We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude landlady- AVOID”
Review of White Hart

White Hart
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: In the centre of Castle Combe opposite the Church
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I cannot believe how incredibly rude the landlady was at this pub. For a pub that clearly needs tourists to spend their £££ with them you would think they would learn how to be polite. Just go to the Castle Inn instead, they were very friendly.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank GuessWho2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (529)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 529 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2020

Visited just before New Year. Pub was quite busy mostly with holidaymakers and tourists when we arrived for a lunchtime drink and a snack. We initially took this as a good sign, but alas were proved wrong quite quickly.

Landlord extremely blunt verging on rudeness (seems to be a recurring theme in other reviews). Ordered food and drink, asked to pay by card and then was told there is a £10 minimum spend-the latter is not indicated except by means of a very small paper notice half obscured on back wall of bar. Have to honestly say that in the many pubs I've ordered in over the years, I've never encountered one with a minimum spend of over £5 when paying by card.

Ordered a bowl of chips as every other food item had run out, only for it to take 30 minutes to arrive.

Disappointing.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 97alexb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2020

We (my husband and me) had lunch at the White Hart. The food was ok. Overall, the attention was poor. We had the feeling, right from the start, that the owner was blunt and unpleasant. The prices were not displayed on the board. When my husband approached the bar for paying, he kindly asked for information on the prices for each item, and the gentleman seemed very surprised and hardly replied to his request. He did not even say thank you . VERY RUDE!

Date of visit: January 2020
4  Thank Luz Helena Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2020

Went in with my husband and children and asked for a table, was told no. there were lots of empty tables. Tried to book one for the next night, was told no. We then asked for a nearby recommendation and it was a flat no again. The landlady was rude and miserable. The next evening we popped in for a drink at 5pm. Not sure if she didn’t like the kids But we were given dirty looks the whole time. The Castle Inn across the road is way nicer in every way.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Service
4  Thank 855maurab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobeTrotting622808, Manager at White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2020

As you were told we had no tables that night and the next evening the kitchen was closed you were told to try the castle but they do booking and you said you had already been there so the manor was the only 1 left but there were exclusive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2019

Our son took us here it was very busy, we where advised as it was almost there was very little food but they came up trumps with great sandwiches I had half of the Good Elf.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobeTrotting622808, Owner at White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2019

Glad you enjoyed happy new year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Hart also viewed

Castle Combe, Cotswolds
 
Castle Combe, Cotswolds
Yatton Keynell, Chippenham
 

Been to White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing