Indian food: The Coconut, Bromham near Devices. Thai food: Thai Barn in Bradford on Avon .
I'm glad to say, I have booked another two weeks here in September (its so awful! Lol!!). I can't wait!
Ken has bird feeders in the garden, near to his door. I watched nuthatch, greater spotted woodpecker, tame robins, various tits, jackdaws, crows and a greedy squirrel !
The only issue that I had, was the WiFi! I was able to send and receive emails only! I could not use Google!
I am disabled with generalised osteoarthritis, but I managed the stairs, not steep!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feeling safe. Sally and Ken. The cosy cottage and it's fantastic countryside position!
Liked least: The stairs to the bedrooms and shower room! I managed OK. Perhaps Not suitable for wheelchair users.
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 31, 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments Chrissie, so pleased you enjoyed your stay, sorry you couldn't get on google not sure what was happening as it worked when you tried it for me, typical!! Look forward to seeing you again in September. Sally
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne S
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
“A perfect stay in a beautiful cottage.”
Reviewed April 24, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had a wonderful 4 day stay in this lovely cottage. It was cosy and comfortable, spotlessly clean and very well equipped. Garden and surrounding area were just beautiful.
An excellent position for visiting other towns in the vicinity.
Sally was most helpful with information and very welcoming.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 25, 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments, it was lovely to meet you both.
Sally
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidlandsM...
Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quiet, cosy, dog friendly escape away from it all”
Reviewed April 6, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a wonderful Easter week away at Nut Tree Cottage. We were met on arrival by the owner Sally and were shown around the cottage. Everything was very cosy, clean and welcoming. The milk, wine and flowers and even an Easter egg were a lovely welcoming touch, and very much appreciated.

I had been a little concerned that the cottage might be a chilly as there's no no mention of central heating, and a previous review mentioned being cold, but there were no worries on that account. The gas powered 'log burner' stove in the living room, and the oil filled electric radiators in all the rooms kept everything warm and very cosy. The thick walls of the cottage help to keep it warm, and I would presume, cool the summer too).

The Sainsbury food delivery we ordered arrived on time (well done to the delivery driver for finding us ok), and we squirrelled away our supplies. The fridge has a freezer box that isn't mentioned on the cottage details, but useful to know when planning your stay. We usually stay somewhere with a dishwasher and washing machine, but we really didn't miss them for just a week away, and the rest of the cottage and location more than made up for this. The kitchen had everything else we needed, and looks to have been recently 're-stocked' with crockery, glasses, pots and pans.

Our teenage daughters were very happy that the wifi worked well, and our labrador loved going out on walks straight from the door. He also enjoyed meeting some of the other local 'free ranging' dogs - other retrievers and all very friendly.

For us, one really important aspect of cottage holiday is getting a good night's sleep. We all found the beds at Nut Tree Cottage really comfortable and slept very well - helped by the complete lack of traffic noise.

During our stay we visited Bradford on Avon, Bristol, Lacock and Bath, and also did quite a bit of Geocaching (a type of GPS based treasure hunt - there's one cache just a few metres from the cottage). The walk to Castle Combe is lovely, and it's a place we'd wanted to visit for a long time as we'd knew it's been used as a film location for some of our favourite films - Dr Dolittle, Stardust and War Horse.

The location of the cottage was wonderful, and we'd love to visit again in summer months when the trees in the valley are in leaf. Our week away was a real escape from it all, and we felt like the cottage was a home from home. It's obvious that a lot of care and thought has gone in to making Nut Tree Cottage a welcoming holiday destination.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 7, 2016
Thank you so much for all your comments and feedback which I really appreciate. Glad you all had an enjoyable week.
Sally
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great get away from it all!”
Reviewed March 7, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Ideal location for a peaceful break. Cottage was clean and tidy upon arrival with fresh flowers a lovely touch. Everything we required was provided in the well equipped kitchen and the "log burner" in the sitting room ensured cosy evenings. Enjoyed the local walks and the White Hart offered a warm welcome to our dog and provided some tasty food.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being almost in the middle of nowhere
Liked least: Was cold until we got the fire on!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 7, 2016
Thank you for your kind comments, I am so pleased you had an enjoyable stay and took advantage of the lovely walks and pubs!
Sally
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrandmrsc...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mr & Mrs”
Reviewed January 13, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent the most wonderful relaxing Christmas at Nut tree cottage. We arrived on Christmas eve tired and weary from our demanding jobs to be greeted by Sally and this beautiful cottage. The fire was blazing and a perfect Christmas tree was awaiting us. Everything about the cottage and surrounding areas were more then we could of expected. The pictures do not do it justice. We will be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 15, 2016
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. I am so pleased you enjoyed your Christmas at the cottage. For me it is very special to be able to let other people enjoy part of my family home and it will be a pleasure to see you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steveo197...
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect base for mini-break”
Reviewed November 16, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We'd been looking for a break in the Cotswolds with our 2 young children. Every time I searched for a self-catering property for a short break "Nut Tree Cottage" kept coming back in the search results and everyone had given it 5 out of 5. I definitely agree with the scoring as the cottage, the location and Sally, the owner, were all more than we could have hoped for. The place was situated in a small hamlet of Long Dean with lovely woods and green areas to walk our dog. The cottage itself was perfect for a small family - it was cosy without feeling cramped. Sally was a perfect host on arrival and did a thorough but short overview of the facilities - she'd already put the fire on and left us a bottle of wine which was very kind - she even helped us find a fireworks exhibition in Chippenham which went down well with the kids.

Long Dean is perfectly situated with about 30 mins to Chippenham, Bath, Longleat etc.

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a comfy, secure base to explore the Cotswolds

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: weather
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 19, 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, it was a pleasure to meet you and so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you felt relaxed when you went home.
Sally
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing