We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming”
Review of The Castle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Castle Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Castle Combe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from a stay here and were absolutely delighted with this hotel. Our room was up in the attic which was a climb but that made it all the more fun! The breakfasts we're wonderful as was the dinner we enjoyed at the restaurant. We highly recommend a stay in the charming village of castle Combe

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dlc1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    163
    52
    22
    12
See reviews for
92
364
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Earby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We walked in on a weekday to have breakfast. The lady greeted us, looked at the clock (9.25), left for a minute and came back. We were told they weren't serving breakfast anymore even though they finish serving at 9.30.
Whilst I can understand some of it, I clearly did not understand the lack of hospitality...but hey...life goes on!

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank wakeuptoreality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H_Tiryaki, Manager at The Castle Inn, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for the feedback and for letting us knows about your experience at our hotel.

We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations and want you to know that we value your comments.

Castle Inn has eleven bedrooms and due to our location we don’t get non-residence guest walk in for breakfast that often. Hotel has limited tables in our breakfast room and we do only allocate table for non-residence by pre-booking.

On the day of your visit we did have full house and the entire hotel guest came early for their breakfast and we did not have any other bookings.

Due to this reason Chef finished early and left the kitchen for his break before the lunch service start.

Once again, please accept our sincere apology for this unfortunate incident and thank you for letting us know about it.

Best regards,

Hakan Tiryaki
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Needed a hotel for overnight stop, so opted for Castle Inn. We had been before for drinks and dinner, but not overnight.
Charming pub and in ideal position, although parking is a bit of a challenge.
Staff are all very friendly and helpful, nice bar and dining area. Good food and selection from the bar. Bedroom adequate, although separate shower cubicle would be preferable to standing in the bath, and this was one of their best rooms. (We were informed there wasn't a room with a separate shower).
Breakfast was a disappointment. No prepared fruits or berries, perfunctory packets of children style cereals. No pastries or interesting bread. Predictable supermarket fruit juices. However cooked breakfast was very good, but not everyone wants a cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pandjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Everything about this hotel is excellent, it is set in one of the most picturesque villages in the country and if you are thinking of visiting you will not be disappointed.

We stayed for three nights and were in room three which was a nice size, had a very comfortable four poster bed and was spotlessly clean.

Breakfast and dinner (and lunch on the first day) was lovely and we could not fault the food in any way.

The service at this hotel is fantastic, every member of staff we met either in the reception, the bar or the restaurant were very friendly and attentive and really made our stay enjoyable.

Would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Just had a 1 night stay at this hotel following a game of golf nearby. This is my 2nd stay, and would recommend it without hesitation. It's in a wonderful village, the hotel itself perfectly blends in with its surroundings, the food was good, and the staff attentive and friendly, give it a go!

Room Tip: Go for an an executive or 4 poster room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuckfield
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

After discovering Lavenham I thought it could never happen again but I was wrong. Another time warp this time in the Cotswolds. Stone houses with stone roofs in a perfect valley setting. The Castle Inn was perfect and the bedroom had a four poster bed. In the restaurant I had the best steak and kidney pie I have ever had, and this from someone who considers Rules his second home. You simply must see this place.

Room Tip: There is not much price difference between the rooms so I would go for the best you can get. The fou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We booked a 2 night stay in this hotel on recommendations from other trip adviser notes. It was very good, the food superb, staff, especially Gemma, couldn't have been more helpful and friendly.
There was only one slight problem and that was room number 9, as this is up a further flight of very steep stairs ... Coming down is worse than going up.
Parking was not a problem to us, we just parked in front of the hotel and used the local bus for our trip out the next day. But would imagine that in busy times parking in the village would be difficult/impossible and it's a long drag up the hill to the official car park.
The village of Castle Coombe and the surrounding area is very beautiful, a real reminder of old rural England.
I hope to be able to return to this hotel in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Room 9, although a lovely room, access, especially with luggage is not easy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Combe
0.1 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
7.1 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Chippenham Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
4.2 mi away
Stanton Manor Hotel
Stanton Manor Hotel
#3 of 8 in Chippenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
4.4 mi away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Corsham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Inn

Property: The Castle Inn
Address: Market Cross, Castle Combe SN14 7HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Castle Combe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Combe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castle Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Castle Combe
The Castle Inn Castle Combe, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing