We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre steak, very over-priced.”
Review of The Castle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Castle Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Castle Combe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2014

My partner and I had lunch at the Inn. The soup was really flavoursome, with warm, fresh rolls. I ordered the Ribeye steak and was disappointed. The steak, for the price, was small and completely tasteless. The potato wedges were soggy.
Castle Inn, get your prices right and all the food quality.
Felt ripped-off.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annabananabristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H_Tiryaki, Manager at The Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete your feedback trough Tripadvisor.

I am sorry to hear that you and your partner were disappointed with the taste and size of your Rib-eye steak and soggy potato wages.

Our butcher deliveries fresh 8oz rib-eye steaks to us on a daily basis and to meet diary needs of customers, it is our policy not to season steaks too much but condiments are provided on the tables for customers to use at their own discretion.

The steak sauces are also available in the menu on request at a small charge. Depending on how the rib-eye steak is cooked, can result by reducing in size.

We pride ourselves in providing homemade potato wedges made from the best quality potatoes. As you are the first customers to complain about these wedges. I can only apologise if you were not satisfied with this product.

It was a shame that you did not address these issues with the Duty Manager that day so they would have had the opportunity to solve this problem immediately.

Kind Regards

Hakan Tiryaki
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (684)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 684 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2014

Bit of a delay in this write up as I haven’t been well.
This place is a hidden gem! we arrived in a village that looks like it was created by Walt Disney , so pretty.
We were assisted with parking on a local hotel ground as there isn’t much parking on the road and as my husband had a brand new car he wasn’t keen on parking on the road.
We were then taken to our room which was beautiful with a four poster bed and a lovely bathroom. Everywhere I spotless clean and contain everything you need. It’s a very very old building so accept un-level floors etc. …..it all adds to the character.

We ate in the restaurant and again the food was a surprise, in a good way! Tasty hot and well served. Breakfast was excellent with a really good choice and all served to the table, none of that left out for hours buffet stuff. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for the four poster room if you want a special evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STRINGERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H_Tiryaki, Manager at The Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Dear Sir / Madam,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind comments and patronage.

We look forward to welcoming you at The Castle Inn Hotel again soon.

Kind Regards,

Hakan Tiryaki
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed for one night only recently, but were very impressed with the level of friendly service we received from all the staff. Our room was fine, not large but quite enough space for us and was packed with original features and beams. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was modern and well equipped.

We ate in the restaurant and had an excellent meal. The service was quick and professional and the wine list quite comprehensive for a small hotel.

We thought car parking may be a problem, but we parked right outside the hotel to unload our bags, and after the receptionist had helped us take them to our room, we were directed to free parking only a few minutes walk away.

The village itself is very pretty and has been used for location filming of many movies.

In all, a great stay and we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank riverside7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H_Tiryaki, Manager at The Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Dear Sir / Madam,

I am very pleased that you had a very pleasant stay with us and everything was up to your satisfaction.

I will ensure that your comments are passed on rest of the team.

Kind Regards

Hakan Tiryaki
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

About 32 years ago I took a photo of my Fiancé on a bridge in a pretty little village called Castle Coombe in Wiltshire. This Bank Holiday weekend saw us back in the heart of the village at the lovely boutique hotel call the Castle Inn as part of our 30th Wedding Anniversary.

We were in the Superior Four Poster Double Room which afforded excellent views over the village and had all the trappings you would expect, including a very luxurious en-suite bathroom that must have occupied a full room of the original 12th Century building.

The staff at this charming independently owned hotel could not have been more friendly and helpful: Champagne was ready - on ice - and delicious chocolates for our arrival (at short notice, which was my fault…) and after seeing friends in Malmesbury, our dinner table was awaiting us even though we were running late (and despite the crowds).

The village and hotel bar/restaurant was amazingly busy for the BH, yet the team managed to remain cheerful and attentive. We were always well looked after with coffees and alfresco dining on the private terrace.

The ancient character of the building is reflected in the odd sloping floor and occasional low beam, but our room was bright, airy, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Overall, a great place for a special treat and judging by the many nations in the charming breakfast annex, an effective ambassador for English tourism. I noticed a complimentary write up in the current Condé Nast guide, so I hope this establishment gets the custom it deserves.

Room Tip: Be prepared for church bells and the happy conversation of patrons sitting outside in the sun - espe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank always-the-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H_Tiryaki, Manager at The Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you very much for sharing your special story with us.

It was not only interesting but we are pleased that we contributed in making your stay more memorable and special.

Kind Regards

Hakan Tiryaki
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is something special. Amazing rooms, amazing staff and welcoming locals who made our restaurant evening a night we will never forget. Would travel back to UK just to stay here again.The four poster bed rooms are a must. No elevator and about 10 steps of stairs but it is only a two story property.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelagentHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H_Tiryaki, Manager at The Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Dear Sir / Madam,

I would like to thank you for the valuable feedback.

Making our guests feel welcome and well cared for is our highest priority and we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind Regards

Hakan Tiryaki
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We visited Castle Combe this Sunday and this place does deserves a mention! This place is located in the heart of the village. Although we didn't stayed here, we had pretty lovely coffee n wedges in the evening. With this brilliant service and the friendly staff, I would safely presume that this should be a good place to stay in and, have great food!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank swatipareek24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

More a country pub with rooms in a great central position. The village is lovely, but has an air of unreality. Many if not most cottages seemed empty. It appeared tobe like a filmset waiting for the next production team to arrive.

Best was the outside seating for hot or cold drinks. Ideal. The food was good but pricey

Room Tip: get a room at the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank braithwaite12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Combe
0.1 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
4.4 mi away
Rudloe Arms
Rudloe Arms
#3 of 4 in Corsham
1,059 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
4.1 mi away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Corsham
619 reviews
3.3 mi away
Travelodge Chippenham Leigh Delamere Eastbound
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Inn

Address: Market Cross, Castle Combe SN14 7HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Castle Combe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Combe
Price Range: $124 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castle Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Castle Combe
The Castle Inn Castle Combe, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing