We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Salutation Inn

The Salutation Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $26
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Superb Country Pub offering Great Pub food, local ales and a warm welcome!
bath
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb Sunday lunch”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We have been to the Salutation Inn a few times for Sunday lunch & it just gets better. I'm not surprised it's voted No.1 in Castle Combe, the welcome it what you would expect of an English pub, very friendly & the service is what you always hope for. Haven't seen the chef but I think all the food is prepared & cooked in the kitchen & local suppliers of meat & vegetables are used. The shoulder of lamb today was cooked to perfection & MIL's sole was well presented.
I'm usually hesitant about recommending places to eat but if the current proprietors continue in the same vein we will certainly be going again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    51
    9
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely pub”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had a fabulous meal at this pub. Great service, friendly atmosphere and so nice to see a dog in the pub. Thrice cooked chips were fantastic as were the beef burger, pâté and apple crumble. This was the best meal we had on our week's holiday in the South West. We wish we were locals!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Emberton75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best pub for food around”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We went for Sunday lunch here and we were not disappointed. Delicious free range (hurrah!) chicken and an enormous Yorkshire pudding together with some lovely side dishes of tasty vegetables arrived together with extra gravy. All extremely well cooked and well worth the price. My only slight criticism would be that the roast potatoes were not as good as they could have been, perhaps a different variety would be better?
Fantastic wine list and a good range of beers and ciders. Lovely staff, excellent service and we will definitely be going back again to try out more of the menu.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth a detour.”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Had been meaning to visit for a while and finally made it two weeks ago, we enjoyed it so much we went back last week as well.
The service is relaxed, friendly and attentive, the food is very delicious, the only problem was what to have from the menu, it all looked very tempting.
Its only a mile from Castle Combe but is far superior to the two pubs in the village, to be honest its a long long way better, I would never waste my time or money in those again, not when I could come here!
If you are visiting Castle Combe, or are lucky to live nearby you really must give the Salutation a try.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 669NickS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had a lovely lunch at the Sally for my husbands birthday. The food was great, the best linguine I have had! My husband had the Wagyu beef burger, which was cooked rare to perfection. The staff were friendly and advised us on arrival of the impending delay, due to a larger party arriving late. I would've definitely recommend trying the food here.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WiltshireChutters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Salutation Inn also viewed

Castle Combe, Cotswolds
Castle Combe, Cotswolds
 
Yatton Keynell, Chippenham
 

Been to The Salutation Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing