We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely place to stay and relax.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Garden Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Five Star Luxury Accommodation Large Kitchenette with dining table and sofa to truly relax
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Five Star Luxury Accommodation
Large Kitchenette with dining table and sofa to truly relax
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Castle Combe, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
DayTrip65...
1 review
“A lovely place to stay and relax.”
Reviewed September 16, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Lovely relaxing place to stay and very comfortable. The host Julie is the nicest person you could wish to meet, nothing too much trouble for her and her dog Cleme was a joy.
When you arrive there is every thing you could wish for including milk, bread, butter, croissants and jam The surrounding area has some very pretty villages to explore and for us, perfect weather. All in all a great holiday.
Ron & Joyce

Date of stay: September 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbpspan
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
“Beautiful Setting, Great Accommodations, Wonderful Host!”
Reviewed June 29, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Julie was an exceptionally gracious host. She saw to our needs and made sure we were comfortable right from the start. We arrived late evening to a kitchen stocked with first day provisions, a welcome treat after a long journey. Super friendly and saw to it that we had all that we needed. Kids were impressed with the ample DVD collection. But most our time was occupied with easy day trips to Stonehenge, Oxford, Lacock and other idyllic locations. Peaceful, beautiful and relaxing, we recommend Keeper's Cottage enthusiastically!

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Beautiful cottage in quiet location. Easy access to local attractions.
Liked least: Internet access needs improvement if you plan heavy internet use for work, etc.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 30, 2016
Thank you so much for your wonderful words ! Indeed it was great having you to stay !

All the very best to you and your lovely family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
913mrsl
Nazeing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs. Lynne ”
Reviewed May 23, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My husband and I stayed here for a week with our two dogs. It was a brilliant place too stay, very central base to explore the Cotswold. Julie,Charlie and Clemmy were wonderful, they couldn't have been more helpful. Would definitely recommend staying there and we also would go back.

Date of stay: May 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willowbro...
East Midlands, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed May 13, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Our stay at this property was excellent kitchen very well stocked with all basic needs plus a lot more, croissants and jams particularly delicious!!! Shower was so nice was hard to get out of which was very welcoming after a day outdoors. Julie was very attentive and property inside and outside was extremely well kept. A very pleasant stay alround.

Date of stay: May 2016
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 14, 2016
Thank you for such a super review, it was fabulous to have kindred horsey spirits to stay for "Badminton" and thrilled that you will join us next year. Roll on May !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely weekend ”
Reviewed April 18, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A weekend spent with my mum, sister and two babies. Julie was a lovely host and went above and beyond to make sure we had a lovely time, lending us a pair of wellies and even letting Murray (20 months) ride in her tractor. Clem the golden lab also made us feel very welcome.
The lodge itself was spotlessly clean, comfortable and had been stocked with essentials including tea, coffee, delicious croissants, cereals and butter.
Julie was kind enough to let us stay beyond check out which was great as it meant that the little ones could have a nap before travelling home. Thank you!

Date of stay: April 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 19, 2016
Thank you so much Alex for your kind words, it was such a pleasure having you all here.

All the very best to you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivee21
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Absolutely perfect weekend”
Reviewed February 18, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I want to thank Julie so much for making my 21st Birthday weekend so perfect. From the moment I booked the Lodge she has been more than helpful, going out of her way to make my weekend so special.
The room is spacious with beautiful furnishings and the kitchen has everything you need for a cosy weekend in - although we did eat out at "The Solution Inn" and had a delicious meal as it was a special occasion.
Despite the rain we had a fantastic time in this idyllic Lodge and would definitely like to return one day in the warmer weather! Thank you Julie and Charlie for your warm hospitality.

Date of stay: February 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2016
Thank you so much Olivia and Tom, it was such a delight to meet you both. It was a very special time for us too ! You are always welcome here. All the very best to you both.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“excellent accommodation and friendly service!”
Reviewed September 18, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Stayed here with my wife, daughter, son in law and granddaughter. Good size bedrooms both with on suites with a shared seating dining area between. Breakfast is included which consists of continental style breads, cakes etc, plus eggs and a huge selection of cereals. Coffee Orange juice, tea etc also provided. Ideally situated for a number of sights including Castle Coombe itself, just a 15 min walk. The owner just could not do enough for us and suggested places to go. Looks good for walking and we intend to go back in the new year to do just that.
Improvements? Directions on the web site could be better as using the post code you may go flying past the site.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: directions
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing